Skip to content

Mostly rainy

June 7, 2010

If you asked me a month ago what I would be doing the first week of June, my reply would have been, “making butter and weeding the garden.”    Sunny days have been non-existent here for the most part for the last month.  A few here and there – Jane was born on a sunny day, and it was dry enough Saturday we felt like eating hamburgers (summer food, you know.)


But, with no more than a 20 hour period without precipitation has meant stuff is on hold.  And as for stocking the freezer with butter?  You know how that turned out… .  The bright spot?  This is grass growing weather.  So you have to take the good with the bad.  Because I really want the grass to grow.

Lady in waiting.


With the rainy weather not really abating at all, I am moving to plan B on some vegetables.


I really don’t like to transplant any cucurbits, unless I have to.  But with my long season winter squash if I don’t start them beforehand this year, I may as well forget trying to harvest any at all.  So with that in mind, this past weekend I seeded my Sweet Meat squash and my Naked Seed pumpkins, and am hoping for a decent stretch of weather within a week.

Princess in training, so sweet we’re afraid she will melt if left out in the rain.

Calves with bad manners.

They look so innocent…

And so do these two.  I should have never named them Thelma and Louise!

Next post – I’ll tell about the spotted calf and the spotted pig adventures.  Not funny until it was all over.  Now we are laughing and breathing big sighs of relief.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. jean permalink
    June 7, 2010 8:10 am

    Princess In Training! That’s exactly what we call my neice. Something tells me she would not like be compared to Jane. LOL. The weather here has been very dry and hot, such a change from last year. I’m still very new to gardening and finding that what grew last year isn’t this year. Oh well, live and learn.

  2. Kay permalink
    June 7, 2010 9:13 am

    It finally rained here today! We have went almost two weeks w/o it raining.

  3. June 7, 2010 9:35 am

    Your pigs are adorable!

    This is our first year raising pigs, and I had no idea what lovable animals they are. Such personality! I carry videos of them around on my phone like they were children.

    If anybody is wanting to see adorable videos of piggies, you can do so at my Youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/loraan.

  4. June 7, 2010 9:57 am

    The sun over the weekend was nice, wasn’t it? I didn’t know you had piglets! They are really cute. It’s hard to think of them in terms of bacon and pork chops, but pigs have the unfortunately distinction of being really tasty creatures….cute but tasty.

  5. June 7, 2010 9:58 am

    Oh! Meant to also mention that I really like that first shot of the seed head with blue sky behind it. Nice!

  6. June 7, 2010 10:25 am

    Such gorgeous pics of the farm life! That calf is just darling!

  7. June 7, 2010 1:14 pm

    All the pictures were great and I love to see the ones of the animals. The pigs colors are great!

  8. June 7, 2010 1:56 pm

    I love all your pictures!

  9. June 7, 2010 2:49 pm

    So glad to see the sun today. For a while there, I was contemplating building an ark! Love today’s photos including the cow sticking out his/her tongue at the camera. Jane is as sweet as ever. What breed was her papa that produced such great colors in her coat? Love those spotted piggies, too.

    Hey … fyi … there’s going to be a town hall meeting in Beaverton tomorrow regarding the existing restrictions preventing folks from raising poultry within city limits. This should be interesting.

  10. Tammy Cupp permalink
    June 7, 2010 3:19 pm

    I have been swamped and unable to look at your blog (or any blog) for a while but I am trying to catch up. I don’t post here often, but after reading about your sweet cow and your precious calf, I just had to write to tell you that I understand. I understand why you made all the decisions you made. You are a good farmer who knows when to keep trying and when to cut your losses. You have a heart and you have common sense. Sometimes, it’s hard for the two to reside together but you do it beautifully.

    You could have been writing about my eleven year old Mayfield who calved on the 22nd of May but not without assitance from us. Difference is, we lost the baby but saved the cow this time. She was down, we had to lift her and she has recovered. Bittersweet and who knows what next year will bring. Of course the calf that we lost was a beautiful heifer but for now I will just be thankful I have Mayfield for another year.

    I am sorry for your loss. I respect your resilience.

    Respectfully,

    Tammy

  11. A.A. permalink
    June 8, 2010 12:21 am

    I wish I knew what those cows and all think of us humans walking over to them just to show our teeth and stand there jaw dropped 😉 It must look pretty funny.

    It’s been overcast today and it was finally time to turn the five heifers out on pasture with a little help from a neighbor. Everything went fairly well, except the youngest heifer isn’t accepted in the group yet, so she came through a gate once dodging the others. I don’t know how many days and how much broken fence it’ll still take for them to set their ranks straight, but I’ll see. I think the mild weather made it easier to bring the animals outside, since they’re not so used to being out in the bright open yet.

    We’ve had some luck with the squash this year, except they’re starting to get too big for their pots and it’s not warm enough yet to put them in the ground. They’ll either need to go into bigger pots first, or I’ll have to set up some makeshift greenhouse.

    Can’t wait to hear about the spotted calf and the spotted pig adventures!

  12. June 8, 2010 3:22 am

    Yesterday we had a pig adventure day to. Never funny while it’s happening, but wait a few hours to a few days and the laughs roll freely.

  13. June 8, 2010 7:53 am

    Such a shame that you’ve not been able to plant your garden yet. It seems the Pacific Northwest had had a very wet spring this year. My family up in British Columbia is having the same problem. I hope the skies clear and that big yellow ball comes out and dries things up for you real soon. Take care….Maura 🙂

  14. Tami permalink
    June 8, 2010 9:58 am

    You’re killin’ me here making me wait for your Thelma and Louise story…I keep telling myself, “be patient…she is very busy…” It isn’t working very good tho…I hope you are drying out. We only had .51″ in May so it is scary dry here, but hopefully this week will bring us some rain, but not hail since the wheat is looking very good around here, always a trade off.

  15. June 8, 2010 10:42 am

    I’m liking this rainy spring but I’ve yet to plant some things that should have been in long before now.

  16. Regina permalink
    June 8, 2010 12:13 pm

    It’s wet over here at the other end of the Columbia River Gorge, nothing that needs heat is growing, just sitting in the ground. Don’t get me started on the six attempts at planting cucumbers and having nothing come up! Too cold, too wet. I know, quit whining. 😉

  17. June 8, 2010 1:29 pm

    We are hot and dry and windy. It would be wonderful if we could all have the weather we really need and like.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

