Skip to content

Greenhouse Work

April 21, 2013

Have I mentioned before how much I love greenhouse gardening?  A farmstead greenhouse allows me extend the season on both ends.  Right now it is the work season, I am weeding my beds/rows in conditions that remind me of July gardening outside.  Right now I trying to get everything prepped in anticipation of planting warm weather crops in here.

Tomato twine up!

Tomato twine up!

My greenhouse layout consists of six beds the length of the greenhouse with a wide path down the middle and narrower paths between the rows.  (Excuse the crude rendition.)  I have some leeway how I plant with the exception of  rows two and five.  I like using the purlins for my tomato twine, so my indeterminate tomatoes get those rows.  I save the outside rows (one & six) for crops that like a little less heat, onions, coles, potatoes etc.  Rows three and four are great for peppers.
Greenhouse 1

Quackgrass

Quackgrass

Right now I’m treating most of this space to a summer fallow, and getting ahead of the weeds before planting my warm weather crops.  Mostly working on keeping the quackgrass from spreading in from the sidewalls.  I can get mesmerized weeding quackgrass in dry soil.  Crazy I know.  Weeding quackgrass can be purgatory in perennial beds though :(

Mixing potting soil

Mixing potting soil

The seeding and potting on continues.

Filling flats

Filling flats

Mixing the soil in a wheelbarrow and then filling flats really is a time saver and I don’t waste as much potting soil this way.

more starts

more starts

Sunflowers

Sunflowers

100_4494

Garlic chives, Sage

Next post:  what’s actually growing in the greenhouse besides weeds.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2013 11:02 pm

    Another week and we will be back home in Latvia. We have been sent ongoing pictures of the snow melting and it looks like we might be able to get cracking on our planting when we get back. Your post makes me itchy to get going and so it is a good job we are away, so close, but not close enough :)

  2. April 22, 2013 6:44 am

    I envy you your greenhouse:) Do you have a potting soil recipe you would like to share?
    I planted some things on the Easter weekend when it felt like summer. Germination has not been great, although maybe seedlings will be more become more obvious in the warm weather of the next few days. The peas are doing wonderful though, helped out by some narrow strips of sheer fabric that I laid over the rows and the clothes pegged up onto the support wire fence. Usually I lose a lot to birds and maybe slugs, but this year they are all up an inch or two.

    • April 22, 2013 7:41 am

      Wyndson, I know I need to pinch myself from time to time too. I really like the greenhouses.

      I have had varying success with making my own soil mix, and have found it easier to use the premix – Black Gold Organic Potting Soil.

      http://blackgold.bz/black-gold%C2%AE-natural-organic-potting-soil/

      It’s readily available, and easy to store for no more than I need. I do add a little fertilizer to the mix though just to make sure everything gets a good start.

      http://www.ebstone.org/11_sure_start.php

      Congrats on the peas – deer devour them here outside and I haven’t been able to justify greenhouse space for peas. But I miss them :(

  3. April 22, 2013 7:09 am

    Matron,
    Thanks for sharing so many details. We’ve got a hoophouse on order (24 x 60) and though it won’t be up until early summer, I can’t wait to use it!!

  4. Chris permalink
    April 22, 2013 7:38 am

    Great idea filling trays in the wheelbarrow…now why didn’t I think of that?? Duh!! Loved the photo of the lil sunflower seedling….do you grow them for any use besides beauty in the garden? :)

    • April 22, 2013 7:42 am

      Chris, don’t feel bad, I didn’t think of it for quite a while either. No they are just for show.

  5. April 22, 2013 7:58 am

    In NE Texas the weather has been warm enough to plant for a while now. But due to circumstances beyond my control, I had conceded that this year I was not going to get my beloved garden. But an amazing thing happened Saturday and I hope you’ll jump to my blog & read it (not sure if I’m allowed to post links here) Looks like I’ll get my garden this year after all! :)

    ~Taylor-Made Ranch~
    Wolfe City, Texas

  6. May 12, 2013 5:13 pm

    Nita – Not sure where best to ask this… What is the spacing between the bows in your greenhouse? And what did you do for a foundation / site preparation?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,062 other followers

