Skip to content

A Few Garden Pics: Weed Edition

June 28, 2013

This has been a growing season to die for. A dry spring coupled with sporadic rains and warm nights.  Wonderful.  We were caught up on the weeding until it started raining last week.  Now it’s time for another pass.  When we think of weeding we think of rows and the crops.  Some need attention sooner, and some can wait until last.  Last week it was slug patrol, this week it’s weed patrol.  Without further ado, here is the state of the gardens.

the land of milk and potatoes

the land of milk and potatoes

root crops for milk cow

root crops for milk cow – staple garden

sweet corn

sweet corn

main garden

main garden

This garden is a little more diverse than the staple garden that contains large plantings of potatoes, winter squash, shell beans, corn and root crops.  In this garden you’ll find garlic, celeriac, bush beans, pole beans, cauliflower, kale, broccoli, romanesco, cabbage, beets, carrots, lettuce, leeks, onions, shallots, potatoes, herbs, and flowers.

greenhouse

greenhouse

The greenhouse is also a fusion garden of warm season and cool season crops.  Tomatoes, peppers, summer squash, strawberries and melons are at home with onions, cabbage, carrots, beets, kohlrabi, salad mix, salad turnips, bok choi, and herbs.

greenhouse

greenhouse

cabbage - greenhouse

cabbage – greenhouse

third succession bok choi

third succession bok choi

Season extension is the name of the game with a greenhouse, by planting a little of all the crops we love we can get a head start on the gardening season.  This greenhouse has an ongoing symphylan problem in a few spots, so when a tomato succumbed, I cut the mulch and planted a quick succession of Joi Choi in its place.  No sense in crying over spilled milk, one less tomato plant in the scheme of the summer is nothing when I can grow something else in the same space.

fall starts

fall starts

I’m already getting a little wistful about summer being over, and it has just started.  Seeing these fall brassicas getting ready for planting tells me fall will be here before I know it :(  But for now, weeding is on the agenda.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2013 9:39 am

    Beautiful! We have devoted a great deal of time to weeding here lately also. When the rain is plentiful so are the weeds. I have another week or so before I will start my fall crops though. What variety of onion is that in the greenhouse?

    • June 28, 2013 9:53 am

      Once we get past this flush I think we’ll be pretty set except for “recreational” weeding. Once we start cutting hay, I’m AWOL from the garden so it better be in pretty good shape by then :p

      Those are Walla Walla’s and I have a row of keeping onions on the other side of Stuttgarter, Dakota Tears, Copra and some Red Longs, plus more Stuttgarter outside.

  2. June 28, 2013 10:10 am

    I so enjoy your articles! Such inspiration for me to keep on even in my older years! I noticed in the greenhouse that you had some red plastic mulch. Is that the same that I got from a catalog as mulch for tomatoes? They said it would produce more fruit than regular mulch. I only had enough space to try it with one tomato and of course that is not a valid experiment, but from the two tomatoes…one with the red mulch and one with just a little hay mulch, I can not see any differerence in the state of the vines or in the production of the green tomatoes which I have so far. Is your red mulch the same kind as mine…to try to make more production with the rays of the sun that would be reflected? if so, have you found it helpful enough to make us want to buy it for tomatoes instead of using hay mulch? Thanks for your insight which I appreciate immensely because you are telling what you know by experience!
    Sincerely, Sarah from Alabama

    • June 29, 2013 8:09 am

      Sarah, it’s the same mulch, I have my doubts about the enhancement of the crop itself, but it sure helped with the weeds and slugs. Last year I used the red mulch on one row and straw on another. I had slugs and weeds with the straw, as in at least one tomato chomped every day on each plant, and with the red mulch no slug damage. I think it is too hot for them…this year I am using red and green and no straw. The green seems to making more of a difference on the plants themselves and I haven’t seen any slug damage yet, but it’s early – the toms are still green.
      http://www.growerssolution.com/PROD/green-plastic-mulch-1-mil-embossed/greenmulch

  3. Victoria permalink
    June 28, 2013 10:56 am

    Ah, weeding. I’ve been doing a lot of that lately, although the beds which I managed to get a heavy straw mulch on haven’t required much more than a quick check to pull the 2-4 plants that managed to grow through the straw up. I’m definitely going to do a straw mulch again next year.

    What do you do to get rid of slugs? I’ve been using iron phosphate for a couple of years, which works really well as long as I remember to reapply every 2 weeks.

