Skip to content

Happy Easter

April 4, 2010

I was going to post a lovely vintage Easter postcard today – but alas the scanner is being obstinate.  About like dealing with a cow who won’t let her milk down!

So Happy Easter to all, and if you’re wondering why the photo is of Kale, check out my post at Simple-Green-Frugal Co-op about why I am a lazy preserver these days.’

Wild Garden, Winterbor, and Redbor Kales.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 10:22 am

    Happy Easter!

  2. April 4, 2010 10:24 am

    Happy Easter!
    And I love the photo, such wonderful colors

  3. April 4, 2010 11:48 am

    Happy Easter to you and your family!

  4. April 4, 2010 3:44 pm

    I love the picture! Happy Easter.

  5. sustainableeats permalink
    April 6, 2010 7:41 pm

    I’ll take your lovely shot of kale over a card. 🙂

  6. April 20, 2010 11:44 am

    I don’t know if you have time to entertain random questions, but seeing this photo and a similar one on your post at Simple-Green-Frugal, I’m wondering about cabbage that has gone to seed. I overwintered some cabbage in my garden (thanks for that idea!) and it’s now going to seed (which I plan to save)…but it looks so much like broccoli now that I’m wondering…can I just eat that like raab or? I’d appreciate your input if you have the time. If not, I already get tons of ideas from your writing, so thanks for that!

    • April 20, 2010 1:42 pm

      MM, I think rapini is the term for the flower stalks of any brassica type plant. They are all delicious! Since I started overwintering kale, etc., I haven’t worried about spring broccoli. Just snap off the tender shoots, great raw or they can be cooked anyway you like, blanched, braised, stir-fry…

      I don’t want to discourage your seed saving, but cabbage lines really lose vigor fast without lots of plants (50 or so) for crossing. They also freely cross with some of the other brassicas. But if you have the time and don’t care what the outcome will be, by all means save the seeds, you may come up with something you like and for sure it will be edible, just maybe not like the parent 🙂

      • April 21, 2010 5:15 am

        Thanks so much for taking the time to reply. I had not considered the long-term vigor of the cabbage in my plans for seed saving (I only have about 10 plants and it was more happenstance rather than a “plan”). That’s an important consideration, so thanks for pointing that out. I’m thinking that these fellows will serve us best on the table. By the way, I love your blog! It’s been a great source of inspiration and instruction.

Leave a Reply

