Skip to content

The Grass Will Grow

March 22, 2013

vintage bee  when bees fly.  For that to happen it needs to be around 55°F or a little more preferably.  Since it’s snowing outside today, I don’t think we’ll see much of either activity.  Nor any planting either for that matter.  Snow does make for some nice photographs though, and a good comparison to last year at the beginning of spring.

March 22, 2013

March 22, 2013

March 22, 2012

March 22, 2012

I think I like this year’s small snow storm a little better.

Fordhook Giant chard

Fordhook Giant chard

Hunger Gap kale

Hunger Gap kale

Wild Garden Surprise

Wild Garden Surprise

I snapped a few photos the other day of the greens that came through the winter relatively unscathed.  There were no real surprises, even a mild winter causes quite a bit of rot, so you’ve either got something to work with or mush.  All the Five-color Silverbeet and Bright Lights chard froze out, but the Fordhook Giant  and this unnamed red chard from Wild Garden seed have been troopers.  That’s why I always do my trials side by side so I can really see what does well or not, across the entire season from seed vigor to winter hardiness.  This chard was supposed to be MacGregor’s Favorite beet, but I could tell when it came up that it was something else, that was in ’08.  Since that time I’ve got my real MacGregor’s Favorite from Wild Garden and it’s been true to type.  No harm no foul though, it’s nice to get a mislabeled seed that does so well!

Hunger Gap kale

Hunger Gap kale

Today the greens are wearing a blanket of snow and looking quite succulent with their napini or raab starting to show.

100_4183
Meanwhile we just wait for the snow to melt, and the grass to grow.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2013 12:06 pm

    I am sending Spring thoughts your way! I loved the contrast of the snow and the greens. It’s amazing how nature creates life for all seasons.

  2. March 22, 2013 1:15 pm

    Predicting 5 to 9 inches this weekend for us too! Remember last year when I was picking asparagus this week : (

    • March 22, 2013 1:48 pm

      CQ, I know :( I can’t complain it has been mild here all winter, but still – that taste of 60 degrees a bit a go made me forget winter!

  3. March 22, 2013 2:06 pm

    Our little snow “mist” is lovely up here too. Last year’s storm left behind 18″ here at our place and a good 2+ feet of nice powder up a little higher on the mountain road. Snowshoeing is back on my list of “To Do’s”!

    (Nita… I never heard back from you about my question about meeting up one of these days. I’m afraid that – if you replied – my SPAM filter must have intercepted your message, and now it’s gone for good. My email address is: lunamayah3@gmail.com. Could you please drop me a note directly when you have a moment? It would be nice to hear from you! ~Kathryn)

    • March 22, 2013 2:29 pm

      Kathryn, that’s funny I was just thinking that I hadn’t heard back from you and here you left a message. I’ll resend it, it may be that hotmail garbled it too, they have been switching stuff around :(

      Snow is almost gone now with the faint sun! Yeah!

  4. March 22, 2013 2:21 pm

    Well we’ve just got to love our grass! Snow or no, we’ll wait for it to grow.
    Saw this today and thought you might find it interesting. So much in line with your own intensive grazing practices…the before and after photographs are amazing. http://www.ted.com/talks/allan_savory_how_to_green_the_world_s_deserts_and_reverse_climate_change.html

  5. Theresa Katuski permalink
    March 22, 2013 3:04 pm

    Snow. Sick of it. We have had 260cm snow fall this winter. 8.5 feet!!!!!! Actual accumulation is more like 5 feet. Just enough to make it impossible to go anywhere without snowshoes.

    Wish you were my neighbor MatronofHusbandry, I would sooo love our conversations over coffee.
    Theresa

    • March 23, 2013 5:34 am

      Theresa, that’s awful! I have no right to complain we have hardly had any this year, thank heavens!

  6. March 22, 2013 10:14 pm

    Snow nearly gone! I wish! Ours is almost a solid block of ice now, the good thing is the days are sunny and bright but bitterly cold between -11C and -5C (12F- 23F) most days. I must agree though, it still does look pretty but I want it to go now.

  7. March 23, 2013 9:44 am

    Still snowing over a large part of the UK today with biting East wind; can’t say I’m enjoying this global warming much and neither are the chickens!

    Plus it seems the country is about to run out of gas – what joy, eh? I still have kale and leeks… I just hope I’ll be able to cook them! :-))

    • March 23, 2013 10:25 am

      Carrie, brrr, it has melted here, and I’m tilling in the greenhouse today! It’s cold outside but nice and toasty in there!

  8. Elizabeth permalink
    March 23, 2013 3:02 pm

    How do you like your greens? We LOVE the Fordhook chard and have grown it for many years. We have yet to try Hungergap but it’s on the list for this year. Do you recommend it?

    • March 23, 2013 3:42 pm

      Elizabeth, same here, Fordhook has always been a champ here. Hunger Gap is okay, I tried because it is supposed to have delayed raab production, but it’s coming on at the same time as the the others I have right now. If you’re looking for a good kale, Lacinato Rainbow is the toughest one here, and I mean tough as in hardy and very productive.

      • Elizabeth permalink
        March 24, 2013 6:48 am

        Yup…totally agree. We have grown Lacinato for years as well. We love it for it’s toughness and ability to stay tender and sweet for long into the season. But, I’ve not had great luck in over wintering Lacinato. Seems I have to start a new bed every year. I have a friend who lives just 3 miles from me and she lets her last bit go to seed at the end of the growing season and she gets a nice stand of volunteers every year. Her growing season is longer than ours, too. It’s weird how a small change in location (3 miles to the east in our situation) can make a big difference in growing zones.

        • March 24, 2013 7:57 am

          Elizabeth, it’s a different kale, Lacinato crossed with Redbor which is very hardy, regular old Lacinato craps out here too in the winter most times, if the cold doesn’t get it, the rain does.

  9. Elizabeth permalink
    March 24, 2013 4:52 pm

    Oh, I see now. Lacinato Rainbow! …..(I guess I wasn’t paying attention) Ooooo. I can’t wait to try that one out! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,005 other followers

