Skip to content

A Week in Farm Life

April 6, 2011
tags:

Short sentences ala facebook or twitter, with some pictures.  It’s busy.


The hummers and buzzards arrived three weeks late this year.  No matter what the date, they arrive together.


Hank has stayed all winter, hopefully he won’t fly the coop.


The dogs have lots of outside “chores.”


And inside chores.


As if, asking will get him some pie!


Getting to the bottom of the barrel in the straw department.  Time to put the cows out to pasture.


Transplanting time too.


Thinking of tomato sauce already.


Snow predicted for tonight.  Sigh.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    April 6, 2011 5:33 am

    Beautiful birdie.Any pie left?

  2. April 6, 2011 6:46 am

    Welcome spring -however crazy busy it is!! Lovely photos.

  3. jd martin permalink
    April 6, 2011 10:07 am

    Matron, thank you for all these wonderful posts, My family and I are going to be starting our own sustainable lifestyle in about 9 weeks. I can’t wait. Ypur posts, along with many others, including as much as I could find on Joel Salatin, have been invaluable. I especially enjoy your photography, picture worth a thousand words and all… Love the rants!

  4. April 6, 2011 11:47 am

    I will put out my hummer feeders asap. We don’t get them until several weeks after you, but I want to be ready!

  5. Sheila Z permalink
    April 6, 2011 12:19 pm

    I love your dogs! They live charmed lives.

  6. April 6, 2011 2:42 pm

    Wonderful pictures….you have hummers ALREADY?

  7. April 6, 2011 4:59 pm

    I think I am in love with your kitchen! 🙂

  8. April 7, 2011 12:37 pm

    Hummers and buzzards always arrive together….? That’s interesting.

    Snow…NO! MORE! SNOW! Not until next year….please!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/

  9. April 7, 2011 4:03 pm

    Great photos – I can’t believe you had time to make a pie!

  10. April 7, 2011 5:44 pm

    I love the picture of the pie and dog! The way the light is falling on the pie is perfect.

  11. April 10, 2011 8:10 am

    Still snowing?? Jeez. We had a frost the other night and I was surprised. 3+ weeks after average last frost date. It was light, no damage done, but still.

  12. Pam G-O permalink
    April 10, 2011 2:28 pm

    Your photographs are always a delight. The pie picture is amazing!! I can “feel” the silkiness of the pastry. My heart is smiling…
    Thanks for sharing
    Pam G-O

  13. Pam G-O permalink
    April 10, 2011 2:43 pm

    I noticed your comment about Facebook and Twitter
    I’d love to follow you on facebook, clues on how I would do so?
    Pamela Gee-Oliver

  14. April 12, 2011 3:48 am

    Hank has that commanding look about him. I bet he’s the boss. Heh. Good post.

Leave a Reply

