Skip to content

Plum Tuckered

October 19, 2012

Prunes are done!

We’ve canned, dehydrated, cordialed, juiced, buttered, sold, bartered and gleaned until the we’re blue in the face.

Final total for our pantry:
4 gallons dehydrated.
5 gallons juice, canned in quart jars.
4 gallons frozen for baking or snacking.
2 gallons cordial.
5 1/2 pints plum butter.

I can’t count how many we have actually eaten, fresh and out of the dehydrator, and I have no idea what the sold, bartered and gleaned prunes turned into for other pantries.  But I do know we sure enjoyed the bounty.  I hope all this lasts until the next large Italian prune crop :)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    October 19, 2012 3:22 pm

    Well, let’s just say you have a nice, regular family!! :))) sorry bad joke!! anyway…where do you sell your produce, eggs, etc.? You do live to far away for me to benefit…I’m just curious! Can you divulge your prune juice recipe…so the rest of us can be regular too!! :)) sorry!!

    • October 19, 2012 3:57 pm

      Chris, it’s funny we don’t have problems with that except my DH, who’s missing some of his small intestine…but sadly prunes don’t seem to help him in that department :( My ND was here getting some prunes and she mentioned the same thing, that prunes don’t seem to make much difference to her either.

      We only sell beef, and ironically it was “regular” beef customers who bought some prunes. ;)

      To keep it simple on the juice front, I use my steam juicer and the juice comes out hot enough to seal if you have your jars and lids ready. It’s perfect without sugar, but not near as nice as eating a fresh prune right from the tree :(

  2. October 19, 2012 6:50 pm

    Isn’t that a great feeling to be able to post that a crop is done! For me this year it was apples… I didn’t think I would ever get done with them. We sauced, canned, jellied and juiced until I thought I would drop then traded and made gifts of the remaining. I wanted to celebrate when I was done : )

    • October 19, 2012 7:31 pm

      CQ, yes, it certainly is. I guess with the prunes we know it may be several years before we see a crop this large. It’ll be well worth the work in the long run :)

      Now I get to start on apples! Our seasons are so different, it’s fun to read when about when your crops come in and compare that to ours! Almost time to put your feet up, I’d say ;)

  3. A.A. permalink
    October 19, 2012 10:45 pm

    The few trees by the house trees carried plenty of prunes this year, but they didn’t ripen properly. I liked them anyway :) I really had to, after all the ooh-ing and aah-ing watching them grow and fill the branches! Still, what I relished the most this year was transplanting saplings to a patch of land between pastures and (hopefully) starting an orchard there :)

    • A.A. permalink
      October 19, 2012 10:48 pm

      Oops, an extra “trees” slipped in there. I /don’t/ have “house trees” _obviously_, ahem, ahem. Maybe I should though… ;)

  4. TBirdsMomma permalink
    October 20, 2012 11:25 am

    Aww, I was going to prescribe a nice big serving of cheese for each of you, but Chris beat me to the joke.

  5. October 22, 2012 7:52 am

    Can you share how your cordial? My kids are fond of prunes, I think next year we are going to try to find a gleaned source of plums!

    • October 23, 2012 10:03 am

      Adalynfarm, I just filled half gallon jars with the prunes, skins pricked, added vodka to 3/4 full and topped off with sugar syrup. My husband wanted to make Slivovitz but the grinding of the pits was too much of a deal. So we’re cheating with plum cordial, I figure we’ll get our amygdalin by leaving the prune pits in for the steeping process. ;) You can make cordial out of most fruits, if you have any extra that is…raspberry is my favorite.

      • October 23, 2012 11:09 am

        Could you crack the pits with a hammer? Either way that sounds yummy! The idea of a cordial always makes me think of Anne Of Green Gables…

        • October 23, 2012 11:14 am

          It does sound yummy, but the pesky fermenting and distilling were the next steps, and the fact that I announced that I wasn’t going to make it kinda stopped the project ;) The cordial is pretty easy and it tastes good already! I’ll just stick with the real Serb and the part about build your house where a plum tree will grow well, and sip my cordial :)

  6. October 22, 2012 6:36 pm

    Good weather for kitchen work. Raining outside. Cool weather. Don’t mind being in the kitchen when I’m home.

  7. October 22, 2012 7:06 pm

    I can’t wait till our tree finally produces some! Then we’ll be regular, too. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,008 other followers

