Skip to content

Still raining :(

June 17, 2010

Still raining here, with a weather report that promises 65°F!  That would feel good, it hasn’t been able to climb over 50°F for the last few days.   Too cold and wet to garden and perfect weather for visiting.  We knew a friend on the west side of town had got some new horses, so we were eager to go see them and chew the fat for a while.  He used to own Belgians, but now had switched to Clydesdales – and the best part of the visit is that he had a present for Jane.  Having Jane is like getting a new puppy.  Feed Jane, play with walk Jane, go to town to get more milk for Jane, well, you get the picture.  She and Lola have been having supervised recess, since Jane being a bottle calf may try to satisfy her sucking urges by trying to nurse Lola, we have to watch them.  And it is funny, they are curious and aloof, with Jane being 3 weeks old and all, she is the haughty 2nd grader to Lola’ s preschool age of 6 days.  But they do play a little, bucking and perfecting their lightning fast kicks!  Much to our chagrin.


But on to the trip west…


Lots and lots of rain, and hail.


But, the sun actually cooperated and showed itself for our visit.  It was strange seeing a Clyde in a field that used to be filled with Belgians.  But nonetheless the horses were very nice.  Although they still have one Belgian gelding.

For Jane.

We had lots of catching up to do.  And we couldn’t wait to see Jane’s present.  Guernseys are kind of the odd man out when it comes to dairy breeds.  Scarcer than hens teeth now, but they used to be much more common.  There were 3 dairies with registered Guernseys within 5 miles of my home when I was growing up.  Now there isn’t even a working dairy in my entire county!!  The particular farm that this sign is from is now an RV park, but was quite a concern back in the day.  Two families that I knew of, got their dairy start there in the 1930’s and later.  Both went on to raise, show and milk Guernseys.

I chortled when I laid eyes on the sign, because when I was little I used to spend hours poring over a high school textbook that my brother had.  It was titled The Livestock Book, and dated from the early 50’s and contained mostly black and white photos, but some were in color and they depicted farm life in the 1940’s and 50’s.  I was fascinated by the piles of hardware taken from cattle, and the photos of a skinned, dissected  udder.  Especially intriguing was a photo of a man in a rocking chair on a big Holstein ox that weighed in at 4365 pounds.  But what always caught my eye in the Dairy section was the photo of a Guernsey cow and bull.  They were so pretty and since they each had a delicate chain with a charm on their horns, I thought they were married :D!    I know better now, of course.  But what can I say?  A 7 year old’s view of the world of cow sex is a little different than reality.  But anyway, I had it in my mind that the sign showed just a cow, I had forgotten it was “the” couple I was so enamored with as a child.  The sign is beautiful, and since Jane isn’t reading yet, I think I will keep it safe for her, right next to my bed!!

We left in a hailstorm that was terrible, but actually it made the drive back down the Sylvan Hill and through the tunnel much easier than the usual white knuckle experience.  Everyone was driving slow, since there almost zero visibility and terrible flooding at each exit and on-ramp.  We were glad to get out of there and get away from the storm cell.

Home again.

Such a crazy weather day – look how fast the blue sky disappeared.  The photos were taken about 5 minutes apart from the lookout at Neckers Rock Chanticleer Point.


…hoping you’re enjoying what ever type of weather you are getting!  Hopefully sun!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 11:11 am

    Plenty of sun, but for the last two weeks, it seems like a hell of a thunderstorm rolls through every day around 4 PM. My corn has been bent over, but still seems to be hanging in there. A juvenile walnut tree that has a tuft of leaves at the top got whipped like a sail and is now sadly sagging nearly to the ground. We expect it to recover as well, though, as no permanent damage seems to have been done. A few tomato cages got knocked over too. I knew when I started using them that people said they’d fall over, and sure enough they did. Now they’re guyed with twine to some pieces of rebar that I sunk in the ground, and I’ll probably do that next year from the start. I’m tempted to go with some other method of supporting the tomatoes, but given that I already have damn near $75 invested in cages, I think I’ll try and stick that method out for the time being.

    The other problem I’m having with weather is the moistness. Between the humidity and the afternoon rains, one kind of fungus or another is knocking the heck out of nearly all my plants. The strawberries seem to be doing okay and the corn has hardly noticed, but I’ve got early blight on my tomatoes, rust on my onions, and some other kind of unidentified something-or-other turning the lower leaves of my beans and squash to goo. Ah, the glamorous life of a gardener! I am treating with cornmeal, and plan to integrate that into my autumn tilling, as well as throw some down on the ground next spring, in hopes of building up a healthy competitive fungus structure in the soil.

  2. susan womersley permalink
    June 17, 2010 11:16 am

    Ah, still rain here as well. It was supposed to clear up this afternoon, but it’s 3p as I’m typing and still drizzly. The soil needs warmth and so do we! Love “Jane’s” present.

  3. June 17, 2010 12:24 pm

    Gorgeous! I love draft horses. Also, cattle with jewelry. :]

  4. June 17, 2010 12:40 pm

    “Jane” is such a cute name for a calf and she is a cutie! I enjoy hearing stories about her!
    That is a beautiful Clydesdale horse! May I keep that picture to possibly paint in the future? If so, pls email me to let me know and thank you very much!

