Skip to content

A Last Minute Gift Idea

December 12, 2010

Maybe this is kind of an odd sort of gift, but I am making homemade jerky for a few of my gifts this year.  A great way to use up some of those odd cuts of beef you may have lurking in your freezer, or a good way to preserve some of your game.  Or just buy a round steak or some other tougher cut and make some.  Without additives, this is a good for you snack in a pinch.  You’ll find my post over at Simple-Green-Frugal-Co-op.


Pecker wood for Hayden 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Shirley W. permalink
    December 12, 2010 7:51 am

    My kids always have jerky on their Christmas wish list!

  2. December 12, 2010 8:18 am

    We knew an avid hunter at work who would make jerky at Christmas time. Only he sold it to other people for $5. per little baggie (they were a couple ounces each!). Merry Christmas to him! LOL!

  3. December 12, 2010 10:04 am

    I love Jerky of all kinds, My brother mades a number of wild game ones, but my favorite Jerky is Canadian Goose.. just yummy.. will go read your other post now.. Will give this new recipe a try for sure.

  4. December 12, 2010 10:52 am

    Haha. Pecker Wood. 😉
    I couldn’t make enough jerky to give out as gifts. Always have to wait for meat to be on sale.
    Lucky for your receivers though!

    Have a great week!

  5. December 12, 2010 12:02 pm

    Jerky’s a good idea……I used to do it but didn’t this year.

  6. December 12, 2010 1:25 pm

    Duhhh! Of course….. too funny.

    (and jerky sounds like a pretty good gift to me! I think you have lucky friends/family!)

  7. December 12, 2010 2:04 pm

    That is a great idea! I took jars and put mixes in them and decorated them for the family this year!

Leave a Reply

