Skip to content

Canned brains

September 17, 2008

Fooled you, didn’t I?  I don’t have enough cow brains to can.  And if I did, I would just eat them with scrambled eggs.  I meant, I feel like my brain has been canned.  I finally finished the nectarines, and I ask myself this question every year,  Why did I buy so many?  Well, we will eat them, and we don’t care for peaches, so that’s the answer.  But, when I spend cash on something, I worry that I will waste some, and the guilt sets in.  So they are done – finally!  I ended up with 69 quarts of halves, and 21 quarts of slices for cobblers and pies, and three moldy nectarines.   Usually I freeze the slices, but I’m running out of freezer space, and electricity is getting very expensive.  At least with canning, I know they will last for awhile.  I may not be able to get any next year.

So meanwhile, the Italian Prunes need picking, and so do the pears that I thought I would get to last week.  And I’ve been scared to go near the greenhouse, and see how many tomatoes need harvesting.

This is the perfect time to let you know, dear readers, how we can tell we are rednecks…, (besides the fact that we eat cow brains :0 )  I’m too tired to write an informative post.  Although this is kind of informative.

We’re probbly rednecks because…

♥  we use a milk cow to mow our lawn,  we’re fancy though, because she’s a rear bagger.

♥  we name our vehicles.  My favorite is Sheba, our little crane.  She helped us set our rafters, when we commanded – “Up Sheba, Up!”

♥  we pay attention to how our neighbors drive, and we can tell if they get a new rig, by the way they take the corner by our house.

♥  we call vehicles rigs.

♥  we have a salt lick cut into an old growth fir stump.  It has a piece of tin nailed on for a roof, and when our bull got his head stuck in it, DH cut him out with a chain saw.  The funny thing was, the night before on the way to town, we saw him with his head in the stump, and assumed he was getting salt. Poor guy.

♥  my nephews have given me things for Christmas gifts that I threw away in our dump.

♥  we had a dump.  We changed that practice…

♥ we name our cows and dogs after neighbors, or celebrities.  If Della’s twin bulls had lived we were going to name them Big & Rich or Brooks & Dunn.

♥ One time while hiking down to Trapper Creek, our dog Zeke was exploring ahead.  He came up out of the canyon with a stick of dynamite in his mouth.  We were afraid he would DROP IT.
We did not know that my brother had disposed of some dynamite that was no longer viable.

♥  we use hog panels for decorative gardening.

♥  I’m afraid to wash my barn coat, for fear it will disintegrate in the washing machine.

♥  Our dog Trace goes beserk, and gets silly when we put on our town clothes.  We don’t know if he is glad to see us go, or doesn’t know what clean clothes smell like ;)

♥  I think a wheelbarrow with a flat free tire is a romantic gift.

♥  we started painting the living room while watching the PBR on TV, we finished half and then didn’t finish it until the next year, when Professional Bull Riding was on again.

♥  we made our kid wear a knitted hat made out of our dog’s fur.

♥  we like to make a lot of noise on the 4th of July.

That’s enough, now you know I’m really a redneck!

I’m working on a butter post and milking chore time post.  Just in case some of you are thinking you need a dairy cow.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2008 4:00 am

    LMAO! Oh, MOH, you sure know how to make me laugh. It’s all the more funny cause you could be talking about us. :D

    (FYI I’m working on doing some quick easy posting over at our blog and warn you, I might be stealing this concept, if you don’t mind!)
    Cheers!

  2. September 18, 2008 6:18 am

    Colleen, I thought some of these might strike a chord with rural folks. I can’t wait to read yours. You know how you get so tired, you can’t do anything but laugh? I didn’t even get to all the names we have made up for our neighbors… but those could be a post in themselves. :)

  3. September 18, 2008 6:29 am

    Ha. sounds real familiar, except that PBR is almost a daily thing here. Good post!

  4. Judi In PA permalink
    September 18, 2008 7:41 am

    Okay, ya’ll, it’s official. Your blog is very favorite blog in the whole wide web world. I’m so glad that I stumbled across it. I think I found it through Linda at Just Another Day on the Prairie and I found her through Sandy at Painted Hand Farm who lives right close to me in PA. This aspect of computers is the ONLY thing that I like about them, bringing people together who would never, ever had a chance to meet in this virtual world. As always, love your latest post. It’s a down right funny look at us, rednecks. Thanks …Again.

