Skip to content

Pretty boring

March 17, 2010

I realize how boring our farm life is when I read other blogs.  The “lifestyle” is not new to us, it is what it is.   Nothing to write eloquently about, (as if) nor anything worth ranting or whining about.  The last few days in pictures… .

Shedding milk cow.

A different kind of shedding.  Still feeding in the hay shed, gathering manure and waiting for the grass to grow.

Good dog, gone bad, still a glove klepto!

Remorseful, kind of.

Scratch and sniff, err, I mean quality control.

Heating with wood is hard work.

Soon to be applesauce cake.

Music garlic.

Homestead rhubarb.


Over-wintered Wild Garden Kale, leaves all winter, now “broccolini.”  Thanks Frank Morton.

35 Comments leave one →
  1. Rita permalink
    March 17, 2010 7:30 am

    Excuse me? Boring? Your blog is the most interesting thing I read, and I read alot (it helps that the Pacific Northwest is my favorite place). This city girl wants you to continue forever, and ever. I’ve got kids who want to do what you do, and I want them to do it. Not boring at all even though you are near Boring.

  2. March 17, 2010 7:31 am

    I had a farmer friend visiting the other day and when she saw my flowering over-wintered kale, she said, “You know, I sell those at the farmers’ market,” from the sound of her voice I could tell she meant, “for a pretty penny.” Better go eat them up!

  3. March 17, 2010 7:31 am

    I LOVE your blog! It is not boring to me at all. What it is is authentic, so please continue to post just as you have been.
    I grew up in this lifestyle, so to see you living it still is a comfort to me; even as I wish I could return to it.
    Great job. Happy almost Spring!

  4. March 17, 2010 7:35 am

    Nice pictures! Heating with wood is hard work!
    Very beautiful dog. Funny glove klepto!
    Nice looking cows. We would so love just one milk cow!
    My garden is a bit behind your’s. No rhubarb up yet.

  5. Renee permalink
    March 17, 2010 7:38 am

    Are you kidding…boring…your blog is not boring…it is inspiring..we live in a neighborhood in a city on a little less than an acre of land in south Mississippi…we have 8 hens…..working on having a 4 season garden…my husband grows oyster mushrooms….he just got 2 lbs of worms for their casing and at some point latter to feed to the chickens…he has started to grow the chickens food…we own a share in 8 dairy cows..he makes bread, butter, cheese…we hang our clothes on the line to dry….you inspire us….

  6. Marlene permalink
    March 17, 2010 7:58 am

    Hi there,
    Please,please do not ever think your blog is boring. I have read and read your postings everyday. I look forward to learning and watching what you do. Maybe to you it is boring but what is boring is when they (other blogs) write about things that they no nothing about but try to look good. Eventually it catches up to them. Hang in there, your days will lighten up soon and you will be inspired again.

    Thank you for who you are and keep up the great postings. Never give up.

  7. March 17, 2010 8:02 am

    not boring at all! and thank u 4 not whining! i don’t see boredom or dullness. i see peace. (sorry 4 the one-handed typing)

  8. March 17, 2010 8:13 am

    Boy, it’s not boring to me at all! The “lifestyle” is really new to me, and I have found all of your postings interesting, and many of them very thought provoking.

    One of the aspects of my new rural life, that’s very different from my old city/professional life, is that the busy days seem to have a natural, sweet flow to them – which may appear boring to outsiders, but is one of the best things about this life to me.

    Thank you for sharing all your expertise, and for all the pictures of Aussies!

  9. March 17, 2010 8:24 am

    Love your blog and all you write about. Your seasoned and not as excitable as all us newbies. You share lots of great knowledge and your kiddo takes so great pics.
    Love everything about you Nita…..so does MM. He only peeps in on one other blog besisdes yours and he goes to yours first. BTW, please wish your hubby a belated happy birthday!

