Skip to content

Jane – One More Month Crossed Off

February 29, 2012

Not a whole lot to report on the Jane front, her bag is changing slowly, and she is starting to look a little pregnant… .  It’s hard to tell with cows, they carry pregnancies like people, (everyone is different) and until she goes through the entire cycle I won’t really know if she shows a lot, or not in her pregnancies.  She’s a big framed girl and she may be able to hide her calves well.


I continue with half-hearted “training” – mostly just feeding her on a schedule; leading her out to pasture in the morning, and letting her in at night.  As it stands now, her routine is exactly what it will be when I am milking, sans a calf in the picture.  Her stall where I feed her is where I will milk her.  She feels safe there, and in turn she will feel safe leaving her calf there when the time comes.

She’s starting to look like a regulation cow to me.  What do you think?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 9:01 pm

    She grew up so fast! Doesn’t seem that long since she was a little calf. My cows are both expecting the first week of July. I wish it wasn’t in the heat of the summer, but that’s how it worked out.

    • March 1, 2012 6:29 am

      Susan, time sure flies doesn’t it? Well maybe it will be cool enough…I’m not sure where you are, but summer doesn’t start here until after July 4th :)

  2. February 29, 2012 10:39 pm

    She looks a fabulous girl to me!

  3. March 1, 2012 4:55 am

    looking good! I have 10 dairy and half dairy cattle and this winter has been one of the easiest ever. I sold the bull who I loved but couldn’t contain this last summer, but he left me his exploits to deal with….a calf in December, 2 in January and 2 in February. I had each and every girl marked on the calendar and didn’t miss a beat, but what really worked was the weather. 40 Degrees every single day they calved. While I watched for all the signs on calving with them, I also had to look at my diary to see who bagged up for 2 months prior and who didn’t. I have a couple who look super loose in the behind but can make you wait…wait…and wait some more, so best to not use that sign on them. One shows almost every single sign for 2 months, but when she doesn’t have her head in the feed bale while everyone else does…be ready. I agree, making notes on each girl is a helpful marker! I bet your super excited and I can’t wait to see what colors you get. I hope for a heifer for you!

    • March 1, 2012 6:32 am

      Debh, arghh that’s frustrating when they are born all over the calendar. I spent my childhood dealing with that, I like having the short calving window. I have a couple of cows that barely bag up or swell until about a day before. Keeps me on my toes! I’m guessing I’ll get a whiteface :)

  4. jade permalink
    March 1, 2012 5:10 am

    for some reason I just love Jane :)

  5. March 1, 2012 5:45 am

    Seems like yesterday she was born!
    Our Jersey will have her calf in the next week or so.

  6. March 1, 2012 6:08 am

    Jane looks a lot different compared to the first photos! Amazing what a couple of years will do for a cow. Everybody here is gestating, too. A few more weeks of milking and then it’s time to dry up Maybelle, since her calf is due end of May. Strawberry the red Angus is a couple of weeks later in June. Hershey, Maybelle’s daughter, isn’t due until August, and like Jane, this is her first — she’s a Dexter-Jersey cross. It’s hard to wait; I’m already anxious to see those babies.

    • March 1, 2012 6:35 am

      Bee, I agree, and it’s funny but with her halter looks like her mom. I have to take a double take sometimes when I am bringing her in at night. We won’t have any calves until May either so I still have some time to prepare. Good luck with your girls!

  7. March 1, 2012 8:23 am

    Matron,

    I am not a lifelong cow person — Dad milked cows, but sold them when I was twelve. He raised hogs. And I didn’t get much bovine contact in the Navy or when programming for a career.

    But that second photo sure looks like she is carrying a calf. The swell of the back part of her belly seems pretty distinctive, with her build and good but not fleshy condition (state of flesh atop her tail and hips).

    • March 1, 2012 9:21 am

      Brad, yeah she does, but if you compared her to a my friend’s heifer the same age that is not bred, the only real discernible difference is the udder. The calf is still pretty tiny, but it will grow significantly the last trimester. She’ll change a lot.

  8. Chris permalink
    March 1, 2012 11:21 am

    She is beautiful!…She needs a bow tied to the end of her tail! :)

  9. March 1, 2012 1:55 pm

    Always nice to see ladylike Miss Jane. She’s sort of a celebrity now.

    She definitely has a baby bump. I just had my fifth calf this morning – so far 3 bulls, 2 heifers.
    We’re all a little tired – my bull stacked them all up like a pro. One thing you’ve done that I’ve been lazy about is training the heifers. I train them to come to me when I call but haven’t trained them to lead. I’m going to start these little ones early.

  10. Lucy permalink
    March 1, 2012 2:11 pm

    Lovely Jane!

  11. Janet permalink
    March 1, 2012 8:20 pm

    She looks wonderful and I can’t believe how fast the time went! Looking forward to the birth and hearing all about it! Love the updates, thank you!

  12. March 2, 2012 4:48 pm

    She is the loveliest of lovelies. It is amazing how much a bit of udder development makes her look more cowish.

  13. Hayden permalink
    March 8, 2012 4:25 pm

    Your cows are still the only significant cows in my life, ever. But it’s shocking me to realize how long I’ve been reading you, and remembering back a few years to all of the sturm and drang and heartbreak. Jane is gorgeous, always, in my eyes. They aren’t cow-discerning eyes, but they know beauty when they see it. Amazing how that recognition of beauty carries over from humans, plants, different kinds of critters, etc. Health+ conformity+ a certain regularity + spirit and something extra = beauty. Wish I understood that equation better!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,062 other followers

