Skip to content

Fall colors and preparing for winter

September 15, 2010

The Pacific Northwest isn’t known for its fall colors, but there are some if you really look.

Cheddar cauliflower.

September webs.

No caption needed.

Cilantro pesto.

Stuttgarter onions.

Bee and broccoli.

Pileated and Akane.

pesto and photo credit:  Trapper Creek daughter.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 7:21 am

    Lovely photos:) When I’m picking blackberries this time of year, I try not to break the spider’s webs. I just think of all the effort it must have taken to make them.

    Can you tell me when sphagetti squash are ready to eat? This year is the first time I’ve grown them. We’ve tried a couple of large ones (10-12″). Do the skins need to harden up? The skins on these were still soft enough that they were easy to cut in half. It’s just that I found the flesh to be much moister than I remember. I cooked the second one flesh down on the oven rack with a tray on the rack underneath to catch the liquid, but it still seemed overly moist when it was done. Thanks:)

  2. September 15, 2010 7:26 am

    That pesto looks amazing! Do you have to pressure/water can it? If not, what’s its shelf life? I’m just starting to research preserving and hope to put some foods up this fall.

  3. Steve Carlson permalink
    September 15, 2010 7:41 am

    Wow, the pesto looks delicious!

  4. September 15, 2010 7:53 am

    Great photos! I’m going to try pesto this year…first year I’ve grown basil and I don’t have any cilantro but maybe next year I’ll try it. You’re right about the Pacific North West not being known for fall colours but in British Columbia I loved the Birch trees against the cedar and hemlock. I remember a year when we had a particularly SUNNY and drier summer and that fall the Birch turned the most BEAUTIFUL golden -orange yellow colour. Never saw them that colour before as they’re usually more of a yellow-gold. Anyway it just happened to be the summer I met my sister for the first time. She came out from England having never been to Canada…it was a PERFECT fall for her to visit the beautiful area we lived in. Here in Kansas we don’t have the birch but we have lots of elm so get the yellows but only a bit of red from a few domestic maples and of course we have the oak. One day I hope to travel the east from Prince Edward Island down to Arkansas….wouldn’ that be a sight! Hope you’re having a wonderful Wednesday!
    Maura 🙂

  5. September 15, 2010 7:58 am

    Those web photos are beyond amazing. Your daughter has *such* a talent.

    I have a request for you. I can’t find your coleslaw recipe. I think you must have posted it on the old (now defunct) NDiN blog. Would you mind reposting it here? Many thanks!

    • September 15, 2010 11:06 am

      Sarah, I agree, I love the pictures she takes. My scant contribution to this post was the onion photo – boring!!

      Here’s the link to the cabbage post, it seems lately I have just been boiling the vinegar and honey and then adding the olive oil after I mix the dressing and cabbage mix. Sometimes if I am in a hurry too, I just mix it all together without heating/boiling and it seems to be just fine.
      https://matronofhusbandry.wordpress.com/2008/08/14/making-do/

      I should make some today – the voles have discovered my peppers in the brooder greenhouse and snacking a little too much for my taste. 😦

  6. September 15, 2010 8:20 am

    Beautiful!

  7. September 15, 2010 8:55 am

    Those are some fabulous photos! Love the dew on the webs.

  8. Kirk permalink
    September 15, 2010 9:18 am

    PNW light and a talented eye; the photos are amazing! We used to live in Corvallis. Would you care to share the pesto recipe?

  9. Kristen permalink
    September 15, 2010 9:57 am

    AWESOME photos!!!!!! Love the spider webs 🙂

  10. September 15, 2010 10:05 am

    Your photos are gorgeous! What a talented eye behind the camera. I love the dew on the webs and as someone stated above the pesto looked delicious, do you add pinenuts?.
    Thanks for sharing, Autumn is my absolute favorite season. Spring comes next because of all the new life abounding :o)
    Blessings to you and yours,
    Kelle

  11. September 15, 2010 11:49 am

    I love the spider’s webs….a row of webs!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  12. September 15, 2010 12:15 pm

    Your photos are awesome! I’ve tried for days to get a pic of a web and with this breeze it’s about impossible. When I come for lunch someday I’d love to taste that pesto 😉

  13. September 15, 2010 1:56 pm

    amazing photos. A-MAZING.

    and that cauliflower looks sooo delicious!

  14. September 15, 2010 2:23 pm

    Beautiful. Just beautiful! –Ilene

  15. September 15, 2010 3:44 pm

    From one mother of a photographer to another mother of a photographer….EXCELLENT work! They just have an eye and I’m captured by what they see when they are behind the lens.

  16. September 15, 2010 5:08 pm

    That cilantro pesto looks wonderful. Can you please post how to make it………For next year cause mine is all gone now. Thanks

  17. September 15, 2010 7:37 pm

    I love the photos! That is really a great pic of the pileated woodpecker. Don’t you just love them? When I see photos of spider webs I can’t help but wish I could ask the spider, “Is it knit or crochet, and can I have a copy of the pattern?” LOL

  18. September 15, 2010 9:38 pm

    I love the dew on the spider webs. All summer long a spider lived on our swim ladder. I felt so bad breaking his (or her) web to get in and out of the water. But he never gave up. The next morning the web would be back. Very persistent. – Margy

  19. September 16, 2010 6:17 am

    Lovely photos. I’ve heard that cheddar Cauliflower has even more nutritional benefits than regular, but in truth – I adore it for the color! That, with romanesco on a crudite platter, and I’m so happy it’s absurd. But then, we taste first with our eyes, second with our nose, and only last with our tongue.

  20. Eva permalink
    September 20, 2010 12:31 am

    Lovely, thank you for the smile this morning.

Leave a Reply

