Skip to content

Same Old, Same Old

September 20, 2012

Trace and Azure Star Kohlrabi

The days are seeming full and getting much shorter too fast.

♥  In the pressure canner:  roasted tomato salsa.

♥  In the oven:  roasting tomatoes.

♥  In the churn:  one gallon of cream.

♥  On the nightstand:  Beautiful Corn, Wettest County in the World, The Seed Underground, and Visiting Tom.  (Good thing it’s getting dark so soon.)

♥  In the Harsch  crock:  the second batch of kraut, plus one quart over.  Next batch I’m  back in the Red Wing.

♥  Brining:  cukes and onions for dill and bread and butter pickles.

♥  On the planting schedule:  interseeded cover crop rye, winter chicory, and spinach.

♥  On the fruit harvesting schedule:  Bartlett pears, still waiting for Italian prunes and Gravenstein apples.  Next month King, Jonathan and Northern Spy.

Are you done preserving for the season or just in full swing like we are?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2012 2:16 am

    Still doing beets, crabapples, and a few pickles here. I need to stop procrastinating and get the salsa done!

  2. September 21, 2012 2:17 am

    Ha! I could only wish I had that many fruits and vegetables to preserve. I have, however, been canning meat lately. Chicken and ham. I will likely have to do more of the ham if we don’t hurry up and eat it.

  3. September 21, 2012 5:13 am

    My favorite this year has been my plum pie filling…

    Tomato passata (?? puree in my world) is pretty handy stuff. Been milling tons of pumkin puree – how many pies can one eat? It seems like I’m really busy, but can’t figure out with what, lol.

  4. September 21, 2012 5:15 am

    I’m not done canning but I can see a light at the end of the tunnel. Still butchering turkeys, apples yet to go. Lots of sweet potatoes, pumpkins and butternut squash …. but I’ll just can the bruised ones : ) Dehydrating the last of the peppers and some onions.

  5. Mich permalink
    September 21, 2012 6:28 am

    I am still picking autumn raspberries for jam, puree and freezing whole.
    The tomatoes are going full steam ahead & still ripening in the glass houses as are the peppers.
    Need to get the beetroot up and am fingers crossed that I get some corn on the cob before the first frost hits..

  6. September 21, 2012 6:52 am

    MOH, we love your blog. We just canned our tomatoes and lacto-fermented some chilis to make pepperoncini. We’ve actually got a lot of lacto fermentation projects going on right now it’s easier than canning and healthier too- or at least so we’ve been told.

  7. September 21, 2012 9:23 am

    Here in India, we are all set to grow stuff, since we just finished having our rainy season. It is fun growing season now.All pots in my terrace are full, and I am adding more. There is hardly any place, but I need to plant more :-)

    My first sighting of Kohlrabi of this color. great!

  8. September 21, 2012 9:37 am

    Hey Matron,
    You’ve said in the past that you are not a fan of dual purpose breeds of cattle – could you elaborate on that really quick? I’m preparing a presentation about the pros and cons of heritage breeds and wanted to share multiple views…

    Just really quick – no special efforts – I can see how buried you are. That picture of your dog makes me really miss mine – Charley was a good garden helper just like your pups…

    • September 21, 2012 9:48 am

      AMF, my biggest concern about a dual purpose breed of cow is that if you think you’re going to have enough milk for you and the calf, and there isn’t (due to different lines etc) the calf usually will get shorted in favor of taking more milk for the house. Or if you decide not to milk for the house and the cow gives too much (again different lines) for the calf you may end up with udder problems. With my dairy cow, I KNOW I am responsible for keeping her udder in good condition, I don’t expect the calf to do it. With my beef cows I expect that the calves will do the job. There are so many variables with each person, situation and each breed of cow, that it is hard to apply any hard and fast rules. It’s not so much that I’m against dual purpose breeds of cattle, it’s more that I’m against the notion.

      • September 21, 2012 9:52 am

        So it sounds like it’s not the cows themselves, but the expectation of the owners to sporadic milking practices if I understand correctly?

        I would agree there is a lot of literature out there that makes that approach sound much easier and better than it is in real life…

        PS: Thanks for taking time to share
        : )

        • September 21, 2012 10:11 am

          AMF, yes, that’s it. Sporadic milking is frustrating for the people and cows! A friend of mine wanted a mini cow for that reason, and guess what (to her credit) she loved the milk but realized that the calf needed it more. So to remedy that she got a Jersey, now mind you the Jersey gives more milk than she needs but she is dealing with it. For me I think the perfect homestead cow is one that really provides you with all your butter needs in addition to fluid milk for consumption and other dairy products you may choose. Fat is one of the most overlooked foods on the stocking up list, mostly because we are such a fat phobic society. Butter from a cow that you fed and milked yourself is one of the least processed good fats there is. It’s pretty easy for people to bash cows and butter, but if they really understood the process of processing nuts or grains into milk and fat and all the resources that takes, I think they would be on a different soapbox! I still think a family cow is one of the most productive animals on any farmstead, all the dairy products for the farmstead, fertilizer, and able to raise a beef for the freezer. Not many other farm animals fill that bill as well as a good producing dairy cow.

  9. September 21, 2012 1:12 pm

    Amen to all of that : ) My new soapbox is exactly your point about fat. Everyone says they can’t afford the price of good food, but my point is that we throw half of what we buy away when we fail to capture & use the fats and bones. I can make six meals from one chicken plus have some cooking fat to boot… and who wants to eat hydrogenated candle wax anyway? I swear I can taste Crisco in pie crust…

    My friend Howard Van Ord an ox drover from Ox Hill Devons claims a single working cow is the most productive animal ever. She makes milk, raises a calf, provides labor and meat . Sounds about right to me – everyone knows working moms get things done…

    Thanks again Matron : )

  10. September 25, 2012 10:26 am

    Hey – can you pressure can any old thing? Let’s say you have grandma’s recipe for spaghetti sauce, but it’s not checked out for water bath…can you just pressure can it and assume it’ll be fine? Excluding the known (weird) no-nos, like starch in your soup and pumpkin puree.

    • September 25, 2012 1:04 pm

      Emily, I’m guessing you mean not safe for water bath now with the newer guidelines? If it were me and my recipe I would pressure can it for the time stated for the vegetable in the recipe that requires the most time…and if it contains meat, I would do the standard hour and one half for meat products. Especially something that will be cooked a long time anyway like spaghetti sauce.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,020 other followers

