Skip to content

“Poor Man’s Citrus”

May 29, 2011

I’m posting my Rhubarb Curd recipe over at Simple Green Frugal Co-op today.  Don’t let the appearance fool you, it’s delicious.  I have green rhubarb, and well, it’s not girly and pink, it’s just plain good.  The hardest thing is to find a Fiestaware color that goes good with this dun colored pudding for a decent photo!  Trust me you don’t want to see the other colors, especially the lemongrass one…juniper won out.  I’m kind of partial to that color combination.

Lady of the Lake, 1987

4 Comments leave one →
  1. susan permalink
    May 29, 2011 5:29 pm

    Read your recipe, and wondered why it had never occurred to me to do this before?! We have rhubarb coming out our ears, and there’s only so much rhubarb crisp (which is so much more acid than the curd) that your stomach can take. I’m always looking for ways to use up homegrown eggs too — this one has to be a winner!

    So long story short, I went out in this infernal rain (what’s with 54 degrees the last weekend of May??) and picked an armload of rhubarb. Made it up, and the BAD news is that it didn’t even make it till dessert. One little taste test for my hub and **poof** the stuff is GONE!

    Thank you!

  2. thetinfoilhatsociety permalink
    June 1, 2011 8:47 am

    I’m going to have to try this! I have been trying to grow rhubarb here in the high desert of Arizona for five years; last year I accidentally found out that, while it won’t stay alive if planted in the ground, it does wonderfully in deep pots. So this year I have four plants and all are doing really very well. I’ve been wondering what I could do with it besides rhubarb pie…and saving the leaves for dyeing wool.

  3. June 5, 2011 11:40 am

    Thanks for stopping by A Diva’s Garden. I’m loving the quilt in this post. I’m a collector. Don’t have as many as I would like, but I’m working on it. I think you correctly identified my shrub. I did a little research, and it looks like Andromeda. It does bloom in early spring with white flowers. I love it. I’m in the Eastern part of the country, WV. About an hour from Washington, DC.

    • June 6, 2011 6:47 am

      I’ve had many offers to buy it, but just couldn’t part with it. I won the Governor’s Award for Best Use of Color when I entered it in the Oregon State Fair. (Patting myself on the back) Modern day quilters can hardly believe me when I tell them there was time in 60’s & 70’s and into the early 80’s when you couldn’t always find 100% cotton for every fabric color in a quilt – this quilt has one fabric that is a blend. :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,074 other followers

