Skip to content

Snowing…Again

March 21, 2012


He’s not a Corgi…


The snow is pretty, but it sure makes for extra chores.  The feathernet I’m using for the sheep is flattened.


The best way to preserve your electric netting is first, don’t use it when it is going to snow.  But that aside, to avoid stress on the horizontal electric wires, grab the vertical non-electric wire to pull the net out of the snow.  There is some stress on the filament wire but not as much as if you just grab the top and yank it out of the snow.   The easiest on the fence is not to use the posts either for pulling the fencing out of the snow this also puts lots of stress on the electrical part.  Go to the middle of the span and grab two vertical wires together and gently pull the netting up out of the snow.


Gently shake off the snow.


Reset the posts.


Get lots of dog kisses.


“Let us in!”


“Okay, we want to go back out!”

A little ray of spring in the celeriac flat.

Lunatic With Fringe.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    March 21, 2012 3:38 pm

    Will spring ever come?? Great snow pics but I can see you probably have had enough! Sheep…I didn’t know you had sheep! Are they for fleece, meat, and or both??

    • March 21, 2012 6:07 pm

      Chris, they were for meat, but the cougars liked them more than venison, so we decided that was a losing proposition, so they are my last ewes who get to weed until they can’t weed no more… They are excellent at eating grass close to the buildings so for that alone they are worth keeping around. :) I’d rather move a fence every week or so than strap on the weedeater once!

  2. March 21, 2012 3:53 pm

    Life on the farm… you gotta love it.
    Thanks for the electric netting fence workshop. I could use some of that fencing. Snow wouldn’t be a problem here.
    Love those dogs… every animal needs a warm place to relax. Cute!

  3. March 21, 2012 3:55 pm

    Another welcome, informative, imminently practical post! Thank you so much! It doesn’t snow so much at my farm outside Bandon, but the 4″ anomaly we had last week indeed flattened the electronet.

    • March 21, 2012 6:09 pm

      Marilyn, yeah, it sure doesn’t take much to flatten that stuff! Luckily the sheep just watched me fix it, they decided not to make any new trails in the snow, they just waited for hay :)

  4. March 21, 2012 5:28 pm

    I love the snow balls hanging from their fur!

    • March 21, 2012 6:10 pm

      CA, oh brother what a mess in the dreads! We pull them off until we get the arm clamp applied (full of teeth) then we let them finish off the last. Sure makes for a mess!

  5. March 21, 2012 5:31 pm

    *sigh* I do not miss the PNW AT ALL right now! I’ll keep my sun and a/c! But, it was good to learn how to handle electric netting as we may have some later. And believe it or not, Georgia gets snow and down right cold most winters.

    • March 21, 2012 6:11 pm

      OS, yeah, you never know, we don’t usually get this much this late! I’m glad it isn’t December!

      • March 21, 2012 7:52 pm

        It’s not fully unusual. I remember growing up in Western WA and having snow in late April. Weather seems to go in cycles that people forget about.

        • March 22, 2012 5:01 am

          Yeah, we have had snow on Easter many times here too, but I don’t really remember getting feet of snow after February in our location, the usual snow storms in spring barely stick or leave more than a few inches.

        • March 22, 2012 7:38 am

          When I lived in AK, my friends in WA and OR used to report they were having whatever weather I’d had a couple weeks later. I learned to watch Alaska and expect that weather within 2 weeks. In this case, I would have expected you to have had A LOT of rain, as they’ve been having more snow than usual.

  6. Linda Zoldoske permalink
    March 21, 2012 6:24 pm

    We didn’t even get any snow but a sprinkling this year. Such a mild winter. I keep waiting for a sudden freeze, but so far I’m just waiting!

    • March 21, 2012 6:44 pm

      Linda, despite all the snow storms we have been getting, it really has been a warm winter here too.

  7. March 22, 2012 2:07 am

    It’s hard to believe you look like what we should, here in the Northeast. Yesterday was 77F and HOT! It’s the spring equinox, for Pete’s sake! We’ve had rain, but very little snow. The grass in the pastures is growing like mad. My magnolia will bloom today, a month early.

    I loved the title of the photo Lunatic with Fringe. LOL

    • March 22, 2012 5:03 am

      PamR, that’s hot! I bet it feels good though. I could do with a little more sun on this end!

      He IS a lunatic! Well, actually they both are in their own ways. They sure like playing in the snow!

  8. March 22, 2012 7:38 am

    Totally unrelated. I know you eat kelp. How do you go about it? Mix it in things? Sprinkle it on things? Just eat a tablespoon of it? More specific is more better…lol.

    • March 22, 2012 11:09 am

      HFS, don’t tell…I usually grab a pinch when I put the minerals in for the cow! Thorvin would have a conniption – since it is livestock grade ;)

  9. March 22, 2012 11:10 am

    That is insane. It’s been bright and sunshiney for the last two weeks here and already feels like mid-April. I hope for you that the snow takes a hike!

  10. March 22, 2012 1:15 pm

    Thanks. We have a couple of bags for the cows. I was thinking smoothie.

    I’m surprised how little they eat. PNB, Redmond salt, kelp, baking soda…they mostly just leave it alone. They do have their days though…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,076 other followers

