Skip to content

Just chill

December 22, 2009

Hangdog put himself down to bring pie to his workplace holiday potluck.  So that means I’m elected.  And after being asked for a pie crust tutorial, I seized the opportunity to take photos (or make Ruthless do it) and try to document how I make pie.  

 

Many pies ago

That’s me on the right left, with my beloved home ec teacher.  It’s scary to think I have been baking pie for that many years.  Geez what an outfit, but what can I say?  Dial back the Way Back machine to 1975!  High School yearbooks are a wealth of memories… .  I tied for first place and had to participate in a bake-off.  I won – and it was nerve-wracking, since we had to bake the pie in front of the judges, (twice) and were judged for the whole process.  It was Home Economics, so keeping a neat work space, and timeliness were taken into account in our score in addition to taste.

So if nothing else, you will be getting instructions from a pie baker who is set in her ways, even if those ways are “wrong” and don’t go by the rules.  First piece of advice, just chill and don’t be scared to make a pie crust, practice makes perfect.  Some will turn out the way you want, some won’t – they will all be tasty.  My family likes me to practice! 

 

When I don’t want to think about making a pie, I make apple, it’s a no-brainer.  I make lots of fruit pies, and they do boil over and make a mess.  I don’t want to embarrass Hangdog, so I can count on apple to keep that from happening – since they aren’t so juicy 😉  

So apple it is, I prepared my filling first so the apples can juice a little.  The pie filling can be set aside while I make my crust. 

 

I’m kind of a hands-on gal, so the tool of choice for blending the flour, salt, and butter is my hand.  I don’t use shortening anymore, but it will give you a flakier crust.  We’re flaky enough, so butter it is.  Lard works well too, but I have more butter, and I like the taste.  Mix until the butter is in pea size balls, for the most part anyway.  

Then I add cold tap water, and stir with a fork until the mixture will hold together in a ball.  Don’t over-mix.  I usually make two crust pies, so I don’t try to incorporate all the crumbs in the bottom.  I can always add a few drops of water, but I can’t take it out.  When the dough is mixed well enough to pull out half for one crust, I stop mixing.  Over-mixing will can make your crust tough. 

 

I take out enough dough for one crust and then add a few drops of water to the remaining half and mix it into a ball.  A couple tosses with a fork and this dough will form a nice ball. 

 

Nothing fancy here – plain ol’ rolling pin, and our cutting board that has a worn spot on one side, so I use the back for dough projects. It’s still flat and smooth.  If only that Douglas fir board could talk, having meals prepared on it since our kitchen was remodeled in 1926, it has seen lots of pie crusts!! 

 

I smash the ball of dough down with my hand, less rolling that way. 

 

Then I kind of crimp the edges to make sure when I roll it out, cracks don’t develop at the edges.  As I roll the dough, I check for cracks and crimp more if needed. 

 

Then I roll it out, no cracks. 

 

Repeat for the top crust.  I know the “rules” say to chill the dough, but I never do.  Maybe because our house is on the cool side, winter or summer, it seems like an unnecessary step to me.  

 

Add filling, dot with butter.  


Place top crust on filling and trim to size with scissors.  We like thick fluted crusts, so if you don’t, trim a little harder than I did.  Or, like a french seam in sewing, cut one crust even with the edge of the pie pan, and leave the other one large enough to fold over or under.
 

 

Another “rule” dispensed with – I bring the crust from the bottom and fold over.  But you can fold the top under the bottom crust if you want.  It really makes no difference.   

 

Then flute the crust, or not.  Fluting is easy and makes it look like you spent some time on the pie.  Really though it takes just seconds to do this. 

 

Just for an added touch, you can add a cinnamon/sugar mix on top before baking.  Make sure to slice a few vent holes and slip the puppy into the oven.  Then you can leave for a while.  That’s what I like about pies!  Not much prep, and once the pie is baking I can do something else for about an hour. 

