Skip to content

Winter Solstice

December 21, 2010
tags:


I’m glad the days will start to get a little longer now.  Every sunny day is a delight in our gray winters.  We had to pick up Jane’s milk replacer the other day, so we enjoyed the scenery while she was getting her head stuck in the feeder.

Chanticleer Point

Roll on Columbia!  The Columbia River Gorge is a sea level passage through a mountain range.  We get some wicked weather here.



Vista House observatory with Beacon Rock in the background.  Lewis & Clark first felt the effects of the tide at Beacon Rock, 100 plus miles from the Pacific Ocean.


And you thought I grew a lot of cabbage 😉


Finally, on the way home.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    December 21, 2010 8:27 am

    Just beautiful! Thanks for the pics.

  2. December 21, 2010 8:53 am

    Yes…I’m looking forward to longer days again too. Beautiful pictures. I used to live on the Columbia River in British Columbia about 80 miles south of where it turns and heads south from the head waters. Love that country but don’t miss all the snow and rain…although we could sure use a lot of both right now. Enjoy your mountains and your river and have a Very Merry Christmas !
    Maura 🙂

  3. December 21, 2010 9:16 am

    Seeing pictures of the Columbia River Gorge makes me feel instantly nostalgic for my college years. I just loved making the drive from Portland to Walla Walla. What an amazing part of the world it is.

  4. December 21, 2010 10:10 am

    You and I we live in God’s Country!

    And like you am so happy for the Winter Solstice.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  5. December 21, 2010 11:25 am

    i never get tired of oregon views. but i don’t think i could hack gorge weather!

  6. December 21, 2010 11:36 am

    Mt. Hood on Saturday was breath taking. Your pictures are beautiful.

  7. December 21, 2010 3:39 pm

    Simply breath taking views…so pretty!

  8. December 21, 2010 3:41 pm

    Beautiful pictures. 🙂

  9. December 21, 2010 6:05 pm

    Beautiful! Our (much smaller) East Tennessee mountains are snow covered right now.

    I see *they* are busy trying to manipulate the weather (or whatever) out your way too.

  10. December 22, 2010 6:50 am

    BEAUTIFUL – Just gorgeous!

  11. December 22, 2010 7:39 am

    Today is one of my favorite days…each day from now until June gets a little longer, a good reason to celebrate!
    I love your pictures and yes that is alot of cabbage.

  12. Joanne Rigutto permalink
    December 22, 2010 6:13 pm

    Your weather in the gorge makes me glad I live in Mulino. 😉

    Beautiful pictures, and I too am glad to see the solstice come and go. Maybe now my lettuce will start growing again.

  13. December 24, 2010 5:24 am

    I am looking forward to the longer days too! It’s dark when I come home from work now 😦
    Beautiful scenery!

  14. December 24, 2010 4:37 pm

    Beautiful Photos – as always. WOW, that is a lot of cabbage. What a sight. If I saw that I would pull over in a heart beat for a photo! Thanks! Sincerely, Emily

  15. December 25, 2010 3:55 pm

    I too am so glad to see the shortest day pass. I just got all my seeds for next year ordered and I’m hyperactive now thinking about the gardening in 2011! Wonderful photos. Your blog is great. I live northwest of Seattle out on the Olympic peninsula. Cheers! Bonnie

  16. December 28, 2010 1:10 am

    I have NEVER seen so many cabbages. That is very cool. We drove through the Columbia Gorge this September but I don’t remember seeing fields of cabbages.

    • December 28, 2010 6:04 am

      Robin, we’re up on top on the old Scenic drive, those fields are right on the Columbia River Highway. You would not believe those cabbage fields! Those are just a drop in the bucket, he has many more fields of different brassicas and root crops.

Leave a Reply

