Skip to content

On a lighter note

May 4, 2010

Cold and snowy this morning, wettest April on record, just biding time and waiting for things to warm up.  Here are some photos of the last week.


Trace sitting on the couch watching the Kentucky Derby.  I have been cheating on him and looking at his siblings each week.


Annual Rye cover crop in the section of the garden that will be fallow this year.


Annual Rye grazed in the part of the garden I will plant this year.

The motley crew – tapping their hooves waiting for someone to quit taking pictures and come do a paddock shift.  I’m looking at the black sky to the west and ignoring them…


Queen D tethered in the orchard.


Who’s in there???

The boys helping Dad dismantle Greenhouse 1, or Dawgzall.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 7:30 pm

    Please… I beg you… do not send the snow here. Please. You seem like a reasonable woman…

  2. May 5, 2010 2:42 am

    I always love your “photo essays”. The pictures are so real, it’s almost like being there! Just beautiful, even though I know you want the sky to clear up!

  3. May 5, 2010 4:44 am

    You can send the snow here… just make sure it melts on the way. 😛 I’d love some more rain before the heat of summer hits.

  4. May 5, 2010 4:56 am

    Love the dogs. Queen D is looking rather stout.

    • May 5, 2010 11:58 am

      Gina, crazy dog boys is all I can say! Queen D has got quite a bun in the oven – I wish the baking time was done!

  5. May 5, 2010 9:09 am

    No snow please….no snow. Your farm is just lovely and Ienjoyed watching the dogs help tear down the greenhouse.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    • May 5, 2010 12:00 pm

      Linda, Gosh, I hope you’re out of the cool weather with your crops going in – I don’t mind the rain so much but we’re about 10F cooler than normal – sure slows things down!

      The dogs are good “helpers” lots of being in the way, trudging and kisses!

  6. May 5, 2010 10:48 am

    Trace has a very sweet face. We had to put our thirteen year old furry gentleman friend down last week, so it’s nice to see other folks’ buddies. Like the ‘dawgzall’.

    We had a cold spring last year, although I think this year is actually cooler. I sure hope it doesn’t mean that this summer is going to be hotter than last summer!

    • May 5, 2010 12:02 pm

      Paula, so sorry about your boy – even though we know the time will come it is never easy.

      I just would like a week of dry weather and then some more rain – pretty please…

  7. May 5, 2010 11:08 am

    Simply great pictures!
    Are you getting another dog?

    • May 5, 2010 11:54 am

      YDavis, thanks – we thought we would get another pup from this breeder by the time Trace was 3, but I just couldn’t bring myself to get a puppy yet – too soon. But we sure like to look!

  8. May 5, 2010 2:42 pm

    Try sending that rain here – we’ve got nothing but dry this year. Maybe a third of the predicted rains have shown up, and then were light. We keep getting by-passed and it’s fast becoming way too much of a good thing…

    sure was a relief when I was avoiding scab, but right now I’ll take my chances.

  9. May 5, 2010 7:26 pm

    I love the pictures. Your pastures look so nice and green. How much longer until Queen D’s baby makes an appearance?

    • May 5, 2010 9:21 pm

      Teresa, if it would warm up, the grass would really take off – but it’s snowing right now… 😦

      Della’s due date is officially the 15th – she usually goes past her due date…very kicky calf, it’s getting ready!

      • May 6, 2010 3:19 pm

        I hope the calf makes a healthy appearance. We just finished our calving season successfully!

  10. May 6, 2010 6:26 am

    Oh, wow is Trace ever the gorgeous guy (and Melvin, too)! His siblings are no slouches, either 🙂 Whoa Della…I remember feeling at month 9 about how she looks. Love the photos, always. Maybe that’s what I should call our bermuda…the cover crop, ha! Can’t believe you’re having cold…we just hit the 90s and I wanted more cold, way more…

    • May 6, 2010 6:45 am

      Robbyn, LOL I guess I should be glad Bermuda isn’t a problem here – although that rye can get out of hand too, but not in the same way.

      Hey we might have a heat wave in the 60’s this weekend – can’t wait 🙂

      • May 6, 2010 3:58 pm

        Hey Nita, just a question here, but I noticed some neighbors who have some Aussies and herding dogs just down the road have had their dogs shaved due to the heat. Kaleb’s indoors quite a bit…any thoughts on whether it would be good or bad to give him the summer buzz cut? I’ve read conflicting things, some say his coat is good insulation in heat or cold, others just give a buzz cut in hot summers. We’re already in the freaking 90s…I can’t imagine what August will be like.

        My instincts say leave nature well enough alone. Jack’s for power clippers, but then again he gets a little crazy when there’s a gadget 🙂 Kaleb’s still having his big Shed and seems a pretty great coat compared to last year, but still getting rid of a lot of that winter undercoat.

        Thoughts? You’re my Animal and All Things Farm guru! 🙂

  11. May 18, 2010 12:17 am

    I’m glad to hear you call it the ‘wettest April on record’. We’ve had a bear of time getting 3 or 4 clear days in a row where we could make some garden progress. It seems our backlog of seeds has grown with the frequency of the rains.

    • May 18, 2010 5:08 am

      Lee, ugh it’s been so wet, I did get my cover cropped areas worked up, now they need to stew for two weeks before I can plant. Oh well, I’ll be ready to spring into action when and IF it dries out enough…low snow levels and cold temperatures predicted for this week. Soon I’ll probably be complaining about the heat 🙂

Leave a Reply