  5. Judi In PA permalink
    September 18, 2008 7:54 am

    Oops, I forgot to mention my original comment about the “romantic flat free wheelbarrow”. (Honest, I’m only windy on the computer, not in real day to day life…Honest!)
    That certainly is romantic. My husband bought me a tap head for my weedwhacker this summer and it was the sweetest, most romantic gift he has ever given me. I was so excited and I told everyone I came in contact with about it. (Really, I don’t talk alot. Seriously.) Anyway, my cousin had to outdo my husband and brought me a brand new wheelbarrow, complete with a pumped up tire. He felt sorry for me, using my dad’s old rusty one with one broken handle. But since it was my cousin, it’s not that romantic, just sweet.

  6. September 18, 2008 8:02 am

    That is a lot of nectarines my dear, but yum!

    Will you can the prunes or do you dry them or a bit of both? I met a gal recently who dries them then purees them with a bit of water and uses that in place of oil (or applesauce) in things like banana bread, etc… have you done that? I’m intrigued enough to try it.

  7. September 18, 2008 2:00 pm

    “we’re fancy though, because she’s a rear bagger.”

    LMAO! Oh, good lord, you’re funny! lol

    Colleen, I’ve tried several times to see your blog, but I can’t see it…

  8. September 18, 2008 8:09 pm

    We are rednecks too! I will have to write a similar post …maybe this winter.

  9. Kristen permalink
    September 19, 2008 4:06 am

    I guess that make us “rednecks” too…but I love it. We don’t have TV anymore….well just the local channels through the antenna…but when we had tv everybody knew what I was doing when the PBR was on. …Slower days are around the corner…we are already having some pretty cool nights.

  10. September 19, 2008 12:07 pm

    Holy crap! 80 QUARTS? How many nectarines did you start with??

    Where did you even find that many mason jars?

    You are a rockstar.

  11. September 19, 2008 2:15 pm

    Sounds familiar but we differ in that we:
    Call our vehicles outfits, we call most of our barn lions after politicians ’cause after all they care as little as most politicians do and tack it the romantic gift of choice.

  12. September 19, 2008 10:05 pm

    TC, it’s a good thing PBR isn’t on here every day, or maybe if it was the livingroom would have gotten painted sooner… Hubby wasn’t too pleased with the slow progress. I just would lay on the couch and face the new color and I thought it looked just fine! AS IF he always finishes projects ;)

    Judi, isn’t it funny what a “small” world it all becomes, even though it is worldwide? I’m jealous about your cousing buying you a wheelbarrow. The joke around here is I need a studded wheelbarrow tire so I can get around in the ice!

    Oh and BTW speaking of wind, I consulted the BLOGGING COMMENTERS HANDBOOK, and is states in there in the 3rd chapter, that if you leave two comments in a row, you have to start blogging. ;) Hint Hint It’s the natural order, lurking, commenting and then blogging!

    Kathie, that is a lot of nectarines, but we do eat a lot of them. We’ll can, dry, make prune butter, and freeze the prunes. If you have only had dried prunes from the store, you wouldn’t believe how different an Italian prune tastes. Better than candy. (almost)
    That sounds like a good idea with the pureed prune in breads, I don’t mind using fat though, so I haven’t tried it. I do snip up the dried prunes for a raisin substitute, they are more tart, but very good.

    Sarah, I can’t take credit for that joke about Della, that one belongs to DH.

    Colleen’s blog is at http://jcnymanfarms.com
    There is a link on my blogroll J & C Nyman Farms

    I have been behind on my comments, did you lacto-ferment your Daikon, or use vinegar? I kept mine hilled under soil until January last year. We had a fair amount of snow, so the ground didn’t really freeze. I’ve been using the three varieties recommended in Johnny’s, but they are all hybrids. I haven’t been able to get a consistent result with any OP Daikons that I have tried. But I would sure like to raise my own seed, since I eat so many of them.

    Kim, I can’t wait to see how similar a Maine Redneck is to a West Coast one.

    Kristen, If we had a dish, or cable, I would be watching the history channel and all the equestrian and rodeo broadcasts. It’s probably good that we don’t.

    It’s chilly here, but still nice and dry, but it is getting dark so early! I’m not ready…

    Taylor, I bought 10 boxes – they were so good, we probably ate one box total fresh, and I canned the rest.

    Once you start canning, jars have a way of finding you. I am always on the lookout for more, and I get kind of obsessed with my jars – I’d be afraid to count how many I have. And, then I have ones I won’t use, just like my fabric that I will never cut… I’m seriously out of control!! :) OCD really means OBSESSIVE CANNING DISORDER!

    Linda, an outfit around here are clothes, or tack. I’d be afraid to name my cats after politicians, I’d get frustrated every time I saw them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,062 other followers

