Skip to content

Spring?

March 23, 2011
tags:

It hardly feels like spring, although the calendar tells me it is so.  Every few days we have been having heavy rain and wind, the soil is saturated and trees are uprooting, limbs are on fence lines and power lines.  We can’t get ahead before the next storm comes in.


As the hay barn empties out, we are getting a good start on filling the woodshed with next year’s firewood.


It’s always nice when the limb or tree is just resting on the fence.  In several places the fence is totally destroyed, with wires wiped down the posts clear to ground level.


Work hard, eat well.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    March 23, 2011 5:53 am

    Would you be so kind as to send a few of your storms our way? We are so, so dry here already – there’s unlikely to be much of a hay crop and my poor pastures can’t keep up no matter how I rotate them. I would love a little of your rain!

    • March 23, 2011 6:38 am

      Jen, if I could, I would! We are getting extra wet here for sure – and I am hoping this growing season isn’t a repeat of last year 😦

  2. March 23, 2011 5:59 am

    It sure has been a stormy start to spring around here. Looking forward to some calmer and sunny weather here in the PNW. Looks like you are making the most of the storms and all that they bring. Love a full wood shed! Your hearty breakfast looks tasty too. Makes me hungry! 🙂

    • March 23, 2011 6:40 am

      Valerie, we won’t have to look too hard for firewood this spring, this has been a hard winter in the forest. It’s supposed to be dry today, fingers crossed! And then maybe next week…one can hope!

  3. March 23, 2011 7:00 am

    Oh how I remember wet springs like this in BC. It sometimes seemed as though spring would NEVER come…but it did eventually. The firewood part is always good although it’s too bad about the fencing. I hope you’ll be seeing some sunshine and dry weather soon….you deserve it after this long winter. Enjoy your day.
    Maura 🙂

    • March 23, 2011 8:51 am

      Maura, it’s price we pay living in a such a beautiful area I guess…I don’t mind the rain that much, but a whole day of dry would feel nice. Spring hopes eternal… or eternally on my mind anyway 🙂

  4. March 23, 2011 7:11 am

    Work hard, eat well……great mantra!

  5. March 23, 2011 7:29 am

    Oh – all that lovely wood! And all those future warm fires … t’is the stuff that dreams are made of 🙂

  6. March 23, 2011 7:45 am

    I hope the weather clears soon!
    March is going out like a lion for a lot of people. 😐

    Is that pine and do you burn it? Hubby won’t, but we do have some on the farm and I’d pick it up on the side of the road. 😉

    • March 23, 2011 8:54 am

      LindaG, me too! It’s better here than some areas for sure, I am hoping the snow we had last week is the last too!

      The limbs are Douglas Fir, which burns very good, and the split wood in the pickup is mostly Chestnut, all of it will get used 🙂

  7. March 23, 2011 10:03 am

    When life sends you lemons….and what, pray tell, is a sambo? I recognize a biscuit and egg – lord it looks delicious! Our winter in upstate NY is refusing to let go. We’ve had a very wet (read: snow) winter and then rain so far this spring, with more snow. They are predicting a hot dry summer, so I probably shouldn’t complain.

  8. March 23, 2011 11:50 am

    I live in the upstate of NY too and we seem to get a day or two of no snow then the next thing you know it is back, like today! At least those trees will come in handy!

  9. March 23, 2011 12:28 pm

    Oh I think it is finally spring up here in Washington! I’m enjoying the sunshine and all the birds at the bird feeder! I love the picture with the cows eating! It seems we had a lot of storms up here this year also. I’m hoping they over with! Bring on spring and summer! Have a great week!

  10. March 23, 2011 1:51 pm

    That’s the only good thing about spring storms are the wood that the wind brings down. I stock up every spring with blow downs.

    The weather here says their is a chance of some snow tomorrow evening. OUCH:)

  11. March 23, 2011 5:33 pm

    What? No white stuff? I’ll send ya some and you can send me some of that food! 😉 😉

  12. claudia w permalink
    March 23, 2011 5:46 pm

    Ah, yes, the wood looks like a great start to next winter’s warmth. There are small signs of Spring here and there, but the rain won’t quit. We have another storm coming in over night and it sounds like it’ll be a drencher. Landslides here we come!

  13. March 23, 2011 7:31 pm

    I’m still worried about having enough wood to make it through this year. We are lucky that the wood from the lake dries fairly quickly this time of year. Within a month we can burn it after a bit of draining and drying in our floating wood shed.

  14. March 30, 2011 12:40 pm

    I love that saying “work hard eat well” Thegg biscuit? looks delicious. Thanks for the look around your farm.
    Elle
    http://www.aviewfromthecottage.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