 

Done!

For this pie I used the Basic Pastry recipe from my Fannie Farmer Cookbook.  Usually I just wing it, but I didn’t want to send poor ol’ Hangdog off with a clunky pie 😉

BASIC PASTRY  9-inch two-crust pie

2 ½ cups flour
½ teaspoon salt
¾ cup shortening (I used butter)
6 – 7 Tablespoons cold water   (or a tiny bit more)

Mix flour and salt.  Cut in shortening with a pastry blender or 2 knives.  Combine lightly until the mixture resembles coarse meal or very tiny peas, the texture will not be uniform but will contain crumbs and small bits and pieces.  Sprinkle water over flour mixture a tablespoon at a time and mix lightly with a fork, using only enough water so the pastry will hold together.

Note:  Don’t handle this pastry dough any more than necessary or it will be tough:  treat it firmly, not timidly, but don’t fuss with it.  The flour and shortening should not be blended too well:  it is the bits of shortening left in the dough that will puff and expand during the baking and give the pastry its flaky identity.  For that reason this dough cannot be mixed as successfully in a food processor.  Fannie Farmer.

My notes:  Using butter will not give you as flaky a crust as shortening, but it is still pretty good.  I have a tart crust recipe I use for pot pie that uses butter that is flaky but I will have to make a pot pie first!  So that will have to be another post.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 7:06 am

    Hummmm! I’ve made pie for years, but I read through your post anyway. And wow! I didn’t know that on how to keep the crust from cracking! And I like how you flute your edges. I must say you are an exceptional pie maker. And just like all things in life…I learned some more things I didn’t know.

    Thank you so much!

    Merry Christmas, Dear Friend

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/

    • December 22, 2009 7:38 am

      Linda, isn’t funny how things happen, I have learned things I needed to know from the most unexpected places – it always brings a smile to my face when that happens.

      Merry Christmas to you and your family far and wide 🙂

  2. December 22, 2009 7:13 am

    Oh Nita! What a beautiful pie!!!! And I don’t see anything wrong with the outfit….are those bell bottoms?!

    • December 22, 2009 7:41 am

      Diane, it’s just when I look at the clothes and remember sewing the blouse and pants, it cracks me up. Now it’s jeans and sweatshirts and quilting, no slack and blouse sewing for me! They were actually trousers with pleats and cuffs, and in apricot – blech 🙂

  3. December 22, 2009 8:16 am

    thanks for the advice, put me in the catagory of learning that pinching the edges bit so crust doesn’t crack otherwise my pie mojo is pretty good.Hey now our winter escape is getting more realistic, Pensecola Fl-Redneck Riviera as some call it vs. South America, this may actually happen!still dreaming, on the solstice, Happy over the hump day

  4. Ali permalink
    December 22, 2009 8:45 am

    I too learned a new secret about crimping the edges to prevent the dreaded crust crack. Your 70’s outfit is fabulous — you would be totally stylie if you were wearing that on a college campus today, especially with the earrings!

    • December 22, 2009 9:36 am

      Ali, Me stylish?? hehe. And the earrings – clip-ons. Unbelieveable 🙂

      May your pie crusts never crack again and hope you have a great Christmas!

  5. December 22, 2009 9:25 am

    I like the way you flute it! I always “speer” our brand into the top for air vents unless I think it’s going to be one of my “ugly” pies and I don’t want anyone to know 😉

    • December 22, 2009 9:39 am

      Linda, I usually draw pictures with my knife – sawmill blades with spewing sawdust, log cabins, hay, IH logos – you name it. Too bad we don’t have a brand! I had to keep the embarrassment level on this pie to a minimum – hubby works with “civilized” folks 😉

      I gotta get busy and make those butter dookers!

  6. Brooke permalink
    December 22, 2009 9:28 am

    So tell us about your prize-winning pie of 1975 – what kind was it?!

