Skip to content

St. Patrick’s Day – 1911

March 15, 2008

From the days before email.

These cards are from my aunt to her little brothers, one of whom was my dad.  She was attending high school in Portland.  The postage  was one cent.


Dear brother:  How are you?  I guess you thought I wasn’t going to answer your card.  How are you getting along at school?  I don’t know when I will be home, but will let you know.  Much love,   postmarked Mar 17, 1911

Dear brother:  How are you, no more sleigh riding now, is there?  Your valentine card that you sent me was very pretty.  Well, did you get any whippings from Miss Knapp yet?  I guess you have lots of fun at school.  Are there any wildflowers in bloom yet?  I expect not.  With love,     postmarked Mar 17, 1911

My thanks to my daughter, who dressed up these mouse chewed cards!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2008 11:32 pm

    What great cards. It’s nice to see your mementos of past days on your farm.
    I was just saying to my husband John that, though I’m excessively grateful for our current relatively lovely home, I do love a real farm house.
    The only thing in our house that we can date for sure is an improperly installed 2″x4″ stamped ‘Aug 2007’!
    Happy Green Day to you!

  2. March 17, 2008 11:33 pm

    And thanks for adding me to your list!

  3. matronofhusbandry permalink*
    March 18, 2008 10:50 pm

    Colleen – I like these gentle reminders that someone has been down this well-worn path.
    The old farmhouse is great, except for the energy consumption. We are working at insulating and retrofitting to make it a little more comfortable.
    The date on your 2 x4 will be important in later years, I’m guessing. Nita

  4. March 19, 2008 2:35 am

    LOL! Too true about the importance of the 2×4, Nita. Funny, moments ago I posted something about living in the present and seem to be disregarding my own advice with wild abandon!

    And, yes, one of the reasons our new house is wonderful is it’s (reasonable) energy efficiency.

    I’m truly enjoying your blog.

Leave a Reply

