Skip to content

Lo – Lo – Lola

June 10, 2010

I’ve seen this hundreds of times, it is still fascinating.  Amazing that you could be born in a rain storm and try to get up in 5 minutes.

Lola.


Now if I can convince sweet Lola to share her milk with me.  Jane is quite curious about her cousin 🙂

25 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 8:06 pm

    Oh, Lola is so sweet! Hang on lil baby, the sun is coming this weekend. If not, I better start building that ark. Sheesh!

    PS: Thanks for the song title … at least that’s what I thought of when I saw the title anyway. I’ll be humming that all night! The KINKS are from my era. 🙂

    • June 10, 2010 8:14 pm

      Paula, sheesh it has rained non-stop for the last two days. I think it was just drizzling for 10 minutes when she was born.

      I remember being puzzled by the lyrics when that song came out, hopefully, Lola will bawl like a heifer and walk like a bull…it really helps at the water trough 😉

  2. June 10, 2010 8:31 pm

    Soooo cool! thanks for taking pictures. I love that you named her Lola, by the way. How do you come up with names for your girls? ….and I’m assuming that you only name the girls…..

    • June 10, 2010 8:37 pm

      Ruthless watched her birth and then came to the house to tell me and get the camera.

      No real set way to come up with the names, last year we named her calf Lana, after the farriers wife 🙂 Usually the boys get named after their moms – Mabel, Sylvia, Pretty One, etc., they don’t seem to care 🙂

  3. June 10, 2010 10:55 pm

    Bless her wobbly little legs……so sweet!

  4. Marcia/WY permalink
    June 11, 2010 3:48 am

    Yea! – good looking calf and very attentive mom. Have you milked Lola before? Is she all beef or part dairy? My Molly cow has about 6 weeks to go – missing that fresh milk…

    • June 11, 2010 4:32 am

      Marcia, she’s a good mom and but allows us to handle the baby. I only milked her briefly last spring and then decided to continue to milk Della instead for a prolonged lactation. She is half Guernsey, 1/2 Hereford but she still doesn’t give too much, so it will just be for us to drink, I can’t afford to short her calf. I miss the fresh milk too – nothing like it.

      • Marcia/WY permalink
        June 11, 2010 6:59 pm

        Sorry – I think that was supposed to be Lula as the mom…just one vowel off 🙂

        • June 11, 2010 7:53 pm

          Marcia, LOL I didn’t even see it until you pointed that out! I guess I knew what you meant 🙂

  5. June 11, 2010 3:55 am

    Beautiful little heifer! Life on the farm is something that I don’t think I’ll tire of anytime soon. It’s an absolutely magical moment! Congrats!

  6. June 11, 2010 5:33 am

    Thank you for sharing the birth of this sweet little calf. Momma cow is really taking good care of her baby. Just amazing.

  7. June 11, 2010 7:18 am

    So, what is your experience with meconium calves? Have they ever seemed slower to get up or nurse to you? Any other issues? We had our first this year and he was slow…but he was also B-I-G. He’s fine now.

    • June 11, 2010 10:35 am

      Amy, I have never really seen much difference with the stained calves. This little girl was up and nursing in less than ten minutes. She is huge and very strong. Jane’s birth was much harder on her and she nursed good but was slow to get up, and she had no meconium staining. so I think it depends on many factors. After so many years of late winter and early spring calving – I am convinced mine do better with late spring/early summer calving. The cows have been on grass for a while and are in better shape than when they are on hay. Glad your fella is doing better!

  8. June 11, 2010 7:22 am

    Sheesh, now I’ve got that song running madly through my head. Too bad you don’t live closer…….the neighbor has a heifer that just lost a calf and he’s going to can her if he can’t find a replacement. It always amazes me how fast some of them get up and go even in the worst of conditions.

    • June 11, 2010 10:37 am

      Linda, that’s what had me worried about that spotted heifer, I did not want to ship her or watch her get too fat for breeding, I was glad she got that calf back out of the woods!

      I know what you mean, I’ve seen them born in the snow and they are up and at em’ right away – amazing!

  9. June 11, 2010 1:02 pm

    What a beautiful strong looking calf! great name.
    Congrats!
    I think it’s the time of year for strong babies, we just had a ram lamb born and I couldn’t believe his drive to get right to his feet and nurse.Strongest lamb we ever had,first time to lamb in June to.

    • June 12, 2010 3:46 pm

      Farmer, after having had babies born in early spring when the weather is so unsettled and in late spring when it is warmer, I am definitely liking the later calving. Congrats on the baby ram!

  10. June 12, 2010 11:56 am

    Awww, so precious! Is it possible to use mama as a wet nurse for Jane? (I have no clue how this stuff works!)

    • June 12, 2010 4:44 pm

      Katie, that was the big debate – take a little house milk, put Jane on her, buy our milk, or buy Jane’s milk. I decided since Lula doesn’t really produce enough for two calves that I would sneak a little for the house and just raise Jane on replacer. I could maybe teach her to nurse the cow, but at this point it would be too frustrating for all involved. So we’ll see how it goes. I don’t want to short either calf, so we will take the short ourselves. 🙂

  11. Sincerely, Emily permalink
    June 14, 2010 5:38 am

    Thank you for sharing. Very Beautiful. Congratulations! Emily in So. TX

  12. June 14, 2010 2:28 pm

    Dear Neighbor, No it never gets old. We raised Jerseys and those darned cows would always calf as soon as we looked the other way. I have never seen it happen but got there seconds after. It is a wonder. Congrats on your babies! S

  13. Regina permalink
    June 15, 2010 12:45 pm

    I’d get up fast too if Mama was licking me with a big rough tongue. 😉

  14. June 16, 2010 5:44 am

    We favor a middle spring calving. The rancher who rents our place goes for a late winter calving, mainly to have the calves strong enough they can walk to the spring/fall middle ranch, then have gain a good enough wait to head on up the plateau to the summer ranch.

    Since we keep our cows right on the farm having they moms eating some new grass/feed and still wanting to hang close to the house works for us.

    Good looking calf!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

