Skip to content

Harvesting sunlight

July 25, 2010

Pecking away at summer, but it is time to start thinking about starting fall and winter vegetables.Β  I’m posting over at Simple-Green-Frugal Co-op today about that, and here’s some pics of what went on here this past week.





19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 2:36 pm

    Thought I might find you this evening! I hope Ruthless is holding on tight! Your raspberries look great. I had nice foliage, but no fruit yet. And if that’s your cabbage from this year…already even after you had a slow start….well, I’m gonna shoot myself in the foot! I’ve battled the cabbage worms and they just didn’t want to head. I finally have some little heads but reverted to buying a couple at the FM. Boy what a weird year. I too am hoping that my fall & winter garden do well. We finally had a lovely rain this evening and it cooled down our 110 feel like temps. Boy that’s hot!

    • July 25, 2010 3:36 pm

      Diane, LOL get out your gun – that’s my early cabbage and the babies in the flats will be planted soon πŸ™‚ I did see a couple of moths flitting about yesterday, so we’ll see if I have to drag out the BT. I am hoeing out my remaining corn tonight – starlings pulled out all but 12 plants so another warm weather crop bites the dust. It is hot here now, after 10 days of hay wetting weather 😦 But it actually still made up OK.

      Ruthless made it back after the mowing lesson, so I guess she must of hung on. She got some good pictures anyway.

      ETA: Diane I just remembered that last year when I trialed so many different cabbages, some were ravaged by the cabbage moths while they were still in the flats. Which showed me just how critical good seed, and good seed growing conditions need to be. I had 8 different kinds, from 3 different sources, seeded the same day, raised under the same conditions, and it was a sobering sight – I didn’t even bother planting some out, they were so eaten up. I didn’t experiment this year and am using my old standby’s Charmant F1, Melissa F1, Ruby Ball F1, and January King. They are reliable bearers for me as you can see…

      • July 26, 2010 5:28 am

        Haha….it must of been your mild…ok…COLD conditions this Spring that allowed your cabbage to grow so well and your skill…our Spring turned to Summer very quickly. Very interesting about the seeds. I will pull my receipts. Actually now that you use the word trial, I was experimenting this year with many new seeds….and I’ve never started cabbage by seed, so it’s all a trial. Only certain plants are being eaten the worst. January King hasn’t worked for me, but Melissa has done the best. I used a row cover, but I think I waited too long. I’ll have to look into BT. Thanks for the info on covering the fall seeds and the conditions they like….I covered my tiny kale yesterday hoping to keep off the harlequin beetles BEFORE they attack. And now I know it’s providing an optimal condition for them to grow under. Thanks for all your great info. I think I’ll be learning for another 50 yrs! haha…I hope I don’t live to be 102! Where does time go?

        • July 26, 2010 6:34 am

          MILD! Brrr… although the moss is starting to dry out a little – hehe – with this 90 degree weather. Remember we don’t see the sun too much in this corner of the PNW. I have to agree on Melissa, it is the best all around cabbage I have grown ever in every way. Vigorous from the get go, and keeps forever in the garden, spring, summer, fall and winter.

          102! That would be too old – I am trying to hang onto 52 for another week and then it will be a blur like all the other years πŸ™‚ Maybe I am 12 in cow years like Della – still frolicking in my mind but lumbering around in reality πŸ˜‰

  2. July 25, 2010 2:58 pm

    Is that you on the tractor? WOw! those berries sure look good. I can’t imagine even thinking about a fall/winter garden right now, but I suppose it is time.

    I enjoyed your pictures. Have a great week.

    • July 25, 2010 3:38 pm

      Finding Pam, nah, it’s my kid – you know take your daughter to work day πŸ™‚ I hear on the fall garden stuff – we’ve been hauling hay and it is hot, the last thing I want to do is plant more garden, but I must if I want to eat! At least here it cools off at night, so gardening happens in the morning and evening when it at least bearable πŸ™‚

  3. July 25, 2010 3:00 pm

    Gorgeous raspberries and good looking cabbage. πŸ™‚

  4. July 25, 2010 8:44 pm

    I like every single one of those pictures. But if you twisted my arm and asked my favorite, I’d have to say the cow/calf pairs heads buried in the pasture… with close second that gorgeous bale of home-grown hay…followed by the Dad&Daughter Duo on tractor.

    Which is not to say the vegetable shots don’t make my mouth water, they do. But I can almost smell those cows, that pasture, and the hay. Thanks for sharing.

    • July 25, 2010 8:53 pm

      TD, I would have to agree, besides the scent of new mown hay I am partial to the smell of cow manure and summer dust – of course it is nothing like a CAFO – but it is one of those summer smells from my childhood that smells wonderful, and mix in a handful of blackcaps and I am in heaven. Cabbage pales in comparison, but it sure is tasty!!

  5. July 26, 2010 2:17 am

    This past week I started noticing the change in the sunlight. It’s still hot as blazes here, but the sun rays have that “Autumn is coming” shine.

    Your hay mowing photo makes me miss living in a farm community. I always admired how the farmers would be out there from sun up to sun down to get the hay cut, turned, and baled. It’s tough work in the hot sun. Beautiful pictures, as always!

    Best wishes!

  6. Lisa Montgomery permalink
    July 26, 2010 4:04 am

    I have been pretty busy, I have already put the broccoli, cauliflower and now I am working on the beans, and the cabbage is ready, thank god the tomato’s arent’ ready yet.

  7. Chris permalink
    July 26, 2010 7:50 am

    Beautiful veggie shots, especially the rasberries! How’s Jane…any new photos of her? Uhhh, what is CAFO?

    • July 26, 2010 11:19 am

      Chris, only week old photos of Jane, maybe we’ll get a pic of her today. CAFO stands for Confined Animal Feeding Operation, or in other words a feedlot. When cows are fed a large amount of grain, their manure smells, uh, well, bad compared to pasture and hay fed cows.

  8. July 26, 2010 9:15 am

    Huh. BT for cabbage worm. I’ll look into that, now that I have a sprayer!

    • July 26, 2010 11:20 am

      Paula, note: cabbage worms don’t just eat cabbage they like all coles. But it does work really well if the cabbage worms are giving you a problem.

  9. July 26, 2010 12:25 pm

    I remember doing the same thing Ruthless is doing only it was years ago…..those raspberries look gorgeous!

  10. becomingherby permalink
    July 27, 2010 12:13 am

    Looks fantastic. Your blog is still inspiring me … The raspberries look delicious! We had some winter-fruiting raspberries here this winter that were delicious but nothing like proper summer-fruiting varieties, which are much sweeter. I’m jealous πŸ™‚

  11. July 27, 2010 7:59 am

    Your hay looks very, very good!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

