Skip to content

Oversize load

May 10, 2010


Della is approaching her due date, with much consternation on my part.  Trying not to worry is not really part of my nature, is doesn’t help that I have her tethered in the yard and can see every little twitch and tail flick.  I laugh at myself, her first freshening, 10 years ago, when I should have been more concerned, I didn’t give it a second thought.  I left her with the beef herd until a day or so before her due date.  I put a rope halter on her and walked her the mile home, and in a day and half, she had her calf, and I started training her to milk.  She was always an easy calver until her last pregnancy when she had twins.  All those calves, and unattended births… and then one bad time and I’m a basket case.  Meanwhile, she is just snoozing, eating, watching me pack spring water to her, charging the dogs and my friends, and probably growing weary of all the waiting.

The best time to see some calf action is when she just gets up.


Ouch!  If you have ever been pregnant, you know how that feels.


Makes you want to pee your pants.  (In sympathy, of course.)


And then finish the afternoon with a good oxtail massage and back scratch.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 3:03 pm

    That first photo framed by blossoms is just lovely.

    I wish her a quick and easy birth!

  2. May 10, 2010 4:19 pm

    She needs a bull to blame and roll her eyes at in disgust everytime she gets up or down.

  3. May 10, 2010 4:55 pm

    Poor Della, and poor you! I’m sure you’ll have an uneventful birth. It’s funny how we can have 100 good times and one bad and the bad one is the one we focus on! Good luck!

  4. May 10, 2010 5:08 pm

    What a pampered cow. I’m sure she’ll do fine, but I know one hard birth makes us worry more than the mom-to-be.

  5. May 10, 2010 5:10 pm

    Ooo, great pictures but they make me cringe just looking at them. Best of wishes for a safe, birth for all (mom, baby and you!)

  6. May 10, 2010 5:14 pm

    Beautiful!

  7. May 10, 2010 6:02 pm

    Well, I sure hope everything goes smoothly. I have not had children but that still looks uncomfortable! LOL at Spence’s comment…Good Luck!

  8. jean permalink
    May 10, 2010 7:04 pm

    Ouch. I only had one baby and was convinced it was a 10 legged alien. I can’t imagine what she is feeling. And I didn’t pee my pants but I certainly crossed my legs. Good luck to everyone.

  9. May 10, 2010 7:22 pm

    Sending lots of positive vibes that she has a beautiful, healthy, little Della look-a-like! 🙂 Any name ideas? I laughed out loud at Spence’s comment!

  10. May 10, 2010 7:25 pm

    Oh MY…that hurts just looking at those pictures!!! Good Luck with the calving…I’m really looking forward to the pictures. Take care and have a wonderful Tuesday….Maura

  11. May 11, 2010 6:18 am

    that first photo is just divine!

    i would be a nervous nellie too, if i had a cow about to drop. when i was a kid we lost our dear cow bessie to milk fever. after that we were always vigilant about making sure they didn’t get into trouble.

    looking forward to baby cow pictures. moo.

  12. Marcia/WY permalink
    May 11, 2010 7:36 am

    Great pictures! Jealous of the blossoms – we are forecast for 10″ of snow over the next couple of days – so here’s hoping for good weather and easy calving for you & Della.

  13. May 11, 2010 2:48 pm

    I’m sure she’ll surprise you one morning with a healthy heifer calf the spitting image of your next milk cow.

  14. MMP permalink
    May 11, 2010 3:09 pm

    I know just what you mean.

  15. Doris Maertz permalink
    May 14, 2010 9:50 pm

    Oh, so excited, my shorthorn freshened today with a bull calf! I’ll be milking her in three days. She’s an old pro!! Fresh butter, raw milk, I think I will be in heaven!!

  16. May 15, 2010 8:40 am

    Della looks so pretty sitting in the orchard. I hope all goes well with her baby’s birth. I can’t wait to see the photos of the newborn.

  17. AKA Angrywhiteman permalink
    May 15, 2010 11:44 am

    After a careful review of several of your recent posts, and upon diligent perusal of your photos of Della, the question arises………….do you have a fanny fetish? Or is it merely coincidental that Della’s posterior is so prominently upon display?

    Just a curious old logger, pondering life’s mysteries. 😉

    • May 15, 2010 8:09 pm

      AWW, it’s calving season, that’s all I’m looking at it seems…I just came in from taking pictures of Della’s backend…and it is getting wider 🙂

  18. May 16, 2010 6:16 pm

    Just getting caught up on all the chicken drama…love it. We raise cornish rocks and love them. Don’t care what anyone says and if they eat chicken from the supermarket and or restaurants they really can’t say much. I’d say this is our 3rd year raising them. We order some Spring & Fall. We order from Central Hatchery (I think out of Nebraska) good old fashioned folk, best quality birds we’ve ever received and we have ordered from several places in the past. Good for you, speaking how you feel. This is your blog afterall!

  19. May 17, 2010 8:12 am

    Oh dear, that looks so uncomfortable. Has she had her calf yet? We’ve had most of our calves, but there are a few stragglers yet to go.
    Suzanne

  20. May 18, 2010 4:50 am

    I like the photo of Della under the flowering trees.

  21. May 19, 2010 10:08 pm

    Yep, that’s one pregnant Della! I look forward to seeing her babes.

    Kristeva

Leave a Reply

