Skip to content

Extreme canning

September 2, 2008

Della is getting goofy in the last days of her pregnancy.  Now she wants to be called Dellacroix, thinking she is Cajun or something… , but you don’t argue with bossy!!   She heard we watched the Green Mile the other night, so she thinks the title meant something to do with pasture or grass!  But, the weirdest thing was, she wants me to play John Coffey and suck up all the flies!   Is this my cow or what????


I think if she had worn a bra when she was younger, she wouldn’t have this problem. ;)

 

Here’s the extreme canning from yesterday, which now is an on-going process.

//i36.tinypic.com/34grfh3.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
Green beans, I wish they would stay this color, instead of changing to olive drab.

 

//i38.tinypic.com/14b6eeh.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
I didn’t quite have enough beans to fill the canner, so I canned a few pints of chicken broth at the same time.  The processing time was the same, so I saved a little money here.  I usually use up the broth that I make every week, but it is catching up with me, so I canned some for storage.

 

//i34.tinypic.com/106dff7.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
Roasting tomatoes, with onions, garlic and basil.  I saved all the onion ends from pickle making and added them to the roasting pans.

 

//i38.tinypic.com/nd6aub.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
We’ll run this through the food mill and then it will become the base for salsa or ketchup.  If I’m pressed for time, I will just reduce it in the crockpot and can it for tomato sauce.
We love the taste of roasted tomatoes, it sweetens them a bit, and adds flavor to every recipe I use tomatoes in.

 

//i38.tinypic.com/24pmagx.jpg" target="_blank">View Raw Image</a>
This broccoli and cauliflower will go in the freezer after blanching.

It ‘s been a busy canning weekend, with applesauce too.  All the waiting is over, now the work is beginning.

I’ll be guest posting about greenhouse growing over at Women Not Dabbling in Normal tomorrow, so if you haven’t been there yet, check out this blog, it’s very good.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2008 4:32 pm

    I’ll have to try roasting tomatoes, I’d never heard of doing it that way before but it makes sense. Looking forward to your guest post, it’s a great blog.

  2. September 2, 2008 5:00 pm

    My son asked me the other day, “Why do they call it canning if it’s done in a jar?” That stumped me! I’m sure there’s a reason why, even if it’s something simple, but I found his question to be a good one!

    Your beans, broth, broccoli and cauliflower look terrific! I bet those roasted tomatoes made the entire house smell wonderful.

    I’ll check out your guest post! Oh, and after looking at the photo, I feel like I know Della more intimately now. I won’t be able to look her in the eye without blushing!

    I actually thought about your cajun gal when we visited the State Fair. Seems like there weren’t as many farm animal entries this year, although the alpaca turnout was great. The vegetable displays weren’t as full either, and lots of folks turned in green tomatoes because ripening is so far behind this year. Saw many entries for canning and baking, and my girls and I voted for our favorite quilt … that was hard, there were so many great entries! Thought about you then, too. My kids enjoyed the dog agility demo’s, and the samples of Tillamook cheese!

  3. September 2, 2008 6:13 pm

    Good luck to Della, she looks sore. I made some salsa over the weekend and froze a few gallons of tomatoes.
    Love the color of those beans. I enjoy reading Women not dabbling but I’m a little behind on my reading this week.

  4. September 2, 2008 6:55 pm

    Do you have time to share your recipe/method for canning tomatoes & salsa using roast tomatoes? They look so good I’ve decided here & now to do mine this way!

  5. September 2, 2008 8:51 pm

    Those roasted tomatoes look yummy!

  6. September 2, 2008 10:56 pm

    Linda, it takes out a lot of the moisture during the roasting, so it doesn’t take too much time in the crock pot to reduce. The crockpot keeps the sauce from sticking and it gets hot enough to can too.

    Paula, what a smarty!! That sounds like something my husband would come up with. I think they call it canning because it was originally done in cans. My cousins can their salmon in cans, which works pretty slick really. But you have to be set up to do it.

    The roasted tomatoes are good to eat right out of the pan, like sweet stewed tomatoes, with a little olive oil. YUM.