  5. June 17, 2010 1:08 pm

    I heard there was a big bad hail storm west of Portland, but I have to tell you that I’m REALLY GLAD that it dumped it all there and didn’t make it as far west as where I live. It would have ruined everything. Well, maybe not the garlic and onions. But everything else! And I finally have flowers on my zukes and tomatoes.

    This spring has been seriously weird for our part of Oregon. I just heard that it’s been the wettest (4″) in 70 years!

    I sure wish I was harvesting and saving some of it…

    Lola is really cute, but it’s interesting to see how much more refined Jane’s features are….

  6. June 17, 2010 1:09 pm

    The horses are beautiful! (And so are the Guernseys!) This morning we had sun, then rain then I turned around and mist had rolled in. I fed the rabbits, turned around again and all the mist had rolled away. Neat to watch it leaving through the valley.

  7. Adele permalink
    June 17, 2010 1:20 pm

    We finally left for Washington to get the place ready for me for the summer over Memorial Day weekend. Hubby keeps teasing me about the weather since I had told him that NE Washington has nice summers, hot and low humidity. Then we get here and the rain has only let up for about 3 days total. It is all good though since it means we get more unpacking done. The dogs are loving it and I am getting use to having wet, muddy corgis in the house. All furniture has a doggie blanket on it so bed and couch are not getting muddy too 🙂 .

  8. Comma Queen permalink
    June 17, 2010 1:33 pm

    How’s Lola’s leading lessons coming? I heard she wasn’t too keen on the whole idea…

  9. June 17, 2010 1:41 pm

    Beautiful pictures – both of the calves and the river – is it the Columbia? My son’s first 4-H project was a registered Guernsey cow that we drove 4 hours to buy – in Ballentine MT. As I recall it was an all Guernsey dairy and quite large. ….awhile ago – almost 40 years. We have had some flooding here at the ranch and also lower down the Wind River – sandbagging for some folks – major WIND here today – we lost two trees – sunny with a high of about 50…supposed to warm up over the next few days though – but OH so green – we’ve only had to partially irrigate the hay fields so far.

  10. June 17, 2010 1:51 pm

    Bring back the sun. I look like Casper at this point, and my yard looks like a swamp is trying to become established. Don’t even get me started on what my non existent garden looks like. I have to admit, though, that the thunder and hail storm the other day at least broke up the monotony of the endless drizzle. Love the Gorge photos and Crown Point always looks lovely. You referenced the Sylvan Hill which means you were on Hwy 26. Next time you’re out this way, if you go by the Bethany exit, wave to the north side of the road … I live just a couple of miles from there. 🙂 Jane and Lola are sweeties. Hope we all get to enjoy the sun this weekend.

  11. Rita permalink
    June 17, 2010 2:21 pm

    Gosh you are making me miss Portland, rain and all, I’d be glad to be back.

  12. June 17, 2010 4:07 pm

    Here in North Carolina, rain last night (heavy for about 20 min) and today, clear skies and 93 degrees in the shade (shade? what shade). Lots of frogs singing at night and the deer are ravashing the garden again this year. Check out my farm blog if you get the chance.
    Tom

  13. June 17, 2010 4:30 pm

    It sure is beautiful there…rain and all…

  14. CCC permalink
    June 17, 2010 4:53 pm

    Whether the weather be fine,
    or whether the weather be not,
    Whether the weather be cold,
    or whether the weather be hot,
    We’ll weather the weather,
    Whatever the weather,
    Whether we like it or not.

  15. Marianne permalink
    June 17, 2010 6:23 pm

    Our old neighbors who live nearby have a daughter who loves her Guernseys! The rest of the kids in the family are Brown Swiss and Jersey-kids. Right now she is in PA attending the national Guernsey convention (though it sounds like she is also spending quality time at the Hershey theme park – hey, she is 15!). She planned her trip, saved up the $$, found a chaperone, & made all the plans herself – this girl will do anything for the Guernsey! I’ll have to tell her about Jane when she gets back.

  16. June 17, 2010 6:41 pm

    What an awesome sign…

  17. June 17, 2010 7:44 pm

    I have been though Oregon on a trip to San Francisco we drove though a very dry desert area so this is my only mental picture of the state! The pictures of the cliffs an bay are beautiful. How far out of Portland is you farm? I Just met someone who is planning on moving to portland in the fall and I was telling her about your farm.
    ~David

  18. June 18, 2010 5:12 am

    It looked clear at dawn, but I welcomed the thunder storm that pounded in as the sky lightened. Hot here, muggy and without the storm, would have probably hit the high 80’s/low 90’s. With 70-80% humidity, that’s no treat. It’s passed, but the air is cooler than it was at dawn. Now it’ll probably stay down around the middle 80’s, and those few degrees make a huge difference.

    Your photos are gorgeous.

  19. Krystal permalink
    June 18, 2010 7:18 am

    OK, I’ll bite- what is the purpose for lovely cow jewelry? 🙂

  20. June 19, 2010 2:32 pm

    I’m with Krystal. Why do Guernseys wear jewelry?

  21. June 27, 2010 7:54 am

    My daddy would only have Guernsey.

Leave a Reply

