Skip to content

Enjoying the farm

March 21, 2010

Wild cow.

She’s pretty demanding, slapping my leg with her tail is her signal that she wants her tail itched.  Kinda hard to reach when you’re pregnant.  The cow equivalent to tying your shoes when your 8 months along.

Self-grooming Aussie.

Luckily Trace isn’t too high maintenance, he scratches his own back.

Afternoon break and cow check.

I like to take a little time to stop and smell the, err, roses… .  But to do that, I have to make up recipes that don’t keep me in the kitchen.
I posted my super, simple, Farmhouse Potato salad recipe over at Simple-Green-Frugal Co-op today.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 7:37 am

    What a life for cows, dogs and humans! – Margy

  2. March 21, 2010 7:53 am

    I have been reading your blog for a few months now and I LOVE it. We just moved to a little 5+acre farm here in rural Kansas and I’m finding all kinds of helpful advice and great ideas here. I love this post about your cow…we’re hoping to get a couple of calves one day but not sure if it will be this year. I love the Pacific Northwest…I moved here from British Columbia. I don’t miss the snow though…the little ski village I lived in got 40-60 feet of snowfall per winter. At my age that’s not fun anymore! Anyway…thanks for the great entertainment and ideas. I hope you’ll stop by one day and visit my blog (just started about a month ago) when you get time from all your chores! Take care Maura Lilac Lane Cottage

  3. March 21, 2010 7:55 am

    Just wanted to say how much I enjoy your posts! They keep me inspired as I am just beginning my own homesteading adventure. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 Melissa

  4. March 21, 2010 11:20 am

    Love the blog and adore the dogs. As a child we had English Shepherds named Patrick and Penny. What a wonderful breed of dogs they were. Everything you could want ina family/farm dog : )

  5. March 21, 2010 2:39 pm

    Your cows look as spoiled as mine. My 13-year-old ox loves to have his rump scratched. He doesn’t even has a pregnant belly as an excuse for not reaching.

  6. March 21, 2010 8:28 pm

    So fun to see all out in the sun enjoying things 🙂

  7. March 22, 2010 8:00 pm

    What a great perspective! I really liked that first photo of Della from your spot behind her, her ear cocked toward you, her tail switching your leg like all the world is that little cow herd, you and her and the steers and dogs, and such a convivial relationship with the opposable thumbed-one that can scratch an old girl’s tail and make a sunny pasture all that more comfortable…

    Enjoyment, pure and simple. I got a whiff – many thanks for posting that.

  8. March 23, 2010 11:33 am

    Isn’t it amazing that if you really listen and pay attention the animals are talking to you (us)!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

