Skip to content

Dead wood

November 30, 2009

We heat with wood.  So a steady supply is required, and that means we spend some time with cutting, splitting or moving wood each week or so.  If we have pleasant weather, we make wood.   Stuff happens, trees die.  I look for dead or dying trees and make a note of their location for Hangdog.  I spied several the other day near the skid road, so after he finished his plumbing project he cut wood.  And since I felt so sorry for him ;), I offered to haul it in before the jet stream decided to change and send storms our way.  Plus, he was getting dental work done – who wants to haul wood when your mouth hurts?

The dogs love a ride – even if it is from one barn to another.  So a trip down to the landing was a real treat.

The fog rolled in and then out, alternating gray with bright sun.  We caught a glimpse of a Red-tailed hawk hunting in the fog.

After we got into the timber, the sun decided to make its appearance.

There was our woodpile waiting to be hauled.  Cut and split – I got the easy end of the bargain 🙂

Too bad dogs can’t pack wood.

This tree had a good go for about 17 years, and probably lost its top in an ice storm.  It was all downhill after that.

By the time we headed for home the fog had finally cleared.

It’s getting to be that time of year.  Needless to say, I didn’t get much done on my canning list 😦

25 Comments leave one →
  1. sustainableeats permalink
    November 30, 2009 10:14 pm

    That picture of the dogs in the truck is so precious. Nice haul of wood too!

    • December 1, 2009 6:38 am

      SE, the dogs had a blast, sniffing and leaving messages, and jumping in and out of the truck bed. Much more fun than staying home 🙂

      One more load today, and I will have that pile cleaned up!

  2. November 30, 2009 11:03 pm

    Agreed on the doggie ride.

    My son and I are hauling wood all week — from a nice Craigslist offerer — and in a red truck, too. But the cat doesn’t seem to want to go along.

    • December 1, 2009 6:40 am

      Risa b, I doubt our Sylvester would go either – he and dogs have a strained relationship 🙂

  3. December 1, 2009 4:19 am

    I can’t wait to have a woodburner some day – sigh.

    The wood is really pretty, I love the smell of firewood.

    • December 1, 2009 6:41 am

      Susy, you should have smelled the woods themselves – it is just warm enough, low 40’s, to be able to smell all the good smells of the deep woods and the duff. Wonderful – when the dogs got back in the pickup they smelled so good!

  4. December 1, 2009 5:09 am

    My hubby would love to get his hands on some of that wood! He’s a woodturner. 🙂

  5. December 1, 2009 6:26 am

    Wow, fabulous photos! And I am green with wood envy. Once we got the wood stove every stick we see by the side of the road looks like hot showers to us. lol

  6. Claudia permalink
    December 1, 2009 8:40 am

    I am jealous. “They” restrict our usage of wood burning here in the Bay Area of wonderful California. If I only had a wood stove for heat, I would be okay, but my house is rigged with a gas furnace that works so it’s a no go for my fireplace on certain days!

  7. December 1, 2009 8:51 am

    Gorgeous photos!
    We heat 100% with wood. Hubby built a wood stove 25 years ago and it’s moved with us. Still going strong and keeping us warm. He also built us our own wood splitter. Because of health hubby’s heath these days we have a dear friend that brings us trailer loads of wood. My job – stacking it! And I actually enjoy it.

    • December 1, 2009 9:42 pm

      Pamela, that sounds like quite a hubby you have – and a good friend to bring the wood to you. I enjoy stacking the wood too, especially this time of year. A good rick of wood looks as good as a pantry full of canning 🙂

  8. December 1, 2009 3:29 pm

    I just came in from splitting wood. We’re mostly oak & hickory here. What kind of wood is that in the pics?

    • December 1, 2009 9:45 pm

      Spence, sure is the season for firewood isn’t it? We hardly have any hardwoods, our woods here in the rain forest, are mostly Douglas Fir. Burns good though, it’s what we have 🙂

  9. December 1, 2009 3:40 pm

    Beautiful pics ! I got some a little like that when we had haze in our mountains recently.

    We didn’t cut our own wood this year, but had 3 cords of avocado delivered. But we still have to cut it as it is too large for our wood stove. Duane cuts & i stack!

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful pics. 🙂

    • December 1, 2009 9:48 pm

      Kathryn, thank you – avocado sounds so exotic! Your scenery is beautiful too – thanks for stopping by.

  10. December 1, 2009 4:19 pm

    Great pictures!! I’m still chuckling because it looks like your dog is driving the truck, and smiling about it too. It’s not too late to do a bit of canning; my mom and I canned mandarin oranges on Thanksgiving weekend. She got them from a grower in Pennryn – local to her, not me. If you’re up that way, they still have 10lb bags for the next week or so, until they run out.

    • December 1, 2009 9:50 pm

      Conny, he would drive if he could 🙂 With all this nice weather we have been having – I have put my canning aside for awhile. Sounds likea great way to spend Thanksgiving:)

  11. December 1, 2009 6:59 pm

    I envy you your wood source. We’ve been using old cedar posts but they don’t burn near as hot as what you can get.

    • December 1, 2009 9:53 pm

      Linda, LOL there is nothing but trees here practically, you turn your back and trees are sprouting, even in the garden! The fir is nice and hot if the trees are alive when you cut them, this stuff I hauled in the last two days was dead, so not as much pitch. It goes in the stack for cool weather, but not cold. I think we’d freeze at your place!

  12. December 2, 2009 12:15 am

    Oh my gosh, it’s the Dog In The Truck sort of happiness (doesnt get much better than that). I miss wood smoke and the smell of the raw wood. Hey I can stack wood with the best of ’em…good memories! Not much call for burning it here in Fl (sigh)

    🙂 Robbyn

    • December 2, 2009 6:34 am

      Robbyn, they love going in the truck, unless I go past the school house, which means they might be going to the vet! It’s funny they remember the trip to be “tutored.” Even though the girls at the vets office gave them complimentary bandanas they weren’t too pleased to be missing their prunes 😉

      Oh you poor thing, living in the land of citrus! 🙂

  13. December 9, 2009 5:30 pm

    You know, your dogs probably could pack wood if you made them little carrying packs to pull! Incidentally, what kind of dog are yours again; they are extremely beautiful.

    cheers,

    HDR

Leave a Reply

