Skip to content

Wordless Wednesday

June 2, 2010

10 Comments leave one →
  1. susan permalink
    June 2, 2010 6:36 am

    What a beautiful sight.

  2. Teresia permalink
    June 2, 2010 9:15 am

    awwwww… such a precious thing.

  3. June 2, 2010 9:30 am

    I am a generation removed from the farm. My grandparents had a farm in what is now suburbs of Los Angeles (that giant amoeba of a city that devours all the good land surrounding it). I don’t remember those days at all, but I do remember their acre in Northern California where they had 1/4 in fruit trees and a huge garden. I even had a horse on the back half that I got to visit during school holidays. I always loved the country style of life but never had the chance until I retired. Now I’m having fun learning the skills that I missed as a child.

  4. June 2, 2010 12:17 pm

    Aaawwwww….

  5. June 2, 2010 12:41 pm

    Perfect! I can even smell and hear what is going on in the pasture.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  6. June 2, 2010 5:39 pm

    Ohhh..it makes my heart ache. Life goes on.

  7. June 2, 2010 8:27 pm

    Welcome, little one!

  8. June 3, 2010 2:53 am

    Nice looking cow and calf! Are your beef cattle any particular breed? Also I was wondering if your cattle do good without grain and eat only grass/weeds? Your pasture looks great! you must be getting alot of rain. We need rain, it has not rained here for over three weeks and the grass in our pasture is not growing fast.
    ~David

    • June 3, 2010 4:49 am

      David, they are Hereford and some Hereford cross. That particular cow is half Guernsey. They do not receive grain and are rotationally grazed during the grazing season. Grass hay in the winter. I’ll send you some rain – we had 3.1″ yesterday, after getting rain almost everyday since April. Ugh. Our dry season is July – September.

      • June 5, 2010 2:00 am

        Thanks for answering
        we do daily moves to fresh pasture too and no grain.
        We got some rain last night it down pored but I do not know how many inches yet.
        Here in MI we do not have set dry and wet seasons like OR. The last two years have been very wet we got rain every week it seemed like. Once it came down in torrents and we got 11 inches in 5 hours! it caused all the creeks that flow into the Manistee river to flash flood and wash out the culverts where the roads cross the creeks. So sometimes we get to much rain!
        ~David

Leave a Reply