    I’ve found over the years that the amount of water necessary for a pie crust is relative to the amount of humidity in the air. When I make fruit pies in the summer, they need much less water than winter pies. Have you ever tried a lard/butter crust? I used to make shortening/butter crusts, but have also stopped using shortening, but haven’t made a pie lately. Your apple pie is a beauty & inspiring!

    • December 22, 2009 9:46 am

      Brooke, it was cherry with a lattice top. The big prize? You get your name added to the hand written list displayed in the Home Ec room. My sister won it in ’63. Small school… .

      I have found the humidity thing to be true too, although here is it the opposite, in the summer we need more water, since we don’t have much in the way of humidity in the summer. And truth be told, I just have a measuring cup of water sitting there and I use the glug method – but I thought I should at least try to follow the recipe at least once.

      I never have mixed the lard and butter just preferring the taste of each in their own right. But it would probably be just fine. My pot pie crust uses an egg and is much wetter, but it is really flaky. It all disappears around here though – pie for breakfast is a favorite!

  7. December 22, 2009 9:33 am

    That’s one good looking pie! 🙂
    I almost always make my own pie crust. There were a few times I cheated and used store bought crust, felt shameful after that.

    • December 22, 2009 9:47 am

      YDavis, what’s a girl to do? Luckily I live too far from the store, so I have to make my crusts!

  8. December 22, 2009 10:39 am

    Some will turn out the way you want, some won’t – they will all be tasty.

    This is the most important thing I ever learned about making pie crust. While making the crust, I’m always neurotic, trying to do it exactly perfectly, because that’s just fun for me, but when it’s all done, I just calm down and relax, because no matter what, it’ll be yummy.

    I’m excited to try the tip on pinching the edges of the disk to prevent cracking. I always have to roll my dough out way bigger than it really needs to be in order to get an un-cracked piece large enough to fit in the pie plate. Or I end up going back and patching, which, per the original quote, never hurts the pie, but still bugs me.

    I always refrigerate the dough for at least 20 minutes or so. I’m still a bit of an amateur on rolling it out, so there is about a 50/50 chance that I will mess it up and have to lump it all up and start over from scratch. Chilling the dough means that if that happens, the butter is still mostly solid by the time I get done. Also, I find that the cold dough is easier to roll than the warmer dough, especially given its low moisture level. This may be because the 20 minutes or so in the fridge gives the flour more time to absorb the moisture (a trick I learned for bread-making). Then again, given that you’re trying to avoid gluten formation, maybe that’s counter-productive.

    Ah well, I could ruminate for hours, but I’ll just go back to the original quote: no matter what, as long as you don’t burn it, your pie crust will probably still be yummy.

    • December 22, 2009 1:08 pm

      Joshua, you sound like me on my quilting, every odd stitch or patch seems like a glaring mistake to me, no one else ever seems to notice.

      It’s hard to beat pie, even one that isn’t up to snuff!! Hope the crack repellent works for you!

  9. December 22, 2009 11:11 am

    I see included one of the most important parts of any project- the canine assistant.
    Thanks for blogging & happy holidays!

    • December 22, 2009 1:10 pm

      ej, ah yes, the canine assistant! That guy was a counter cruiser for two years and then he stopped. Now he just waits patiently – must be terrible to have such a strong sense of smell and know that food is right there…just waiting to be snatched!

      Thanks for reading and you have a warm and happy holiday!

  10. December 22, 2009 12:42 pm

    I usually use half shortening half butter in my crust then I get the best of both worlds. I’d love to use lard if I had a good source for quality lard. I have a recipe that my grandma was famous for, it contains an egg and some cider vinegar, which gives it a nice bit of extra flavor. The egg helps keep the dough soft I think, not quite sure, but it’s a dream to work with and whenever I make it people rave about it.

    I like to make my apples pies in a skillet with no bottom crust, like a tarte tatin but without turning it upside down. I serve drizzled with a bit of apple cider syrup – MMMMMMM.

