Skip to content

Christmas Dinner

December 28, 2010

I forget what it takes to make a holiday dinner around here – going back through the bittersweet archives, I am even more thankful.  Pic heavy – dial-up beware.  The menu Christmas Eve:  Pork loin roast stuffed with beef breakfast sausage, roasted root vegetables, winter squash, mashed potatoes and roast dripping gravy, & blueberry pie.  Christmas Day, pork roast pot pie with roasted roots.




Just keeping it real…

18 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2010 8:23 am

    I loved them all, a little bit of fall, summer and all the in between was nice to see!

  2. December 28, 2010 8:24 am

    That looks like a pretty fabulous Christmas to me!

  3. December 28, 2010 8:24 am

    Love it!!!!!

  4. December 28, 2010 8:31 am

    what a wonderful way to look at the process – made me smile.

  5. December 28, 2010 8:33 am

    Ahhhh, I needed that today! Thanks!

  6. charlotte permalink
    December 28, 2010 8:48 am

    beautiful pics, so nice to reminisce from the comforts of my couch! Peace to all!

  7. December 28, 2010 9:33 am

    Oh, my, you have worked so hard all year! We forget that it’s a process, don’t we, and take for granted the work other people put in to providing food for our table when we buy it. Everything looks lovely. I especially like the way you layer sugared stars for the top of your pie. I have a star cutter and a heart cutter, and I usually use it to cut the center hole of the top pie crust with, but I really like that layered look.

  8. Anne Taliaferro permalink
    December 28, 2010 9:46 am

    What a lovely pictorial journal of the fruits of your labor!

  9. December 28, 2010 9:56 am

    GREAT POST! You are so right….every step of the way makes the meal on down the line! WONDERFUL POST!

    Happy New Year!

    Linda

    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  10. December 28, 2010 11:31 am

    I’ll take a piece of that pie! Looks yummy. My friend Jeanne and I divided the duties to make all the food preparation easier. I did Christmas Eve dinner and she did Christmas day. I took the easy way out with a ham, but she went all out with a standing rib roast, cauliflower au gratin, and a kale salad with sugar coated pecans and apples. It was really wonderful. Hope your holiday was a wonderful one. – Margy

  11. December 28, 2010 12:14 pm

    Ooooh, I love the star-topped pie! I might have to try that some time.

  12. Jennifer Krieger permalink
    December 28, 2010 2:22 pm

    What a beautiful pie! Such hopeful puppies.

  13. December 28, 2010 4:19 pm

    Thanks for the lovely photos. I don’t know why, but I always seem to come away drooling and yearning. Emily

  14. Sheila Z permalink
    December 28, 2010 5:42 pm

    A year to make a meal. Only a farmer would understand.

    No need to join a gym.

  15. December 29, 2010 5:46 am

    Note to self “gotta get me some pig cookie cutters!” Those are too cute : ) Doesn’t it feel good to know that you have produced yor own Holiday meal…such a sense of accomplishment . Love the post

  16. December 29, 2010 3:03 pm

    I’d even come for left-overs! What’s on for new years? ;)

  17. December 30, 2010 6:58 am

    And you said you don’t fuss over food! That’s a beautiful pie! Everything looks so good!!!
    Happy New Year!!! ❅ ❆ ❄ ❅

  18. January 1, 2011 10:42 pm

    WOW!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,074 other followers

