Skip to content

The Weather

January 2, 2011

I guess I can’t really complain about the weather – it sure makes for some beautiful sunrise and sunset photos.  Chores do take a little longer, but what the heck, winter only lasts a little longer…and the fire sure feels good.

Sunrise.

Morning view from the kitchen sink.

Hay there, it’s breakfast time.

No, I’m not stirring a witches brew – a good sized limb in the trough keeps the ice from forming on the entire surface.

Waiting for hay seeds.

Not shown, the calf eating the hay and shaking out the seeds, the dog watching the cats watching the bird.  Quite the food chain.

Willy.

Trace, after snow snorkeling.

“What??”  Melvin, after beating up Trace.

Evening kitchen sink view.

The view from my dirt nap place.  Also my favorite place in the field.

The days, they are short, and blessedly so, but so beautiful with the clean white snow and blue skies.  For more photos of our year, go here.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 1:52 pm

    What beautiful views from your kitchen window. Lots of snow up there in the Pacific North West….we still don’t have any here in Kansas. I hope your Christmas was a good one and all the best to you and yours for 2011!
    Maura 🙂

    • January 2, 2011 2:49 pm

      Maura, this winter is shaping up to be more like what we used to have when I was a kid. It’s OK, but I wish it wasn’t freezing. 😦

      Best wishes for the new year!

  2. January 2, 2011 2:04 pm

    Your photos are so beautiful! And the sunrise and sunset are both breath-taking. Enjoy the cold, still, beautiful world that we live in.

    • January 2, 2011 2:51 pm

      Emma, the sky colors have been amazing, starting out a rich dark red, giving way to bright blue, and finishing with pink, gold and red. Takes our breath away 🙂

  3. January 2, 2011 2:30 pm

    Gorgeous pics! We’ve got the COLD up here in Olympia, but no snow. I guess you got lucky! 😉

    • January 2, 2011 8:44 pm

      Michelle, brrr, it’s still cold here, and even though we have had sunny days, it isn’t getting above freezing during the day. Sure is pretty though with the snow hanging on the trees 🙂

  4. Fid permalink
    January 2, 2011 2:35 pm

    I’m tempted to offer to do the dishes with views like that! I keep wanting to ask, what kind of a camera do you have? Your pictures are beautiful. I hope Jane is warm and well. And everyone else too.

    Thanks for taking the time to post. I enjoy reading what’s happening in your life and on your place and am encouraged by it all.

    P.S. I have April’s Lucy.

    • January 2, 2011 8:53 pm

      Hi Fid! Give Lucy a hug for me – seems like yesterday when we went to look at her mama as a calf – now Jane is that age, time sure flies!

      Jane is spending her first night in her big girl stall all by herself tonight. Well, actually she did this when she was tiny, but is needing some remedial training 😉

      Our camera is a Kodak Easyshare Z712 IS, I don’t think it is made anymore, but I think for a cheapie camera, it does a pretty good job, we work the heck out of it, and when it dies it won’t owe us a penny.

  5. January 2, 2011 2:41 pm

    I want your kitchen window!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    • January 2, 2011 8:54 pm

      Kristen, luckily with the alpen glow you can’t see all the cat foot prints and cat hair 😉

  6. January 2, 2011 2:46 pm

    That water trough is a fabulous MacBeth cauldron. I think I’d say bubble, bubble; toil and trouble when I stirred.

  7. January 2, 2011 2:54 pm

    It may be cold, but I’ll keep hoping to have a view from my kitchen window like yours, someday!

    Your photos are beautiful 🙂

  8. January 2, 2011 3:08 pm

    your photos do good for my heart. and snow snorkeling? HA! i remember our dogs doing that, running along, then sneezing the snow out of their nostrils.

    happy new year. more horse pictures please!

    🙂

    • January 2, 2011 8:56 pm

      Chook, they are so funny, they run and scoop the snow into their mouths, and then dive in. They lay in it for hours too – makes me cold just thinking about it!

  9. January 2, 2011 3:17 pm

    Love your views! But I’ll settle with seeing them right here in my comfy chair looking out my window that has NO snow…and was in the mid 50’s yesterday! Our days are about 10 min’s longer!!! Wahoo! Spring is not too far off! 😉

    • January 2, 2011 8:58 pm

      Diane, you had your turn last year! If the snow went away I would not complain at all 😉 Although I have not had any problems keeping my ears warm 😉 Thanks so much for the hats!!! They are beautiful and they are being put to good use!

  10. Sheila Z permalink
    January 2, 2011 4:09 pm

    Evening kitchen sink view- That photo is my favorite of all that you posted today. I thought it was a painting at first.

  11. January 2, 2011 4:12 pm

    Ha! The winter here has just started and yours is just about over……how unfair. That’s not enough ice on the trough either 😉

  12. January 2, 2011 5:30 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous!

  13. January 2, 2011 6:06 pm

    Gosh Nita! I love that banner picture! All your pictures are great, but I really dig the banner. Please leave it up ’til the first of spring, anyway!

    Happy New Year!

  14. January 3, 2011 6:31 am

    So very beautiful, I wish I had a kitchen window to get those kind of views!

  15. January 3, 2011 7:32 am

    Again, as always beautiful photos. My favorite is the second to last one, it looks as if the trees are on fire( kind of like the glow of coals in a fire, absolutely beautiful!

    Our weather was bitter for three days and now we’re back to the low to mid 30’s( which is comfortable, at least to me*wink*)

    Chores do take alittle longer and except when it is bitter cold, I enjoy the extra time outdoors. Since I’m an outdoor kind a gal anyway,winter makes me feel cooped up and anxious. I truly enjoy the chores of winter, chopping ice from the troughs, hauling firewood, hauling water, shoveling snow, etc…….

    Thanks for sharing the beautiful photos.
    Blessings,
    Kelle

  16. charlotte permalink
    January 3, 2011 10:58 am

    You have quite the kitchen sink, it’s almost magical ! Love the pics -as i sit and stare at them from my city corporate 9-5 job. Oh well, at least I can live vicariously through your camera lens! Happy New Year!

  17. January 3, 2011 1:30 pm

    Drove the gorge this morning and almost got blown off the road around rooster rock area. You get that crazy east wind up top?

    • January 3, 2011 1:37 pm

      Nope! It is up top but if you go a little south you get right out of it. I lucked out, if my Grandpa had got here a little earlier I most likely would be blogging down in the wind 😉

      Hey, you ever thought of WordPress instead of Blogger? Blogger gives me fits every time I use it 😦

      • January 3, 2011 2:35 pm

        I have thought of it but you need to download something right? I looked at it briefly but then gave up. Is it easier than it looks?

  18. Eliza J permalink
    January 3, 2011 4:42 pm

    Love your blog ~ Love your animals ~ Surely do love all the great information you provide ~ and great photography! I particularly love the picture of the snow on the barb wire! Love your perspective, and that is why you are one of my favorites bloggers…oh yeah, not so crazy about WINTER!!!!!

  19. January 4, 2011 1:42 am

    Stunning photo’s – absolutely stunning!

Leave a Reply

