Skip to content

Misc Spring Stuff

April 3, 2013

Spring is slowly asserting herself.  We’re still feeding and stockpiling manure and bedding while waiting for the grass to grow enough for the annual transition to grazing.  I have mixed emotions about that.  It’s pretty cozy to walk to the haybarn and do the bedding and feeding chores.  Once I start rotational grazing, I’m back in the saddle of moving fence everyday, no matter what the weather is.  So I’m trying to enjoy the respite – no milking chores, slow garden chores and easing back into full days outside.

IMG_4304

100_4282
Dry garden chores mean leather work shoes, and a welcome relief from Muck boots for at least part of my day.

100_4250

Someone (:P) got a little over zealous broadcasting cover crop rye last fall.  Which translated to “finding” the garlic instead of just weeding, rejuvenating the mulch, and side dressing the garlic row.  Luckily the succulent rye pulls very easy and the garlic is just fine.  Note to self:  No daydreaming while overseeding cover crop!

100_4291
The rhubarb is simply amazing and a true harbinger of spring around here.

100_4300

And last but not least, the final carrot harvest of the season.  Maybe just maybe, I can open up the garden a bit today on this last sunny day we have in the forecast.  Off to check my soil!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2013 8:51 am

    We are grateful for the warmer weather, as that means no more hay feeding for my very allergic hubby. :) We had a really nice streak of dry, sunny weather that sent grass into a frenzy, so we were able to move our Highlands to summer pasture last weekend, at least 2 weeks early. This gives them a little head start before the bull comes on the 13th. But oh, boy, have the garden weeds sprouted! We have work to do there, even though we can’t plant until mid-May at the earliest.

  2. April 3, 2013 8:55 am

    Wow! Our rhubarb is not even peeking out of the ground yet! And we are 22 miles from the Tenn/ky line. Beth

  3. Ben permalink
    April 3, 2013 9:24 am

    What kind of boots do you like?

    • April 3, 2013 10:47 am

      Ben, the jury is out on these new ones still. I did wear the heck out of my Georgias, but they have raised the price and changed the design. The new ones are Chippewa loggers, and Chippewa is made by Justin which is really a great boot company. Comfy and long lasting. The most important thing for me is the leather upper, otherwise I get too hot when they have the poly or goretex liner. I bought mine at Coastal and they are similar to this. I like the false tongue and ankle support.

      http://www.countryoutfitter.com/products/20280-8-redwood-logger-lace-up-boot-l73026

      And my hubby really likes Doc Martens…

      • Ben permalink
        April 3, 2013 11:09 am

        Ever tried Danner?

        • April 3, 2013 1:22 pm

          Ben, I haven’t but my hubby wears Danners at work. He has Quarry this year and they last almost a year, and seem to stay waterproof as long as he religiously oils them once a week, with Huberds Shoe Oil. I don’t need waterproof though so I’ll stick with the under $200 versions.

        • Kristin permalink
          April 3, 2013 3:46 pm

          Ben, I’ve become a huge Danner fan. You can sign up with their Breakroom and get excellent deals on their boots (overstocks & 2nds)….both made in USA (in Portland) and overseas, usually 50% off. My husband loves his. He works on concrete all day.

          I recently got a pair of their LaCrosse brand “muck-style” boots, after my real Muck Boots failed miserably in just 2 months. I love them and they were just $25 including shipping. List is $90.

        • April 3, 2013 7:20 pm

          Kristin, we (Ben and I) are pretty lucky the outlet store is just a short trip to town :)

        • Ben permalink
          April 4, 2013 1:39 pm

          I’ve heard the Chinese made ones don’t hold up as well as the US ones, plus you can get them ‘recrafted’. But at $350 they better last a few years! They do seem a bit ‘heavy’ for wearing during the warmer months. But I guess in the NW they’d work 8 moths out of the year. I’ve yet to buy a pair but I’d like to try a bunch of different brands and see what I like. Does Coastal carry Danner?

