Skip to content

Bringing the cows home

January 9, 2010

The wind that I mentioned earlier does actually blow a little at the far end of the farm, and that is where the cows happened to be pastured.  So today, we brought them home.  Or actually we opened the gate, and they headed for home – lickety split!


I just finished grazing the stockpiled grass, and now I have to start feeding hay.  The plan was to haul some hay to the paddock where the cows were going.


You never know when you will need a lookout… .


Or two.

Ruthless and Mel went with the cows through the woods to make sure they stayed out of trouble. ;)  Trace and I stayed and took down all the remaining fence and gathered up the fence energizer, battery, water troughs, and mineral box and met everybody at the other end.  The difference in the weather was sobering.  Ice coating everything – at the house it was much warmer!


They know the way home.


Nice day for a walk, and the cows are much closer now and pastured at the more sheltered part of the farm.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 6:37 am

    Bet they are happy to be out of that wind and cold.

  2. January 9, 2010 7:18 am

    It’s nice when they know where to go…….ours are wanting to come home to but we’re hoping to stay grazing ’til the end of the month.

    • January 9, 2010 10:00 pm

      Linda, I was hoping we could hold out that long, but the last freeze ruined the remaining grass – but it’ll be nice to have them closer.

  3. Alice permalink
    January 9, 2010 8:13 am

    I really appreciate your blog – have looked up info on the chickens, but love reading about it all and seeing the photos.
    I was wondering what kind of meat chickens and laying chickens you prefer to raise.
    Thanks, Alice

    • January 9, 2010 10:11 pm

      Alice, thank you! We like the Cornish X for meat, they grow quickly and if pastured right, they can enjoy good health and are very tasty. People always put them down, but I like them. It would be great if I had the money to spend raising a different bird for meat, but in our experience it takes almost twice the feed and time for a smaller end result. I just don’t have the time or extra funds to do that. Kind of like comparing a horse to a car. Most people think the idea of a slower paced lifestyle sounds great but the reality is most people these days would choose the car because they can’t afford the time it takes to take a buggy to town, nor the upkeep of the horse. (end of rant)

      All the different breeds of laying hens we have raised were all pretty good. I just get hung up on the pretty feathers :) I have to say the last two sets of pullets we raised were very good layers, and they were Sex-Links, another hybrid – but I have 9 young hens right now and I am getting 8 – 9 eggs a day. So they are earning their keep and then some. Hope this helps :)

  4. January 9, 2010 5:38 pm

    I would like to go on that jaunt. We did some pasture changes when I was a kid — but it didn’t amount to much… just a gate and a few hooo haas to get them headed in the right direction. Or maybe a few more hoo haas then that.

    • January 9, 2010 10:12 pm

      Pamela, it was fun, they always take off, and we can’t keep up! A long low Come bosssss always works!

      Hoo Haa!!

  5. sustainableeats permalink
    January 9, 2010 8:34 pm

    I’m going to try the hoo haas on my kids when it’s time to get out the door. Do you think it will work?

  6. January 9, 2010 11:10 pm

    What kind of chickens do you have right now for eggs? I have 2 sexlinks too but I don’t know whose eggs from whose except for the easter egger.

    • January 10, 2010 6:51 am

      SE, I ordered the Golden Sex-links, and the hatchery lost my order so I ended up with Black Star’s which are a black Sex-link. They are beautiful, and are egg laying fools :)

  7. January 10, 2010 6:22 am

    There are plenty of winds here, we could easily run a turbine. Where is all the snow?

  8. January 10, 2010 6:53 am

    Kim, I bet MM could rig a great turbine. I hate to be adding to his list ;)

    The snow is just east of us and all across the US I believe…it appears it has missed us by about 15 miles! I am totally OK with that after last winter!

  9. January 11, 2010 6:58 am

    I loved that you included pictures of your dog helpers. That got me very inspired; I’m writing the farm that raises the dogs I’ll want for my farm, and putting in my order for a pup.

    Hoo haw!

    • January 11, 2010 7:53 am

      Thistledog, how exciting! Our dogs are constant companions – they have a pretty cushy job though. Mainly just lap and watch dogs, with rotational grazing the cows are soooo compliant that the dogs just hunt for field mice while I build fence and move the cows. What a change from my childhood of forcing the cattle everywhere, now they just follow, much easier on all involved!

  10. January 13, 2010 12:43 pm

    The ranchers in our area are now starting to bring in the cows for grazing on the farms. I really like having all the cow personalities hanging around talking to our girls. They like to ride the fence the first couple of days, but after that they settle in.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  11. May 24, 2010 3:10 am

    Love your Aussies! I have a dear 3 1/2 year old Aussie who owns the name Tango. She’d love to live on a farm by has to suffer with a dawn walk around the village and an evening mountain climb. As for herding – basically she herds the children at the beach!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 989 other followers

