Skip to content

Canning season

August 8, 2010

I hope everyone is canning their bounty, it’s been a slow start here but I thought I would throw out a couple of money saving ideas about home preserving over at Simple-Green- Frugal Co-op today.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2010 1:19 pm

    One day I’ll learn how and I’ll have a bounty *to* can. πŸ™‚

  2. August 8, 2010 2:12 pm

    I have now put up over 46 pints of pickles and tomorrow it will be beans (green). I have frozen quite a bit of stuff already though! I love this season of the gardens but boy I can’t wait for it to be all done!

  3. August 8, 2010 3:57 pm

    Looks good! I’m hoping I GET something to can before a frost…….did I say FROST?

    • August 8, 2010 7:18 pm

      Linda, I think you did say the F word! It’s chilly here – sweatshirts at 7 pm in early August πŸ™‚

  4. carolyn permalink
    August 9, 2010 4:49 am

    can you share your sauce recipe with me. I’m looking for a good one. What type of tomatoes do you use?

    Thyanks, Carolyn

    • August 9, 2010 7:26 am

      Carolyn, I just use what I have, or what needs picking at the time. I roast my tomatoes with basil, onions and garlic, and then puree them and cook the sauce down to desired consistency and then can it. No real recipe, more just a method πŸ™‚

      • carolyn permalink
        August 11, 2010 6:33 am

        Ok when you say roast. Do you bake them in an oven first? I’ve tried a crock pot and really don’t like the results.
        carolyn

        • August 11, 2010 6:50 am

          Carolyn, yes roast with a little olive oil, salt and pepper, optional: herbs, onions and garlic. Then food mill or food processor (depending if you want to remove seeds and skin), then crock pot. The roasting gives a sweet flavor from caramelization and is more flavorful than cooking on the stovetop with water. I would try a batch to see if you like the flavor or not. Here’s a link to a previous blog post that shows what the tomatoes look like before and after roasting, but you have to scroll down a ways to find them in the post:
          https://matronofhusbandry.wordpress.com/2008/09/02/extreme-canning/

        • carolyn permalink
          August 11, 2010 8:59 am

          thank you I finally get it

Leave a Reply

