Skip to content

Wordless Wednesday

November 10, 2010
tags:

17 Comments leave one →
  1. susan permalink
    November 10, 2010 8:56 am

    Looks like someone(thing) took advantage of a nice, ripe squash — do you know what ate it?

  2. Rita permalink
    November 10, 2010 8:57 am

    Squirrels carving your Halloween pumpkin?
    They did it at my house but not as effectively.

  3. November 10, 2010 9:03 am

    Uh Oh……..

  4. November 10, 2010 10:02 am

    this sure looks familiar. i have never had anything eat my pumpkins ever. yet this year every single pumpkin has been eaten by squirrels. and they don’t clean up behind themselves the little boogers!!!

  5. November 10, 2010 10:05 am

    Voles again?

  6. November 10, 2010 12:45 pm

    I had a few of those…food for me, food for them.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  7. November 10, 2010 2:57 pm

    Oh no! Who’s eating your food? 😦

  8. November 10, 2010 3:15 pm

    Mea culpa! Long time readers know I do dumb things… . When I was gathering the Naked Seed pumpkins last week, I found a couple more Sweet Meat squash that looked like they had survived the frost and all the rain we had been having, although this one looked pretty mottled on one side from the freezing – soooo, I decided to throw it in with the hens, and when I went back later to gather eggs, I saw their Hen-O- Lantern. It was plenty ripe, despite the green look of the skin and the freeze damage. I guess I will get it back in eggs! And just so you know I am not the only dork in the neighborhood – a few years ago a friend thought her sauerkraut looked rotten, (and she is a veteran kraut maker, so no one judged her) so she proceeded to throw it out on the compost pile. (Which is really a manure pile, just for clarification.) When she saw how good the kraut looked on the bottom, she quickly looked around to see if her hubby was looking, and then she scooped the good kraut back into the crock and took it to the house 🙂 This was years ago, and we saw her this last weekend and she was going to make more kraut that day! I guess the manure pile was OK.

  9. November 10, 2010 5:10 pm

    Your hens do good work. And that story about the sauerkraut – all I can say is Oh My!!

  10. November 11, 2010 2:02 am

    I just did a kraut story. It is kraut season. My mom never fished it out of the trash though, but I can see how you would as you have a narrow window to buy the right kind of cabbage and it is a ton of work to prep.

    Our Pumpkins were also getting eaten this year and don’t usually get nibbled on. So strange.

  11. November 11, 2010 6:14 am

    Yep, looks familiar…my guess has been squirrels. They’ve carved my pumpkins, squash and just about anything they can get their little teeth on.

  12. November 11, 2010 6:28 am

    Great Hen-O-Lantern! Good work girls!
    Sincerely, Emily

  13. November 11, 2010 7:28 am

    If it’s any consolation your girls yolks should be good and orange*wink* Ours do the same to squash and when they are done with the inside we throw the outside shell to the pigs, they love’em
    Blessings,
    Kelle

  14. Karen Anne permalink
    November 11, 2010 7:50 am

    Here’s a pumpkin carved by whooping cranes:

    whooping-crane ultralight-aircraft operation-migration

  15. November 12, 2010 8:09 am

    I picked up a late-harvest watermelon in town. A small part was firm and delicious- surrounded by a bunch that was grainy and old. I through the scraps to my six chickens – in minutes all that was left was a few pieces of the skin. Rind and all just evaporated.

  16. YDavis permalink
    November 12, 2010 1:21 pm

    Who done it?

  17. November 14, 2010 9:01 pm

    Somebody–seriously!–just sent me a tip about putting yellow food coloring in your eggs to make them yellow. I said, “Yuck! Why don’t you buy free-range eggs and then they’d be yellow without food coloring!” You’ve made that tip obsolete with the nice yellow yolks you’ll be getting! My chickens have been enjoying the peppers I didn’t bring in before our freeze. Do you suppose I’ll get green eggs & ham? 😀

Leave a Reply