    • June 29, 2013 8:17 am

      I stomp them and then when their comrades show up to eat them I get them too. I just can’t justify much mulch here. The only place I have had slugs so far this year is near my garlic row that is mulched. The hide there and then come out at dusk to dine on veggies. In their defense I have seen them eating weeds too, but after they ate their way through the celeriac and chard I decided to declare war and make a habit of walking the garden with my trusty slug stabber.

      • Victoria permalink
        June 29, 2013 5:16 pm

        Ah. My garden is in a small clearing in the woods (with a nice layer of rotting leaves around), so there are slugs everywhere – I couldn’t get rid of them by stomping if I tried. So I just sprinkle iron phosphate pellets in the beds, which are nontoxic to other critters, but kill the slugs when they try to eat them.

  4. June 28, 2013 12:45 pm

    What a great set up!

  5. Bee permalink
    June 28, 2013 1:25 pm

    Exactly how many gardens do you have, anyway, Nita? Is it two outside and two greenhouses, or am I miscounting?

    • June 28, 2013 2:53 pm

      Bee, yep two outside and two inside, although one greenhouse is in buckwheat right now in prep for fall crops, so that one is kind of on autopilot thank heavens.

  6. TBirdsMomma permalink
    June 28, 2013 4:23 pm

    Up here on Vancouver Island, it’s been slug patrol, slug patrol, slug patrol, weeding, slug patrol… Why can’t the slugs just eat the weeds!? Then we’d all be happy.

    Forecast is for a very sudden 33 degrees (we’re Celsius up here in Canuck-ada) next week, so I guess all my beautifu happy greens will bolt. They have so loved this warm wet spring. Time for me to get my fall flats on the go. You’re way ahead of me. Ack!

    As always, your garden grows glorious! Thanks for the beautiful pics and endless inspiration.

  7. June 28, 2013 11:38 pm

    We went from winter to summer and a dry summer at that, the blessed rains have finally arrived and I just hope that it is in time to get everything growing well before the harvest. A friend of ours was looking at some apples growing on a tree and saying another month before the harvest. Like you, it seems so little time.

  8. June 29, 2013 3:19 am

    Ooh, a greenhouse. Now I’m jealous. ;)

  9. June 29, 2013 9:02 am

    I’m not the best gardener and was having trouble getting *anything* to germinate in the ground. I finally lost my patience and just broadcast my seed instead of rows. “If it grows, it grows, great!” Well….lo and behold everything suddenly germinated and now i have a beautiful but disorderly garden. I have to weed, but it involves sifting through the plants i want to keep and going “yes, this IS a weed! Your garden is so lovely and orderly.

    Was I really supposed to have started my fall brassicas already? crap. excuse me, i have some planting to do.

  10. June 29, 2013 12:28 pm

    It looks WONDERFUL! I am doing a 10-week urban farm apprenticeship, and we have next week off – which means… you guessed it… LOTS of wedding in preparation. And you know all those weeds will be coming right back in when we return!

    I will say, I find weeding to be really relaxing AND satisfying. Happy weeding to you.

  11. July 1, 2013 10:40 am

    so what do you do about cabbage moths?

    • July 1, 2013 11:41 am

      HFS, we don’t really have them too often, they are out there flitting around, but if the brix is high enough they usually leave the plants alone. So far this year things are going good, I have a mixed planting of red, savoy, and green cabbage in the greenhouse. The green cabbage was weak from the get-go, poor germination and weak seedlings, I planted the best of those. The red and savoy were beautiful. Guess who has moth holes? The green guys, they also had root maggots, all these cabbages are in the same row. My kind of science experiment. But that being said, I use BT occasionally, but haven’t had too for some time. I guess if you wanted to deal with it, you could use floating row cover too. That’s kind of the herbicide method if you ask me, if the plants are always covered you never really know if the moths are doing their thing or not. I know you read the article in SGF about the high brix plants being hard for the insects to digest because they have no pancreas…it makes sense to me, the cows know what to eat, why wouldn’t the bugs?

      Funny story: Some fella told me last summer that all the moths were leaving the conventional cabbage farms and coming to his farm to dine on his organic kale. I think actually his kale needed a brix boost myself, but I doubt he would have believed me ;)

      • July 2, 2013 3:41 am

        That makes sense. We normally use DE on our plants when we start seeing green worms but with all the rain…

        I’ll keep working on building soil fertility.

        • July 2, 2013 7:17 am

          Calcium really makes a difference on brassicas, and cow manure of course. I usually top dress with Azomite just to make sure, it kinda covers all the bases.

        • July 2, 2013 7:58 am

          I put down aragonite in the tomato row. I’ll do the same for fall brassicas.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 989 other followers