    Love the photos! I’m particularly fond of the crust around the edges where the sugary syrup bakes on and makes it sweet and sticky – yum.

    • December 22, 2009 1:15 pm

      Susy, have you found a good non-hydrogenated shortening? I tried Spectrum’s palm oil shortening and while OK, the butter or lard were cheaper for me.

      The skillet apple pie sounds delicious! I will have to try that since the stove is going every day now!

      Have a great Christmas!

  11. December 22, 2009 4:49 pm

    Beautiful Pie! And the step-by-step pictures are sure appreciated – that’s not the easiest thing to do, stop and wipe your hands and take a photo as you make something.

    I’ve tried Spectrum’s organic shortening and it’s just ok. Pie crust recipe I use calls for both butter and shortening, and the Thanksgiving pumpkin pie crust turned out pretty flakey. Wish I had some lard, I’ve never baked with that.

    Christmas almost here! Hope yours is merry,

  12. December 23, 2009 8:10 am

    Growing up my grandmother used lard then later shortening and butter. Your pictures look so appetizing. I have not made apple pie in years. I love the dog at the table’s edge.

    You are a few years younger, but I do remember those outfits and in peach.

    My sister and I were making a pumpkin pie and did not have the shortening or butter, so I used oil. It was not as good, but we did not complain.

  13. December 24, 2009 9:37 am

    I just started sucessfully making pie crusts just a few weeks back based on someone elses post. It has taken be years. Such a good feeling to be able to make from scratch. Liked the tips you provided in your post like cutting the crust with scissors.

  14. December 24, 2009 3:24 pm

    I hate making pastry but love pies and making the filling. I can’t bring myself to buy the store made crusts… it’s a conundrum! Consequently, I don’t often make pies. Yours looks divine and I think the snout in the photo proves it!

    Merry Ho-ho,

    Your friend,

    HDR

  15. December 26, 2009 9:24 pm

    so glad you posted this, Nita! Of all the pies in the world, apple is just hard to beat. I really needed some crust help, and I’ll use this recipe. My kitchen gets so hot and muggy and my crusts begin looking like soup, but since it’s a tad chilly just now, it’s a perfect excuse to practice my pie crusts 🙂

  16. localnourishment permalink
    December 27, 2009 6:40 am

    Oh my, you and I must be almost the same age. The pants were polyester, right? And you wore them with loafers with big, square heels, right? Been there, wore that. Amazing. And Home Ec. A kid nowadays would wonder what that is.

    I am a total pie crust idiot. Can’t make it to save my life. Used every recipe out there, they come out just awful. Greasy, tough, dry…and never the same way twice. But my family sure doesn’t mind me practicing! And some day, when I finally get it, we’ll all gain 50 pounds.

  17. December 27, 2009 10:14 am

    Whoa…. great tip about preventing the dough from cracking when you roll it out! I also liked the idea of adding water until half was ready, instead of mixing it all together as I’ve always done. Sounds like less handling, and less is more.

    I bought a couple of store crusts for the freezer, knowing that right now my time lines are too short to make pies easily, but look forward to making my own again. I’ve been known to just make a few and freeze them to cut the assembly time later on and make tossing a pie on the table easy as shrugging… doesn’t work so well with top crust, but for a bottom only, or with a top crumble, it sure makes it fast.

    Of course…. maybe those kinds of corner-cuts for time saving won’t be as crucial here. Time will tell.

  18. December 27, 2009 7:40 pm

    looks so much like my moms old pies. The darn thing is — she always gave us a quarter of a pie. YES… I was a little girl and I got a quarter of a pie.
    She must have always made 3 pies as there were 8 kids and 2 adults. I have two of her old pie plates, and they aren’t huge pie plates. BUT, it still takes the same amount of work to make the crust and cut up the apples, yes? ha ha.

    Yours are so inviting to sink my teeth into and sigh.

Leave a comment