Skip to content

Turnip Update

May 24, 2012

The thought of transplanting salad turnips turned me off.   Mostly because I was worried about damaging the tap root on a plant that matures so quickly.  Time would be of the essence to avoid that.

I’m happy to report that my fears were unfounded.  Although the transplanting was tedious compared to direct seeding.  For me the lazy gardener who never got back to the direct seeded rows to thin, the transplants are ready to harvest now.  Seeding in flats and then transplanting added a step in one place, but thinning adds a step in a different place.  So depending on what garden tasks you like, or dislike, transplanting is not a bad way to go with these tender turnips.


Delicious and well worth the effort!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2012 3:10 am

    This doesn’t surprise me. I picked up a package of turnips off the produce aisle at Walmart. Two of them set in the package on my counter long enough to sprout. With the greens about an inch high — I stuck them in the planter box on my deck last winter/early spring. They flowered (I got nearly two tbsp. of seed), and got bigger. I am waiting for an evening home to harvest and enjoy them.

    Unfortunately they weren’t a type to produce much in the way of greens. Leggy and sparse on leaves. I do plan to plant a few seeds late summer for fall harvest.

  2. May 24, 2012 6:47 am

    Glad to see it. My transplanted beets look great all in a row.

  3. May 29, 2012 7:10 am

    Glad to see it worked. This spring has been unbelievably bad for germination for me, although I think slugs might be as much the culprit as cold soil. My early seeded Haukureis did work though many other crops didn’t, and the turnips certainly could have been much more even if they were transplanted.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,012 other followers

