Skip to content

Chick list

April 26, 2010


It’s that time of year – the rhubarb needs to be harvested and I have to go over my to-do list for chick arrival this week.

Broiler mash

Order chicks.

Order broiler mash.

#1 grit

Check heat lamps, purchase extra just in case.

Wash feeders, waterers.

Put down fresh bedding
.

Wait for chicks.

Looking back this list is the same as last year.   And Oh yeah, Della is making bag… 🙂

24 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 7:31 pm

    Do you mix your own broiler mash? Is this what you start them on?

    • April 26, 2010 9:12 pm

      Chris, no I bought this, but it is similar to what we used to make up ourselves. I’m not too happy about the sunflower seeds for the new babies, but if they don’t eat them at first, it’s not that important, I will just sort them out and feed them to my hens.

      They will eat this all the way through to processing.

  2. April 26, 2010 7:56 pm

    How do you get your birds to eat the finer particles of their mash? Mine refuse to eat these parts unless I add a tasty fluid (whey, pasta water etc).

  3. April 26, 2010 9:19 pm

    ET, we never have had much trouble getting them to eat the fines, and I make sure they do though, since that is where the minerals are.

    The photo was taken when I first opened a bag, and the larger pieces had floated to the top, as I emptied the bags, the feed looked more like I was expecting.

    I skipped a year with this mill though, and my birds did not grow as well last year. I was happy with this mill’s feed before, it was just cost prohibitive. But the missed pounds of meat with a extruded feed product cost me – now this is a little different than the feed from two years ago. I am hoping for better results this time.

  4. April 26, 2010 10:25 pm

    I keep going back and forth on keeping chickens – it’s seen as being a “real” self-sufficient person to have chickens, even just for the eggs, but man I HATE plucking and dressing chickens. I’ve dealt with chickens before and I remember the mess, the squabbling, and trying to catch escaping hens is almost as bad as catching escaped piglets. Between the dog and the sprog I don’t think any hens I’d have would have any peace! So I will live vicariously through your chicken-rearing.

    • April 27, 2010 5:12 am

      Rose, probably a good idea (to live vicariously I mean) chickens can be a pain, and they are not cheap. Perfect setting: Idyllic farm where chickens can free range for almost all their food, stay safe, and lay their eggs where you want. They live and lay forever and you never have to chase them. I strongly disliked moving chickens from winter to summer housing, and the reverse. You just can’t cajole them into doing what you want 😦 like other farm animals!

  5. April 26, 2010 10:57 pm

    From one Matron to another…your rhubarb looks great! I have so much of it that I am always looking for different things to do with it. This time of year it is full of juice, so after cooking in the microwave – I make rhubarb bucks fizz with the juice – just sparkling wine and rhubarb juice! cheers!

    • April 27, 2010 5:13 am

      Matron, thanks it is juicy isn’t it! I made juice the last few years and it was delicious. Your concoction sounds good 🙂

  6. April 27, 2010 3:24 am

    What do you do for milk during the time that Della is dry? Do you freeze milk to save for the dry spell? Just curious.

    • April 27, 2010 5:15 am

      Mermaid, I freeze as much as I have room for and the same with butter. I am out of milk though, but no one here really likes store milk. So we just wait 😦

  7. Kristen permalink
    April 27, 2010 3:28 am

    Hey Nita 🙂 I have a Rhubarb question for you…..my rhubarb shot out a tall flower head…is this normal?

    • April 27, 2010 5:18 am

      Kristen, yeah it is normal, some varieties bolt sooner than others. It could mean stress, or crowding. Just break that stalk off, and any other seed stalks that appear. My old variety is notorious for that, but I have never seen the newer one ever put up a seed stalk. 🙂

  8. Marcia/WY permalink
    April 27, 2010 5:00 am

    It sound like lots of babies are in your near future – only one for Della though! We have eggs in the incubator – 30 meat and 10 egg – due to hatch in less than 2 weeks…and 4 new baby barn kittens – oh spring!

  9. April 27, 2010 5:19 am

    MarciaWY, sounds like you have been busy! I am jealous of your kitties! Ours have all ended up as bobcat snacks 😦

  10. April 27, 2010 6:00 am

    My rhubarb is barely showing yet but I’ve a craving looking at yours.

  11. April 27, 2010 6:06 am

    I’m so annoyed… we planted some rhubarb this year and something dug it up and ate it!

  12. April 27, 2010 7:01 am

    FD: Oh, if you were nearby you could come dig up some of ours! We are swimming in the stuff.

  13. April 27, 2010 2:21 pm

    My rhubarb is still just two tiny stalks with baby leaves. But at least the root still seems to be alive. I will just have to wait for it to get going, maybe by next year. – Margy

  14. April 27, 2010 3:29 pm

    I miss letting chickens free range, but my dogs seems to like them and they don’t seem to understand the concept of fence. Now, they are in a large building/pen, but it is not the same. The only one free ranging is the rooster that killed my other rooster and attacked me. He’ll be lucky not to go when my sister processes her chickens.

  15. April 27, 2010 10:07 pm

    Ah, I hope to see lots of photos of the wee chicklets. Yet again, I will be living vicariously through your posts. Hope they arrive healthy. Did you order they same types/breeds as in the past?

    Hope Della is feeling well. Or should I say good? I can never remember.

  16. dibear permalink
    April 28, 2010 4:25 am

    We have three baby rhubarb plants to set out. I hope to get a nice harvest next year.

  17. April 28, 2010 5:20 am

    I love rhubarb! Do you grow herbs? You might like this giveaway; http://prairiemother-prairiemother.blogspot.com/2010/04/good-herb-book-giveaway.html

  18. Jana permalink
    May 5, 2010 6:38 am

    May I ask what mill you are using for feed?

Leave a Reply

