Skip to content

Bugs

August 7, 2010
tags:

Around the farm and field.  Photos courtesy of Trapper Creek Daughter.







20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2010 8:30 am

    Fantastic pictures! Very interesting.

  2. August 7, 2010 9:07 am

    Beautiful pictures! She has a good eye!

  3. Sincerely, Emily permalink
    August 7, 2010 10:05 am

    Lovely lovely photos. thank you
    can I borrow a lady bug (or ten) I just spotted hordes of aphids on our the apple tree leaves!

    • August 7, 2010 8:10 pm

      Sincerely Emily, sure – there are lots around, I have been seeing tons in the pasture too. I would never see an aphid there but that may be what they are after.

  4. finding pam permalink
    August 7, 2010 10:27 am

    WOW! Trapper Creek daughter is one talented photographer. Those are amazing photos. I liked the one of the caterpillars and the lady bug with the fly. What are those berries in the photo of the spider web? She has her mother’s eye for detail.

    • August 7, 2010 8:05 pm

      Finding Pam, she makes farm blogging easy for me 🙂 The berries are Himalayan blackberries a very invasive non-native plant, that one is actually trying to overtake my hardy kiwi. Here the vines will easily grow 20′ in year, they propagate themselves by seed, or runner and exude an alleopathic chemical making it almost impossible for other plants to grow where it does. I personally hate them – they taste good but are terrible to try to keep from taking hold. If they disappeared I would not miss the berries they produce one little bit.

  5. Tami permalink
    August 7, 2010 11:53 am

    What wonderful photos! I’ve never seen a grasshopper looking so lovely…

    • August 7, 2010 8:08 pm

      They love the greenhouses, but I never see any damage from them, maybe they like the dry. This guy was on the peppers, for some reason.

  6. August 7, 2010 6:56 pm

    Great photographs!

  7. August 8, 2010 4:09 am

    Ruthless is very talented! I love the photo of the COOKED broccoli and the cabbage worm as an added bonus – it is easier to spot them after they are cooked though :))

    • August 8, 2010 7:43 am

      Marcia, LOL, that’s what I think too – the macro for that looked a little too good though, I thought I should be gentle on my readers 😉 A little bechamel and we have a little extra protein right?

  8. Lisa Montgomery permalink
    August 8, 2010 4:38 am

    Those are pretty nice pictures, nice macros!

    • August 8, 2010 7:44 am

      Lisa, I’m pretty spoiled when I can just go through the albums and pick and choose, they are good!

  9. August 8, 2010 9:12 am

    Those are great photos!

    Kind of worried about what that fly is doing to (laying on) the lady beetle, though…

  10. August 12, 2010 8:04 am

    These are amazing photos!!!! Well, DONE!!!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  11. August 15, 2010 3:29 am

    WOW! These are all fantastic macros. Love the hitch-hiker on the ladybug. 🙂

  12. September 6, 2010 8:24 am

    Love the broccoli comment! (The bottom of our steamer is usually loaded after cooking.)

    Wonderful photos……..of “flutterby’s”, as my little grand girlie’s call them. They are just now able to identify different colours whilst in the air. They will enjoy these pictures.

    Happy Days.

Leave a Reply

