Skip to content

Farm Child

November 21, 2013
tags:

EOS_5658
My daughter takes a lot of the photos that appear on the blog.  Some by request and many not.  Most of my photos are photos of cow manure, chicken manure, and grass.  Many times when I am at a loss for words – yes, that does happen on occasion – I only need to peruse the day’s photo file to see the farm through a different set of eyes.  Hers.  She doesn’t appear much on the blog because she doesn’t want her picture posted all over the place.  She was a minor when I started blogging and I chose not to parade her around on the internet because of how I felt about that; it’s one of my biggest pet peeves.  Why do people who say they are shunning the internet due to privacy issues feel the need to plaster said internet with continual photos of their minor children?  I have no problem with people who just post photos and don’t complain about loss of privacy, but really?  I am sure kids love it, but they really don’t have a say.   And that puts me at a loss for words.  So thank you dear daughter – for supplying me with fodder for the blog this week and every week.

Here are some photos from this week:

Red Tail, Americauna, Robin

Red Tail, Ameraucana, Robin

Linden

Linden Tilia platyphyllos

EOS_5547
EOS_5598
EOS_5602

Flour child - baking day

Flour child – baking day

Farm child lunch

Farm child lunch

Napoli

Napoli

warmth in the bank

warmth in the bank

Fiesta cemetery

Fiesta cemetery

28 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2013 9:36 am

    Dern good photos by the farm child.
    Like those manure ones too :)

    farm child food pic arrive just in-time to roll my stomach over w/craving. that kind of food grows good people.

  2. November 21, 2013 9:55 am

    Her photography is lovely!

  3. Dava Serbantes permalink
    November 21, 2013 10:11 am

    She has a great eye for composition. She is a fabulous photographer!

  4. Sabine Wilms permalink
    November 21, 2013 10:15 am

    the dog pictures are so very beautiful! Tell your daughter thanks.

  5. Chris permalink
    November 21, 2013 10:34 am

    Beautiful photos Farm Child and omgawk, what beautiful hair! :)

    • Fid permalink
      November 21, 2013 11:30 am

      Ditto!

    • Jennifer permalink
      November 22, 2013 5:19 pm

      Yes, Farm Child is rockin’ that hippiechick braided bun. I only wish I could do that with my own hair. Her photographic eye is amazing!

  6. November 21, 2013 11:23 am

    As much as I appreciate and look forward to your lucid word wizardry, I always feel a little nourished in a special way after taking in the soul-warming images of your Farm Child’s camera. Thank you both!

  7. Dawn permalink
    November 21, 2013 11:36 am

    I wish you would adopt me, although I am 69, would love to live on your place. Lovely!

  8. Bev permalink
    November 21, 2013 3:43 pm

    Me to, though I am a little older. Beautiful pictures, your daughter is an artist. Feather and egg. Wow! Your faithful side-kicks, the food, the firewood, and the burst of bright color from your Fiesta ware. Pict;ures so fitting for this time of the year. A feast for the eyes. Thank you.
    Oh yes, I agree about the privacy

  9. November 21, 2013 4:26 pm

    She is an excellent photographer, and works wonders with hair!

  10. November 21, 2013 4:36 pm

    Your daughter is a phenomenal photographer and I envy her her amazing talent!

  11. Henny Penny permalink
    November 21, 2013 6:15 pm

    How about a 72 year old? :) Your daughter’s hair is beautiful. How do you do so much work on the farm and have the time to write such a great blog? Do you ever rest?

  12. Catherine permalink
    November 21, 2013 6:28 pm

    Thank you so much for the inspiration.

  13. A.A. permalink
    November 21, 2013 7:06 pm

    Lovely pictures as always! She really manages to fill each frame with beauty and color from corner to corner. We just got the first snow of the year, a bit late but nice, might be here to stay. Dog trailing fox tracks as I walk her, letting her pull. The sun near the horizon makes for such beautiful light this time of the year, when she shows herself.

  14. November 22, 2013 3:19 am

    The photos are so nice, and the love shines though. And, you can add hair envy to my garden & greenhouse envy :D

  15. Britta permalink
    November 22, 2013 7:11 am

    Beautiful hair styling! If she allows (and when the time is right), would you be willing to have her or you write about her future plans? After growing up on the farm, does she plan to stay? Start her own? Go off in an entirely new direction? I admit to being so very curious!

  16. November 22, 2013 9:55 am

    We show the kidlets in some pictures but try to keep the names to ourselves. If we’re going to blog about the farm…they are a part of it.

    I dig the bun. I wonder what that will inspire from our girls. What is her blog nickname again? Ruthless?

    • November 22, 2013 1:18 pm

      HFS, yes, Ruthless because she is a ruthless thinner in the garden,in addition to other areas. I have never once seen you and Julie complain about your privacy though, that’s the difference. I dig that bun too, my hair tends to look more like the dog’s dreadlocks though :(

  17. November 22, 2013 10:37 am

    Love the hair – have a non-kid-related question: Is that pine, stacked up? Can you heat with that? I always thought one couldn’t and now I’m thinking of all the wood we’ve let the tree people haul away. Looks like we made a mistake, there, did we?

    • November 22, 2013 1:21 pm

      Kath, it’s fir, too wet here for true pines.
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas-fir

    • November 22, 2013 4:00 pm

      Kath– It is possible to burn pine, if you give it a couple of seasons to let the sap run out or dry out. If it isn’t dry, the resin in the sap will coat the chimney and you’ll need to clean it out more frequently. One should clean out the chimney often anyway, so just keep an eye on it when burning pine logs.

  18. Jean Curtis permalink
    November 25, 2013 1:28 am

    I love my fiesta! I never thought to do a cemetery. It’s very fiestive.

    • November 25, 2013 5:58 am

      Jean, it lets it “live” on a little, I’m a little sad to see my original cobalt blue nappy out there though :(

  19. November 25, 2013 3:17 pm

    Your daughter out to do a blog post someday soon about her tips on how to take such lovely photos: what camera does she use, etc.? I’d love to learn.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 989 other followers