    Della says not to worry, she’s used to people only looking at her udder. It’s a cross she has to bear. ;)

    We didn’t make it to the State Fair this year. Our friends we always go visit there, retired and sold their Belgians, so we didn’t make the trip, since they weren’t going to be there. I love the fair, the smell of the barkdust and petunias… I can smell them now, and the greasy fair food… I love the fair!
    Hopefully, they will have more entries next year. I’m glad your kids enjoyed it, hopefully, there will still be fairs when they are grown.

    Kim, sounds like you have been busy. Della is just starting to bag up, she will get much larger right before calving. She isn’t sore yet…, and hopefully won’t be.

    EJ, I’ll post about salsa when I make it, soon I hope, it just depends on the cow freshening. The tomatoes are just coming on so it should be fairly soon.

    LatigoLiz, thanks they are pretty good.

  7. Gina permalink
    September 3, 2008 5:02 am

    Oh, yum, that roasted tomato mixture would make a great pizza base! I will have to try that before all my basil seeds out!

  8. September 3, 2008 5:59 am

    That broccoli is gorgeous! What a lovely blue.

  9. September 3, 2008 6:20 am

    Gina, I use the basil even if it has bolted, flowers and all. It still adds flavor. Same with cilantro, etc., I just put in whatever I have around. I can it like this and then season the sauces when I actually cook. The basil doesn’t overpower, it just adds, so if I’m making enchilada sauce it just makes it more complex.

    Taylor, thanks, I wish it stayed that color when it was blanched.

  10. September 3, 2008 9:12 am

    I followed you here from the guest post. The comment about not wearing a bra made me laugh like there was milk snorting out of my nose. I’ve been chortling ever since. My family just rolls their eyes – my DH said that bra jokes for me must be like fart jokes to an 8 year old.

    I’m looking at a lot of gone-to-seed basil, thinking I am not ready to pull it out. The washline runs over it, and it makes the laundry smell spicy. But now I am gonna roast it up with the tomatoes! Thanks.

  11. September 3, 2008 10:23 am

    You cook the best stuff!! I am always hungry after I read your blog!

  12. September 3, 2008 2:09 pm

    ohh, yumm! Lately I’ve been eating tons of steamed broccoli and cauliflower, and that pic makes me hungry for it all over again! Don’t know why it has such an incredible pull over me right now, but I just can’t resist it.

  13. September 4, 2008 8:19 pm

    That is such a good idea, roasting tomatoes before canning them!! I made ketchup for the first time a few days ago and it took F O R E V E R!! I imagine it would be the same for tomato sauce. But I have to admit, the ketchup was quite tasty!

    I haven’t had a single broccoli to pick. First, something ate all the baby sproutlings before they had a chance to grow bigger, then when they had leaves, a family of caterpillars snuck in and ate them right under my nose! My broccoli plants are skeletons now! Boo! I’ll have to pay more attention to the broccoli next year.

    My peach tree is interesting… It was here when we bought the place and since we have lived here, the peaches have never grown bigger than a walnut. I watch and wait, but nothing. This year, they are slightly bigger than a walnut and they’re ripe! White flesh and taste just as they should, but I’m puzzled by their size. Mini-peaches? Have you heard of this before?

  14. September 7, 2008 6:48 am

    Matriarchy, what’s the saying, “don’t cry over snorted milk” or something like that. If a plant can be neglected and pushed to the limit, believe I’m guilty. The flavor is stronger, but not overpowering. So I figure why not use it. ;)

    Threecollie, thanks, that’s how I feel when I look at cooking blogs, I wish I had never looked.

    Hayden, thanks, do you think your body is craving brassica’s for a reason? Maybe because they are in their prime right now.

    Jenny, isn’t it amazing how good the homemade ketchup tastes. It’s hard to use the store bought stuff after that.

    That’s too bad about your broccoli, it seems EVERYONE likes to eat broc and cabbage, even the critters!

    On your peach tree, I’m guessing it is a seedling, which may have just come up, and it isn’t unusual either to get less than perfect specimens at nurseries either. If it is forming fruit, but the fruit isn’t getting large, it probably isn’t going to, no matter what you do. Most seedling fruit trees don’t come true to seed. We have tons of cherry trees that were planted by birds, and they look good, but it is all pit and no flesh. Can you use it for jam or something, instead of the usual peach type uses??

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,011 other followers

