Skip to content

Wordless Wednesday

May 23, 2012

26 Comments leave one →
  1. maurakeith permalink
    May 23, 2012 7:55 am

    How sweet is that!!!!!

  2. Chris permalink
    May 23, 2012 8:13 am

    OMG….she’s huge!! What is that in her treat bag?? Does she let you give her pats, hugs, kisses, etc.? :)

    • May 23, 2012 8:44 am

      Chris, she doesn’t seem that big to me, since I’m used to her, but she is big. Much taller than her mama, and one aunt, and the same size as another aunt I have. Those are her new minerals in addition to the kitchen sink she already has access to.

  3. May 23, 2012 8:22 am

    Awwww! What’s in the bag?

  4. May 23, 2012 8:27 am

    Whoa – I didn’t realize what a big girl she is! There’s never people in the pictures, so I had no context. Great picture, she’s such a beauty….

    • May 23, 2012 8:40 am

      AMF, yeah she’s a big girl! I won’t have to bend over to milk her that’s for sure ;)

      • May 23, 2012 9:04 am

        I’d love to see the old world Guernsey cow standing next to our modern ones… I think the old ones were more like the size of my cows (Milking Devon) which are more like large ponies as compared to Holsteins.

        I vow I will start milking somebody soon. You make me feel so ungrateful & wasteful : )

        • May 23, 2012 9:20 am

          Jane’s mom was old style in build, and I have an old (1920′s)farm brochure from Foremost Dairy which was J.C.Penney’s farm and the cows in that looked like Della. Stockier and shorter in stature. They also produced less milk. I think Jane will be fine though, I don’t care what her size is as long as she is healthy :) Jane is not as big as a Holstein…in the photo she is uphill from me so that may make her look a little larger than she actually is.

          Don’t worry about being wasteful, I’m in the camp that doesn’t believe in dual purpose breeds, I don’t think the calf gets enough milk in many cases, when the milk is going to the house… A neighbor just had some calving trouble with his dual purpose heifer, she had to share with the people…sometimes that’s all it takes, just chipping away here and there and pretty soon you have problems. That may not be what the trouble was, but I keep those things in the back of my mind and when you add up the negatives sometimes they make a difference. JMHO though.

  5. May 23, 2012 8:37 am

    What a beautiful cow! I have been following you since before the tragic birth of Jane, how wonderful to see her all grown up, and almost a mom herself. We have a heifer who looks like she will calve today, it is so exciting!

  6. bunkie permalink
    May 23, 2012 8:38 am

    beautiful!

  7. cookie roscoe permalink
    May 23, 2012 9:22 am

    it’s so nice to see Jane alongside a person here. In all the other pictures, she’s standing by herself and I thought she was so much smaller! She’s a big beautiful healthy looking girl!

  8. May 23, 2012 9:39 am

    My golly has she ever gotten big!! She still looks so petite in all the other photos. Not until you’re in the frame, Nita, can we see the truth!

  9. Chris permalink
    May 23, 2012 10:44 am

    What about the pats, hugs and kisses from her mama…does she allow those?? :)

  10. May 23, 2012 11:13 am

    such a nice picture.
    Jane is beautiful!!

  11. May 23, 2012 12:35 pm

    Gorgeous photo. That Jane sure is a looker! And your grasses! Oh, I’m swooning over how lush that pasture is… It’s been fun to follow along with Jane’s pregnancy (although I don’t often comment). I’m looking forward to everything that comes. Thank you for sharing your farm with us.

    • May 23, 2012 1:01 pm

      Sophie, thank you! I follow you as well and never seem to have time to comment :( You can attribute that lushness to intensively pastured poultry and MiG. It didn’t used to look so good under the continuous free range setup I grew up with.

  12. Liz J permalink
    May 23, 2012 1:52 pm

    Absolutely beautiful picture!

  13. May 23, 2012 3:07 pm

    Gorgeous cow!

  14. Bee permalink
    May 23, 2012 8:00 pm

    Whoa, Jane! Next to her, my little Belfair (Dexter/Jersey Cross) heifer Hershey would look like her calf. I’m glad we weren’t planning on milking Hershey, because she is a shortie — nearly as wide as she is tall with her first calf due in August. Jane looks wonderful, glowing with health; nice job, Nita!

  15. May 23, 2012 10:37 pm

    What a lovely companion Jane looks. The discipline in handling and care is evident; I like the soft eye, the calm curiosity. Well done!

  16. May 24, 2012 7:30 am

    My cat looks at me just like that!

  17. Kristin permalink
    May 24, 2012 10:18 am

    My God she is gorgeous!

    O.k. Do you ever mow your pastures? After grazing? How about where Jane grazes?

    • May 24, 2012 10:51 am

      Kristin, not usually, I’ve got it pretty dialed in on paddock size, etc. We mow for hay, and we do neaten up the “lawn” after the sheep or Jane and Willy go through. No one is going back in the orchard after this last pass though, since it looks like we are going to have a great fruit year, FINALLY!! So that means a little more mowing work for me.

      ETA: I just got back from moving the beef cows, and I reflect alot when I’m with the cows and realized I needed to add more to this comment. I think the main reason we don’t have to mow is because we are constantly matching paddock size to the grass growth, we don’t have a set number of paddocks that is so common in the university type blurbs about rotational grazing. I just read an article the other day about a woman who divided her pasture land into 24 paddocks. My first thought is that she has a lot of mowing to do or to avoid mowing she has to move too fast through her paddocks… It’s funny though, one of the first questions someone will ask is “How many paddocks do you have?” My blank look makes me look pretty dumb, I think. Since my answer is it depends. I might have 7 this week and 90 in 3 months.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,075 other followers