  10. March 17, 2010 8:36 am

    At least you don’t live in Boring! I like your blog. Maybe your life is boring to you, but it’s to what I aspire! Probably won’t ever do cows, tho’.

  11. March 17, 2010 8:54 am

    Listen to your readers! Your blog is fantastic because you actually know what you’re talking about.

  12. March 17, 2010 9:02 am

    Joining in the chorus line “NOT boring!”

    The sense of calm and continuity and meaning is so lacking in modern life. My old life was so frazzled by fake drama (fake, but hugely job/life impacting), fake goals, disruption and chaos.

    I’m not good at this new life yet. Can only work maybe an hour or two at a time (but 2X a day!) but will get stronger/healthier/better at it as time goes on.

    Noticed yesterday – again – just how happy I am. And “nothing is happening” here, either. Only life itself, and who wants more? Boring? Sauce it with redwinged blackbirds and the smell of spring, and I’ll take it any day!

  13. March 17, 2010 9:25 am

    What is mundane to us is interesting to those who only dream about it.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/

    P.S. I love your blog.

  14. March 17, 2010 10:04 am

    But ‘boring’ is the best part about it! It may seem boring to some, but not to those who like the country/farm/quaint lifestyle.

    My life, to some, seems crazy….like I live in a shell….but I wouldn’t have it any other way!

  15. Laura Puffenbarger permalink
    March 17, 2010 10:08 am

    I don’t think your life is boring at all! Not to me anyway! 🙂

  16. March 17, 2010 10:21 am

    I know what you mean, but the others are right. It’s just living to us, but to others who are just getting started it’s valuable information, so keep it up! 🙂

  17. March 17, 2010 10:29 am

    FWIW, your photos illustrating day to day life are more informative than the most “eloquent” podium farmers.

    So I hope you won’t mind me copying your style, if I can just remember to carry a camera…

    :^)

  18. Tammy permalink
    March 17, 2010 10:45 am

    Routine……….not boring. Routine on a farm is a blessing! It’s the unexpected that might make a good story, but routine is better than a good story any day! 😉

    Tammy

  19. March 17, 2010 11:45 am

    Same here. Linda is right. It’s fascinating to me as I grew up in the burbs and was used to convenience. Working on rectifying that though.

  20. representative permalink
    March 17, 2010 12:11 pm

    I love your blog!

  21. March 17, 2010 2:18 pm

    Are you OK? In a funk? Fishing for compliments? I don’t believe for one second that you are in any way discontented with your life. I guess we all have those days when we are bored to tears with ourselves, but surely you know (because all these people are telling you) that you rock! In my pretend life (as opposed to real life) you are my best friend and my life is better for “knowing” you. 🙂

    • March 17, 2010 3:02 pm

      Shannon, kind of in a funk in the blog world, but no, not discontented in my real life or fishing for compliments. I just do really lead a boring life (by choice). I used to write for a co-op blog called not dabbling in normal. I had to quit when I realized my normal is so different than most folks, I just couldn’t be excited about hanging my clothes out to dry or be bothered by dispatching a chicken for dinner, or killing every slug and bug that came my way.

      Thanks, for the pick-me-up! All my readers rock my world!

  22. March 17, 2010 3:50 pm

    I don’t know which is worse…..we’ve got a boot klepto.

  23. Jessika permalink
    March 17, 2010 4:24 pm

    It comes and goes doesn’t it? I could use a little boring! I imagine when my kids are grown and I have my farm set up just how I want it I might feel bored some day too. You have a wonderful blog, I enjoy it so much. Thank you.

  24. March 17, 2010 6:13 pm

    I always enjoy stopping by to see what’s up in your world. It might seem routine to you, but it looks like a slice of Heaven after I drive home through the congestion on the highway!
    Your photo of the “glove thief” are so sweet!
    🙂

  25. March 17, 2010 6:50 pm

    Pretty much what everyone else has said, along with a big thank you for all those for great recipes (totally addicted to your sourdough muffins) and canning inspirations. And I NEVER get tired of looking at those gorgeous dogs of yours!