        • April 4, 2013 3:55 pm

          Ben, I got three years out of my last Georgia boots, but I only wear them during the dry parts of the day. They were light enough to keep me cool, and heavy enough to withstand all the dirt and tall grass. The cow manure eats the soles though :( I look for the leather upper without a lining first and then go from there for comfort and price, I can’t stand the supposedly breathable Gore-tex it just makes my feet hot and sweaty so I skip any boot with any kind of poly lining. The new Chippewa I just got are comfortable so that’s half the battle, we’ll see how long they last.

          Coastal does have Danner, and Danner’s outlet store is on 120th and Airport Way, and you could check the Boot Barn too in Troutdale, I’m sure they have a good selection.

  4. April 3, 2013 9:42 am

    What’s the difference between the green and orange hay? Do they have different uses? They bale them in circles here, but they seem to leave a lot to go green, and that always confuses me. Dude I miss having rhubarb…my mother hasn’t gardened since we moved hardly.

    • April 3, 2013 10:40 am

      Kerry, the green is hay for feeding and the yellow is the straw for bedding. Straw is usually the stalk from a grain crop after the grain itself is harvested and there isn’t really any feed value in the stalk, but it sure makes a great compost mixed with cow manure. I loves me some good rhubarb sauce and this winter we drank a lot of rhubarb juice on dreary days :)

  5. girlgonegranola permalink
    April 3, 2013 9:44 am

    Rhubarb, dandelions and stinging nettles are the surest signs of Spring!

  6. April 3, 2013 12:51 pm

    I finally planted rhubarb crowns this year. I know I will have to wait until next year to really get a good little harvest but I might steal a couple stalks this year to add to jellies and pies. I don’t know why it took me so long to understand how awesome rhubarb is!!

    • April 3, 2013 1:19 pm

      Lindsey, omgosh, rhubarb is so trouble free once it’s established. You can hardly kill it here, and believe me I’ve tried ;) It sure adds flavor to lots of fruits, although I have never been able to establish a relationship between rhubarb and strawberries that my tastebuds could take. Yeah for rhubarb!

  7. April 3, 2013 1:47 pm

    Heh. I had to “find” the strawberry bed, which was snuggled under a blanket of dandelions.
    A rye cover crop in the garden would have been a great idea; might have kept the buttercups, dandelions, mint and blackberries from taking hold. Another year of good intentions down the drain; maybe this year…Surely This year, things will be under control enough for me to focus on the garden…

    • Elizabeth permalink
      April 5, 2013 8:31 am

      Just a thought- city folk seem to be happy to pay a bunch of $$ for “naturally grown” dandelion greens. So when you pull out all those pesky dandelions, you might think about putting up a table at tomorrows Farmers Market.

  8. April 3, 2013 2:51 pm

    Gorgeous carrots! and I adore rhubarb but no sign of it here yet.. soon though!! c

  9. April 3, 2013 5:30 pm

    It’s been a while since I visited, so I just wanted to pop by and say hi! No garden to report on yet this year… but a new baby boy arrived in October. Hoping to get myself and both boys into the garden soon, if spring will ever make her appearance here in Connecticut.

    • April 3, 2013 7:21 pm

      Abbie, well congrats are in order! We have been basking in a great winter for sure on this side of the country. I hope spring makes its appearance soon for you :)

  10. April 4, 2013 4:43 am

    Here my crocus are just popping through. No rhubarb or asparagus yet. I am having a major case of warm weather envy : )

    • April 4, 2013 5:48 am

      CQ, I think the rhubarb grew 4″ yesterday! Although it’s getting back to normal cool and wet temperatures here this weekend, but the warm weather sure has felt nice :)

  11. April 4, 2013 7:14 am

    Our rhubarb is up but I would like to move it. Am I too late?

  12. April 4, 2013 11:36 am

    When we left Latvia the other day to visit family in the UK it was -18C (0F), so still no thaw for us. Hopefully by the time we get back it will have really melted away and the soil be ready to tackle. Even the storks turned back, it’s too cold up north :(

  13. April 5, 2013 1:38 am

    Huberd’s is the best. First used it on a baseball glove long ago. Soaks in, not greasy, smells decent and leaves the leather soft. Glove is still in service, though not quite as often as it was.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,063 other followers

