Skip to content

A different kind of pot sticker

February 21, 2010

As you can see from my last few posts we are having a bout of dry weather.  Not quite spring yet, but a good time to get some spring projects going.  Even the frogs are stirring a bit.


Cuteness in the compost pile.


I’ve posted a tutorial on starting a new grape vine from a cutting over at Simple-Green-Frugal Co-op today.  I had fun sticking the cuttings, but apparently the dog wasn’t as thrilled.

It's a waste of good sticks if you ask me...

13 Comments leave one →
  1. peacefulacres permalink
    February 21, 2010 11:36 am

    I’m still green with envy! But we’ve had some really beautiful sunshiny days with some BIG melt down! I’m serious when I say you live in a most unique place….that frog is really amazing!

    • peacefulacres permalink
      February 21, 2010 11:39 am

      Opppps forgot to add that I’ve been gifted with The Beautiful Blogger Award and I’m passing it on to you! (these things are sweet and annoying…sorry!)

  2. February 21, 2010 12:14 pm

    ahhhhh, I have frog envy! sigh. ( not to mention sun envy, but let’s not go there!)

    but no complaints – things are ‘stirring into life’ in a different way for me – suddenly I have access to huge amounts of horse manure, more modest amounts of rabbit manure, and… I got me a second hand Gator. Life is good.

  3. February 21, 2010 4:03 pm

    Beautiful frog! And I’m stymied — I’ve been trying to figure out what part of the world you live in and this frog is throwing me off. Can’t be the northeast or mid-Atlantic. Where are you? 🙂

    We planted our peas this weekend too, even though our ground is much colder. For us, it’s more of a gamble, but if they don’t come up we’ll plant at a more normal time next month.

    • February 22, 2010 5:56 am

      Anna, that’s a Pacific Tree frog, and we’re in Oregon on the wet side. The frog has a little propping up because he hangs out in the compost pile and it is covered. So he is pretty toasty. It’s been warm here during the day but freezing each night – much too early for us to plant any garden – we’re still digging roots from the winter garden. Good luck on your peas.

  4. February 21, 2010 4:14 pm

    It would be a waste of a good stick here too says Notshy!

  5. February 22, 2010 5:56 am

    Thanks for the link to the article. We have a couple of bunch grape vines that a previous owner must have planted a long time ago. By the time we got here last spring, they were covered with brush and in lots of shade. They didn’t produce well. I haven’t been able to find anything about transplanting them, so I think making my own cuttings is just the ticket.

    Question. Can I substitute an optional bored cat for the optional bored dog?????

  6. February 22, 2010 8:07 am

    I bet the dog wanted to help you – by pulling out the stick. 🙂

  7. February 22, 2010 9:41 am

    I’m totally jealous! We have 8 stinking inches of snow on the ground! Ugh! Will spring EVER get here?

  8. February 22, 2010 12:02 pm

    Awww, just want to kiss Trace’s soft sweet head! Saw our first anole of the month…we have a few toads reappearing but the tree frogs are awaiting some moisture and mosquitoes before they cling to our windows again and feast. Kaleb sends greetings to his furry Oregon cousins 🙂

  9. February 22, 2010 1:48 pm

    That’s exactly what I wanted to know — thanks for the info! We heard one lone Spring Peeper here this morning before the next wave of winter air hit and all of the frogs dug back down into their mud beds.

  10. February 23, 2010 7:22 am

    I love this frog’s “fingers”. We rarely see tree frogs here. Ours are tiny, tiny- but they have similar fingers.

  11. Regina permalink
    February 24, 2010 8:14 am

    Thanks, I have two grape vines I’d like to propagate and now I know how. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