    PS Does anyone get excited about hanging the clothes out to dry??? :*)

  26. Kristin permalink
    March 17, 2010 7:54 pm

    Your blog is as far from boring as it gets! “Fascinating” might be a better appellation. When I read your posts I’m filled with an uplifting look into a world I’ll never get to experience. It may seem mundane to you, but to those of us living in suburbia with (much beloved) husbands with asthma and allergies that prohibit ever keeping livestock let alone moving to a more rural setting… well, a glimpse into your daily life is what we really need. Thank you for your blog.

  27. March 17, 2010 9:03 pm

    I know what you mean. Our six year old daughter told me this morning that, “I’m nice…”, but apparently, “…I don’t go out much.” This coming from the same girl who wants us to have a farm. We’ve barely gotten a start on chickens and fruit trees – but apparently ho-hum now and we’re kind of boring too. Who else is going to build the farm, if we don’t?

    I realised not long afterwards, that what we’re doing now is for us more than anyone. It’s personal and not everyone is going to rave about it – including our beloved daughter. 😉

    I really appreciated your post on organic pasture, as this is something I want to look into in future. I would like to have a cow or goats for milk at some point – but probably not for a few years. This life is slow to progress, especially when you’re starting from scratch.

    Anyway, I know what you’re saying. 🙂

  28. March 18, 2010 12:19 am

    The thing which always fascinates me about reading blogs is what people think is “normal” and rather humdrum to them is anything but to anyone else. I don’t really think about my life as being particularly exciting – soapmaking, yeah, whee – but other people’s lives always seem so much more interesting than our own, and sometimes it’s rather inspiring to see how one’s everyday tasks can take on a new light through the wonder of a stranger’s eyes.

    Keep on with it – you manage to make even rutabagas very interesting!

  29. March 18, 2010 6:43 am

    It’s only boring to you because it’s your life. I know this because living on one income raising and homeschooling six kids, I get “Wow! I’ll bet YOUR life is interesting!” all the time but it never really is. It’s…life. One day, one job, one meal, one lesson, one tiny reward at a time. My life is painfully boring, but others (especially girls in their early 20’s) seem to think I wear a cape and have a secret identity.

    Not.

    But in my book, you do! You always are doing something cool. Like using that round rake-y thing to brush the shedding cows! COOL!! 😀

  30. candace permalink
    March 18, 2010 8:16 am

    Your hay looks really good.
    What kind of dogs do you have, are they English Shephards? The are so pretty!
    Thanks.

  31. March 19, 2010 4:16 am

    Boring?

    Your blog is so boring that I think I have read almost every post you have written.

    So boring that we have been using the wonderful cottonwood balm you encouraged us (via your tutorial) to make for almost a year now…it’s almost time for a new batch.

    So boring that my basement is full of purple viking potatoes because you suggested that they are good storage spuds…we love them and they are now one of our favorites.

    So extremely boring that we will be growing Melissa cabbage in our garden this year…because you are fond of it.

    So absolutely boring that we are feeding our dog foods that I would have never thought of based on seeing what your dogs eat and the recipe ideas you sent me. Our puppy is thriving, you would be proud. Oh, and you really do have beautiful dogs with huge personalities.:)

    And the list goes on…boring? Not hardly.:)

  32. March 20, 2010 9:57 pm

    Your blog is one of my all time favorite. It’s pretty to look at, easy to read (you are quite articulate), & you’re not only living the life I dream of but you are well versed in it & knowlegable about it! I learn so very much from you.

    But, all that being said, I do know exactly how it feels sometimes when comparing your blog to others’! I do the same thing. :p

  33. March 21, 2010 8:27 pm

    Yep, yours is the most interesting compared to my cow-less life, though Kaleb keeps it fun 🙂 LOVE the pics of Trace!

Leave a Reply

