Skip to content

When life gives you lemons

April 18, 2010

Stuff happens…I am posting over at Simple-Green-Frugal- Co-op today.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 9:04 am

    Hello…sorry to hear about your husband…I’m not sure if this is something recent or if this is just something you’re posting about now. My DH as problems with his ‘innerds’ too but has not been diagnosed with anything…yet. I hope you post more on this as I’m sure there are a lot of people who could use your information. Love the ‘cow patty’ pic! Have a nice Sunday…Maura

  2. April 18, 2010 9:54 am

    What a beautiful sight – the aftermath of good grassy means, and the future for dung bettle familys all over your fields. The grass is beautiful!

  3. April 19, 2010 10:55 am

    Sorry to hear about your husband. I’m glad that you are moving forward with a positive mind. We can’t control some of life’s unexpected situation but we can sure try like hell to make the best/most of it.

  4. April 20, 2010 6:34 am

    Same goes here. It’s not easy, but we’ve adjusted our lives for each individual needs. Folks can’t understand why we don’t eat very many tomatoes….it’s not by choice, it’s by need. Rice is one of our staples too….yeah, not very local! I’d probably do better off the night shades too, but I do love them. So I grow a few for me. Ferments for me, but not for DH. Carrots are a go for everyone so we plant lots of carrots and beets. No easy one dish meals here. But my meals are still simply real foods! Thanks for helping me keep my focus as I plant the foods we eat, not the foods everyone else eats.

    Hope things have warmed up for you. Weather here has been glorious! Except for the pollen count!

  5. April 20, 2010 1:23 pm

    As you know we just found out after years and years and years of traveling down wrong paths, just what was wrong with Terry. We have been on a gluten free diet now for a year and 2 months. He has changed so much, he has more energy now at 65 than he did at 55. Yes we had to move to different flours and I had to learn to cook differenlty. But I’ve reached a place whereby I can experiment with old recipes using my new flours.

    I’m glad for your husband and for you, you now, know.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/

  6. April 22, 2010 11:45 am

    What are those yellow bugs Nita? We have some on a pile of pig poo the other day and I told MM that I had just seen a picture of them here on your blog. Too Funny!

  7. Nancy permalink
    June 18, 2010 6:04 am

    Just found your blog, it is great. Wow, so sorry about your husband. My husband dx’d with ulcerative colitis 20 years ago, I am still learning. Your grace in facing the differing food prep needs is admirable. I went through a long period of feeling sorry for myself feeding different meals to my sons, husband and myself. Not like Ma did in Little House! Food gathering and prep is such a large part of my life, I have started looking at it almost as a spiritual path (only on some days LOL). Keep learning, broths are good, soups are good (green soup recipe in Love Soup book is great minus potatoes for your husband)also fresh juices without pulp can be healing. Adrenals and thyroid very important to look at. Work with what his system tolerates and build from there. Love your blog, read the whole Little House series to my kids, my son (now 20) cried at age 4 when I finished Farmer Boy. Homeschooled both boys. Wanted to do it on a farm, had to settle for suburbia. I must have been a farmer in another life!

Leave a Reply

