Skip to content

A quickie :)

December 28, 2009

Just wanted to say HI!  Our sweet little computer came down sick on Christmas Eve with a virus!  All is better now, but what a good way to clear out all those bookmarks I no longer used… .

The spring for the stove arrived in the mail last week, and it fits perfectly.

It got so bad without my being distracted by the computer, I started cleaning house!  Now that is bad, just ask my family 🙂

I hope everyone had a great holiday celebration and that everyone is keeping warm!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 7:36 am

    Glad your computer came back. House work, yuck! Hope you had a good Christmas also!

  2. December 28, 2009 10:12 am

    I’m glad you got a spring…I had been wondering about that.

    I have a gluten-free recipe you might like to try:

    Parboil the gluten-free lasagna noodles. I do this in two batches, five noodles and then four. You don’t have to use gluten-free, but that is what I have to use.)

    Next create a cheese-like layer, much like the ricotta layer in traditional lasagna, I used (from the spunky coconut blog) her “cream sauce” using Cream of Buckwheat, and coconut milk, which is wonderful.

    To make the “cream filling” prepare:
    2 cups of cream of buckwheat hot cereal, using (full fat) coconut milk
    (The directions for two servings on the Pocono Cream of Buckwheat box is equal to two cups cooked.)
    Add to the cream of buckwheat:
    1/2 tsp sea salt
    1/2 tsp garlic powder
    1 tsp Italian Seasoning
    1 tbs ghee
    After it cools, add four eggs.
    Saute 2 peppers and add them to the “cream filling”
    You can add hamburger if you like at this point.

    Use a 5 qt (rectangular) sized Bake for 45 minutes at 350 degrees.
    Allow to rest for 15 minutes before serving.

    We liked it better than the real kind with all they cheese.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    • December 29, 2009 6:24 am

      Linda, that sounds great – I am always on the lookout for new recipes, Thank you!

      The oven door is as good as new 🙂

  3. December 28, 2009 12:36 pm

    Glad to see you had time to take a break from house cleaning to say hello! I hope you all had a great Christmas.

    We bred Joy today!! We’ll try a couple more times with them both before my farmer hauls his bull here for the job!! I give them until the end of Jan or beginning of February before we quit for the winter. Man…what it takes to get a calf!

    • December 29, 2009 6:26 am

      Diane, that’s exciting – hope it takes!!! It can be tough when you involve AI – too many things can be just a little off… . Fingers crossed!

  4. December 28, 2009 1:25 pm

    I wondered if you’d gone off on a cruise or something 😉 I’d hate to be without my social life (the computer) even if it did mean getting my house clean 😛

    • December 29, 2009 6:33 am

      Linda, I wondered if anyone would miss me?? I must correct myself – I am not actually really cleaning house. I am cleaning the last unfinished room in our house, so we can finish it. (Long line of procrastinators…) Anyway, it is stuffed full of furniture that I thought I would refinish and all my trunks of quilts etc. So I am de-cluttering and having fun looking through stuff. And asking myself, “Will I really need to re-cane more chairs, or can I just pass these on to someone who will?” So it’s been fun, and it needs doing.

      I haven’t went off the deep end yet and started really cleaning 🙂

      • Kristen permalink
        December 29, 2009 7:45 am

        Well I missed you!!! 🙂

  5. claudia w permalink
    December 28, 2009 3:08 pm

    Oven door and computer? Plus you cleaned? Great way to start off the new year…

    • December 29, 2009 6:34 am

      Claudia W., yeah it feels pretty good – and at least the snow isn’t 4 feet deep outside like last year!

  6. localnourishment permalink
    December 29, 2009 4:58 am

    Nothing cures winter ennui like a good housecleaning. I tell my daughters that if they are bored or stressed, cleaning house (or even just their rooms) is the best therapy. Sorry to hear about your computer though. Knowing you, it was all thoroughly backed up, right? 😉

    • December 29, 2009 6:38 am

      LN, It does feel good to purge now and then. My daughter has been washing the windows and boy is that a great day brightener on a dreary, cloudy day!!

      He He, backed up – what’s that?? Everything was fine – and luckily a friend is a computer whiz, so he bailed us out, with stern instructions for me to stay off of IE!

      • December 30, 2009 5:42 am

        Since it was a virus (instead of a worm) maybe you should set a bottle of echinacea or elderberry on top of the monitor…just in case.

  7. December 29, 2009 9:04 am

    Wonderful! The arrival of the “spring” improved your life, and your computer required/instituted a clean out: two little things that made your world better. Glad you’re back. Happy New Year.

    • December 30, 2009 7:41 am

      Conny, thanks for the well wishes – cleaning and reorganizing for the new year just seems right! 🙂

  8. Jessika permalink
    December 30, 2009 6:37 am

    Glad your back! We have satellite internet, so if it snows, rains, wind blows hard, or there is an important email–like the buying club submitting their orders—I’ll have no internet! It was during one of those episodes that I finally tamed the laundry beast that had spilled out into the kitchen and had become one of those evil enigmas that was actually making me not want any visitors! I’ve come to the conclusion that unless we all throw away all our clothes except one outfit each, the drying racks and I, just can’t keep up this time of year. Oh how I long for those summer days of sundresses……

    • December 30, 2009 7:39 am

      Jessika, now that we have the computer back I have lost interest, I’m still digging through stuff – like 1911 farm magazines and the like. No fun this weekend though we will be pulling electrical wires and insulating.

Leave a Reply

