Skip to content

Chicks and Flowers

May 9, 2013
tags:

In trying to simplify a little this year, I decided to order my chicks at the feed store, rather than buying a large lot and trying to coordinate with others to take the extra.  PITA that is not needed.  Besides supporting the local feed store is not a bad thing.  I’m not much of a shopaholic, but I did buy a few things I didn’t need, but wanted.  Namely dahlia tubers.  Since giving away all my dahlia tubers about 15 years ago, I have missed them off and on.  Not the work of dahlias, mind you, but the look of them.  So yesterday on the way to pick up my chicks, I took a side road to drive past a bouquet sellers farm.  My reasoning was if you sell dahlias you always have too many tubers – they are the zucchini of the flower world.  Sure enough, her sign was out, Dahlia Tubers – $1.00.  I need dahlias like I need a hole in the head, but this gal has a garden I always admire when I drive past, and she keeps a few cows too.  I pulled in the drive and the little sign on the door said Honk, I’m here.  So I honked, I could hear a tractor and a distinctive clacking sound from off in the distance.  Here she came, an 80 year-old woman (just guessing her age) driving a tractor pulling a manure spreader.  She whipped the tractor around the barn and pulled up, and a young fellow with a pitchfork started loading the manure spreader.  She climbed down and came to the house.  Talk about the grass ceiling, this gal never knew a woman couldn’t farm.  My kind of gal.  She quickly showed me the self-serve dahlia tuber area and left me to my own devices, as she had to get back to the barn to haul out the next load of black gold.  Bad idea – I came home with a box of dahlia tubers to go along with my box of chicks :D

Kitties love chicks

Kitties love chicks

I'm mad!

I’m mad! Let me in!

Chicks and beer!

Chicks and beer!

Future egg and compost makers

Future egg and compost makers

Golden Sex-link and Ameraucana pullets

Golden Sex-link and Ameraucana pullets

And just for fun…

Dahlia tubers

Dahlia tubers

Trifolium repens

Trifolium repens

Trifolium pratense

Trifolium pratense

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2013 9:06 am

    I don’t think you will regret the dahlias! I aspire to be just like that 80-year-old woman in about 25 years!

    • May 9, 2013 9:13 am

      SBF, I agree, I can’t wait to plant them, she had some of my old favorites, so I’m really looking forward to that! She is a hoot, she sells Shaklee too, so I’ve been there before and got a first hand tour of her pretty gardens. I hope I’m still kicking like that at 80 :)

  2. May 9, 2013 9:30 am

    Loving your captures – cute baby chicks:)

  3. May 9, 2013 9:41 am

    I was curious where you got the tuber’s from. I live in Sandy and have been dreaming of putting in some dahlias. I also just moved to the area and was told by a friend that you would be a great person to chat with about grazing and gardening. I have three acres and want to make sure I’m treating my limited space well. I mainly have experience in vegetable production but now we raise dairy goats, guinea hogs and birds for eggs and meat. If you’re open to it I wold love to come out and see your place some time. Thanks for the lovely blog it’s very inspiring. I was also wondering what your seedling soil mix recipe is as your starts look very vibrant. I used black gold because we don’t have our own compost yet but was not happy with it. Thanks again, Lili

    • May 9, 2013 9:57 am

      FCF, the dahlias are on Hogan Road, just before you get to Persimmon Golf course or Al’s Garden Center, she’s on the left hand side if you’re heading south from Gresham. If you’re coming from Sandy turn left on Palmquist and follow it west to Hogan, turn left and she’s about a mile or so south of there on Hogan.

      I do use the Black Gold Organic potting soil, with added organic fertilizer. Lately I’ve been adding Sure Start 4-6-2, and it seems to even out the irregularities in this compost based potting soil.

  4. Mich permalink
    May 9, 2013 9:58 am

    That’s my kind of shopping :)

  5. May 9, 2013 10:04 am

    grass ceiling, lol…great phrase!

  6. May 9, 2013 10:19 am

    And I thought I was the only old gray headed woman with a bonnet to match my tractor : )
    A quick hello from Hickery Holler!

  7. Elizabeth permalink
    May 9, 2013 11:10 am

    Ohmygoodness….are those rain drops I see ??? :) (or dew drops?? :( )

    Elizabeth

  8. May 9, 2013 2:10 pm

    I love the Trifolium pratense! It looks so pretty. Does it grow flowers like normal clover does?

    • May 9, 2013 3:51 pm

      Kerry, yes, it’s just the regular red clover in the pasture. We don’t see as many 4 leaves in the red :(

  9. May 9, 2013 10:34 pm

    My neighbors’ cats came to see the chicks and were fascinated. Now that the hens are full grown and have been for several years, they ignore the cats who sit within three feet and never even try to get a hen. I am puzzled as to why the cats don’t try to catch a hen. I suppose my neighbors feed their cats too well.

    The hens and cats live peaceably together.

  10. May 10, 2013 2:20 am

    I see you use the old style hover for the chicks. It’s very similar to ours.

    Cool 4 and 5 leaf clovers. My DH is an ace at finding those.

  11. May 11, 2013 11:41 am

    Have been loving all of your pics. Kitties, chicks & beer :) The dew on the grasses & clover almost got me! It’s so dry up here in our woods and we need rain like you do down there. I would love to get some dahlia bulbs… can you please tell me where to find that awesome woman on her tractor?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 991 other followers

