Skip to content

Spring is Coming

February 20, 2011

We have been having spring-like weather lately, snow for a day or two and then a dry, sunny day here and there.  I’m posting about my February garden checklist over at Simple-Green-Frugal Co-op today.

Just the other day…

Yesterday…

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Michaele permalink
    February 20, 2011 7:12 am

    Such beautiful photos!

  2. February 20, 2011 7:13 am

    Wow! I thought a warm day here was dramatic, but it’s nothing like that!
    I can’t wait to see grass again, but for now I do revel in a little bit of sunshine on my face 🙂

    • February 20, 2011 9:27 am

      Jennifer, yes, and this time of year the sun actually has a little heat in it. It was sunny yesterday, but a little brisk, but it sure felt good.

  3. Kaylen permalink
    February 20, 2011 8:03 am

    I love the regal pose and filthy paws in the last picture!

    I was so glad for the thaw since it allowed me to boot the chickens out of the coop to give it a thorough cleaning. (The chickens are less than a year old and don’t like the snow, so I’ve been spot-cleaning.)

    • February 20, 2011 9:28 am

      Kaylen, that regal pose is what you do when you just got in trouble for digging carrots without permission – look all important like – and maybe you won’t get scolded 😉

  4. February 20, 2011 11:19 am

    I love your photos especially the last one. B

  5. February 20, 2011 12:30 pm

    I love the first picture of the beautiful trees. Your phots are so amazing. I love the way Trace is posing. Funny that I never noticed how big his paws are. Reading the comments, I see he was in trouble. Now if he would only dig where you tell him to and bring the vegetables to you. My lab will dig for just about anything I tell her to dig. She loves to put her nose down in a gopher hole and root out all the dirt with her snout.

    We are having some great weather down in east Texas. It got up to 75 degrees. Clearing skies. Good day to work in the yard.

  6. Linda Zoldoske permalink
    February 20, 2011 4:47 pm

    Loved the regal look of your dog, crossed paws and uplifted face! It has been wonderful here in Oklahoma this past week too. Week before we had snow and very cold temperatures down to below zero two nights, then last week 50’s to 70’s! I’ve learned not to get excited as next month and usually April too we are back to cold weather but love it while you’ve got it!

  7. February 22, 2011 7:27 am

    mmmm….grass. Still dreaming here. Minus 20ish all next week and for as far as the forecast goes. We usually start turning the corner in March but grass is not until late April.

  8. February 22, 2011 7:31 am

    I know Spring is coming, but sure wish it would come a bit quicker*wink* We’ve had some nice temps. and now we’re back into sub zero and snow for a week. Usually I’m tolerant of winter, but this winter has been so up and down that I’m growing weary of it all.*sigh*

    I started salad greens in our hoophouse a week or so ago and PTL they haven’t germinated, otherwise it would be a total loss.

    We’re working on cleaning up our root cellar stocks and look forward to Spring Greens :o)

    BTW, love the last photo, he looks like he is so content and enjoying the warmth.
    Blessings for your day,
    Kelle

Leave a Reply

