Skip to content

Today

December 18, 2012

Nothing like a fresh blanket of snow to make a Guernsey look a little dingy :(

Oh heck, despite my grumbling about the snow and it’s effect on chore ease on cold, dreary winter days, the snow does kinda dress things up a bit in a holiday way and the dogs like it.

100_3521

100_3527
A close-up of the Jane for you Jane fans.

100_3530
Somehow the snow makes the dogs think they really have to scout the way ahead of the wheelbarrow.  Some ancient Bahou thing no doubt.

100_3539
Hunting for voles is so much more fun in the snow.

100_3541
I don’t know about you, but hunting for celeriac in the snow isn’t all that fun.  Especially after I slipped (in the snow) when kicking myself for not looking closer through the porch stores when I harvested roots yesterday in THE RAIN!  We don’t need no stinkin’ celeriac!

100_3543

But alas, sauerkraut soup is on the menu tonight, so we do need some celeriac in the kitchen.

100_3537

Despite all the slipping and sliding, it is pretty :)

24 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2012 2:43 pm

    that last photo is gorgeous! i wish i has celeriac growing! i do have celery which i love. it is like a million times better than store bought. and we might actually get some snow and cold weather! i am so excited!!!

    • December 19, 2012 6:06 am

      Jaz, it sure does taste better doesn’t it? I think freshness has a lot to do with it too. I’ll send this winter weather your way!

  2. December 18, 2012 2:56 pm

    At least your dogs are outside! First snowfall today – looks about the same amount as you and the mutts just want to stay in!

  3. December 18, 2012 5:17 pm

    It does look beautiful and refreshingly cold, coming from a heat wave in Australia! Love Jane and Love the dogs :)

    • December 19, 2012 6:05 am

      Liz, heat wave, you bad girl! Luckily here it isn’t too cold, right about 32F, when the snow starts falling off the trees I’ll know its warming up :)

  4. Fid permalink
    December 18, 2012 7:45 pm

    Thanks for thinking of us Jane fans!!!

  5. December 18, 2012 8:05 pm

    Okay- I’ll bite. Sauerkraut Soup recipe please. I know there’s a German pickle soup recipe (which I’ve tried and is delicious – not that I actually made it), so Sauerkraut Soup sounds pretty good.

    So recipe, please!

    • December 18, 2012 8:43 pm

      Paula, I’m running out of things to post about so I may take you up on it! It was delicious…burp :0 First you have to get a milk cow…just kidding.

  6. December 18, 2012 8:09 pm

    That last picture is Christmas card pefect! Just beautiful, although I am glad it’s you and not me, I am not overly fond of snow!

    • December 19, 2012 6:03 am

      Claudia, I know, I could do without the snow, really, but it is awfully pretty when the trees are coated.

  7. December 18, 2012 9:30 pm

    That last photo is stunning. Reminds me of my recent trip to Germany.

    Celery grows when it’s snowing? Really?

  8. Mom24boys permalink
    December 18, 2012 9:33 pm

    The snow has been lovely here in South Lane County (Oregon). Our dog reverts to puppy and wants to spend all day dashing through the snow, pouncing, and eating it!

    • December 19, 2012 5:59 am

      Mom24boys, even the horse was plowing snow with his nose and taking bites of snow – brings out the youngsters in them I guess :)

  9. December 18, 2012 11:29 pm

    I found some garlic seeds and bulbs that need planting, first I have to clear our snow!!!!!! I was hoping to escape snow clearing duties today, but not to be.

    Jane does look lovely and no where near as dingy as supposedly white alpacas look against the snow

    • December 19, 2012 6:00 am

      Joanna, it’s like the new baby Herefords – so white when they are new and they fade to a dingy look pretty fast.

  10. December 19, 2012 3:16 am

    Beautiful photos!

    Here in Western Mass we got a dusting and it turned to rain. At 30-34F this meant ice. The tall weeds and grasses were especially pretty with the 1/4″ of ice coating them. Not enough to break trees or take out power, but we did see 2 accidents when out.

    Unlike last year when we had 8″ of snow before Halloween (which then melted and we only had 2 more snowstorms that year), it’s been open and warm, comparatively. I’m hoping we don’t have another open winter. Lot of damage done last year…

    • December 19, 2012 6:00 am

      Pam R, I hear you on open, I like it when we have a snow cover for insulation, makes my job a lot easier! And then there is the mud when the frost goes out, I’ll just take the rain thank you!

  11. December 19, 2012 4:35 am

    Beautiful photos, especially that last one! I tend to think animals look so lovely in the snow, and I had to giggle about the dogs. I can’t believe how many tunnels our golden has made through the yard. She hasn’t told me what she’s looking for yet… :)

    • December 19, 2012 6:02 am

      Amy, I know it’s comical watching them, even the cats were racing around for a few minutes, and then right back to demanding more milk!

  12. December 19, 2012 2:53 pm

    Oh, that last photo is amazing.
    I wish, wish, wish I had access to and funds to buy a huge swath of land to live on. I will someday! I’m planning on it – just have to get the man on board to farm full time….
    We’ve got no snow in Seattle – just lot’s of crazy rain today and WIND!!

  13. December 19, 2012 5:41 pm

    Oh, it’s BEAUTIFUL! Can I tell you how jealous I am?! It’s been like spring out here. The perennial grasses are sending up new shoots (not to mentions the coneflower, garlic, and strawberries).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,038 other followers

