Skip to content

Reflections on this past garden season

September 19, 2010


I’m posting today over at Simple – Green – Frugal Co-op about some of the lessons I learned during this record breaking, wet and wild garden season here in the Pacific Northwest.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 6:53 pm

    I really enjoyed your article and some of the others. I’m impressed that you even garden with so much uncertainty and so much longer to wait till harvest! I will stop complaining about our hot, dry summer! At least I can add water from a hose! 🙂

  2. September 20, 2010 7:48 pm

    thanks for the positive feedback on Gerald Fry! While I was there, your cows popped into my mind. In a couple of years, when we get some cattle, we’re looking at getting a few cows from Gerald’s herd. They’ll be high dollar, but a good genetic foundation is worth it.

    I enjoy the blog. You can be envious of our heat and dryness, and I’ll be envious of you rain and coolness.

    -Spence

  3. September 21, 2010 9:08 am

    We have had the strangest year ever….wind, wind, and more wind. And not just your friendly little breezes 40-60 m.p.h. whoppers. Sweet corn so tangled the fields were just left for the birds.

    And rain, and more rain, and then some more rain and suddenly as fall begins HEAT! Without rain, just scorching sun and Wind, therefore the fires.

    Whew!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

