Skip to content

Hedgerow Workshop

April 25, 2012

Edge effect.  The occurrence of greater species diversity and biological density in an ecotone than in any of the adjacent ecological communities.

No matter what environment you live in, rural or urban, a hedgerow can enhance your life.  From privacy to food, learn how to design a biodiverse hedgerow that will compliment your environment.  The workshop will be held May 18 -20 in Sherwood, Oregon at a 58 acre transitional Biodynamic/Permaculture Farm.  This in-depth workshop is sponsored by the Manav Foundation and will be taught by Jude Hobbs and Jenny Pell.

For more information please visit The Manav Foundation.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2012 6:37 am

    “…I believe diversity was an old, old wooden ship…”

    Wish I could go. I’m still trying to wrap my head around keyline theory and how I can implement it on our farm. Any discussion on treelines would be great.

  2. April 26, 2012 9:13 am

    Edge effect was the topic of a full quarter of one of my 300 level bio classes. Interesting stuff.

  3. Hayden permalink
    April 26, 2012 4:10 pm

    wish I could go. Better, wish there was such a workshop near here, in my climate zone. But – with 80 guineas, 150 chicks and a dozen hens I’m not going anywhere. My hedgerow dreams are coming closer—- just received 8 dumptrucks full of wood chips, about half of which will be spread several inches deep on the area I’ll plant first. If the soil critters seem active and things are going well, I may plant it this fall. If not – maybe next year. Soil is very thin, very sandy in that field. Not much organic matter in the soil, and it was in field crops for about 10 years. So – first I have to increase the mycorrhizal critters, and the wood chips will help.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,064 other followers

