Skip to content

Might As Well Face It

April 22, 2014

I’m addicted to deep bedding!

My lights are on, but I’m not home
My mind is not my own.
My heart sweats, my body shakes
Another wheelbarrow is all it takes

hen pecked compost/deep litter

hen pecked compost/deep litter

Thanks girls, oh and the eggs are great too!

Thanks girls, oh and the eggs are great too!

winter feeding shed/deep bedding

winter feeding shed/deep bedding

feeding shed end view

feeding shed end view

 

deep doo doo

deep doo doo

It’s hard not to get excited about all that BS!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2014 9:15 am

    Her methods are inscrutable
    The proof is irrefutable

  2. April 22, 2014 9:22 am

    Do you have a post or series on hoop housing chickens in the winter–also on deep bedding I would suppose. I’m putting up a hoop this spring and am thinking about using for chickens this winter.

    thanks

  3. Chris permalink
    April 22, 2014 10:00 am

    :) Happy Earth Day!

  4. April 22, 2014 10:03 am

    It is great for the winter, but cleaning it all out is such a hard job!.. c

    On Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 12:06 PM, Throwback at Trapper Creek wrote:

    > matronofhusbandry posted: “I’m addicted to deep bedding! My lights are > on, but I’m not home My mind is not my own. My heart sweats, my body shakes > Another wheelbarrow and you’ll be mine It’s hard not to get excited about > all that BS! https:”

    • April 22, 2014 10:08 am

      Yes, I really need to do a post about the strategies for clean out.

      • April 22, 2014 10:39 am

        Just as soon as the fields have grown enough, I will empty the barn of animals and begin.. But it all looks so fluffy and comfy in there – I don’t want to look underneath! Though first I throw inhandfuls of whole corn and get the pigs to turn it over, this helps immensly.. c

  5. Bee permalink
    April 22, 2014 10:04 am

    We must be among the few women (or even people) in the world who do a jig over manure and its secondary stage — compost. I’m gradually getting the granddaughters indoctrinated, however. There are fewer “EWW-W-Ws!” and more “Oh boy, fertilizer!” comments when somebody on the ranch poops or they step in something.

  6. April 22, 2014 12:11 pm

    That’s a crazy version of that song. The Robert Palmer video drove the young me bananas. I desperately tried to date a girl who looked like one of the ladies in the video but she wasn’t having any of it. Sigh.

    It is a little disturbing the amount of time I spend looking at, harvesting and handling animal manure. Look for health of the animal. Plan for health of the soil.

  7. April 23, 2014 10:12 am

    Deep bedding yes, but for me it to has to be shovelled while Tina Turner ramps it up! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=10bIbch7fYg

    • April 23, 2014 10:53 am

      Exactly! What’s love got to do with it? Man that gal can sing! I was wondering if Tina’s version was little too racy for the old blog :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,062 other followers

