Skip to content

Solstice Season Farm Notes

June 28, 2011


Here it is almost July 4th, and our snowball bush is blooming.  Traditionally I used to pick a bouquet of these for my Mom on Mother’s Day.  I guess 6 or 7 weeks late is a testimony to our cool spring.  Not as wet as last spring but a little colder.


Gardening in the greenhouse has been the savior.  Things are moving right along inside.


The third planting of salad greens is taking off.


While the fourth is just getting its first true leaves.

Uncle Johns and Jane at dusk.

The Uncle John dry beans in the “new” garden got their side dressing of chicken goodies, while the pole beans in the old garden needed replanting due to the cool temps.  Same with the corn, about 15 plants came up, so I tilled them under and planted again.  Awful late for me to get sweet corn in, but I should have listened to the land.  If it could talk, it would say, “chickweed coming up in late June, corn will rot.”  Ok, point taken.  Plants don’t follow calendars and seed packet instructions.  They follow conditions and if the conditions ain’t right, it don’t happen.


Jane is keeping the grass at bay in the garden headlands, well, sort of.


And sporting some new jewelry.  Just in case she goes looking for love in all the wrong places, at least I can hope to hear her.  This bell saved her Gramma from getting bred too early, so hopefully it still has its original powers… .

Puppies are wistful.  So many graydiggers to hunt and coyotes to bark at.  Summer is finally here.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 9:53 am

    Hi there. Happy summer to you. Thanks for the good wishes…I got grass : ) I was thinking about you as I walked on the pasture. The sheep are happy.

    “Side dressing with chicken goodies” – do you use them from the barn to the field sans the compost heap in the middle?

    • June 28, 2011 9:08 pm

      weekendfarmer, Happy Grass!

      Yes, I am using the deep bedding from my laying hens. They work it up so good that it is almost soil. Good for side dressing young plants and not too strong with lots of broken down straw mixed in.

  2. June 28, 2011 9:56 am

    Thanks for the pictures and the words of wisdom, Matron. 🙂

  3. June 28, 2011 10:30 am

    What kind of corn are you planting? This year I am trying “precocious” as it is supposed to have good cold soil vigor.

    • June 28, 2011 9:14 pm

      VGC, I planted some Welcome first, but my seed was old, and this time I planted fresh seed of Fleet, both recommended for cold soil. We don’t eat much corn, so it’s not a big deal if this planting doesn’t work out. If we have a hot summer it could do well, but if it stays cold it may not mature. I have had later plantings surpass earlier plantings because of no growth checks. I could use a warm summer…

  4. June 28, 2011 11:02 am

    I was feeling so pressured to plant things and then I realized that I needed to watch the weather more. Really cool and windy and rainy – now it’s getting warmer and everything is picking up.
    LOVE the old fashioned cow bell.

    • June 28, 2011 9:15 pm

      Lindsey, I know it’s hard isn’t it? It seems the growing season is so short that we have to hurry 🙂

      I am liking the sound of the bell, Jane doesn’t mind and it’s kind of soothing.

  5. June 28, 2011 12:20 pm

    I have a bush like your snowball bush in the front of my place and I was wondering what it was. I think it looks the same but it blooms the prettiest pink blossoms! Your garden is looking great!

    • June 28, 2011 9:17 pm

      Amanda, it may be a hydrangea, they are similar looking in bloom. A snowball bush is more like a tree and a hydrangea is more sedate and behaved in its growth habits.

  6. June 28, 2011 3:08 pm

    I love the snowball bush! Do you use your blooms for anything or are they just decorative?

  7. June 30, 2011 8:20 am

    Such a nice picture of the doggie!

Leave a Reply

