Skip to content

Wordless Wednesday

July 27, 2011

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 6:47 am

    Yay..a tomato!!! 🙂 The other day in your post you mentioned planting fall crops right now. I wanted to ask if you had any tips on what to plant…but my internet has been out due to storms. So…can you give this farm girl wanna be some tips?

    • July 27, 2011 7:59 am

      Kristen, sure, probably any cole crops that you like to eat would do much better in the fall in your warmer climate. And of course beets, carrots, and salad greens. If it’s too hot to get seeds to germinate, you can cover them with burlap or row cover so you can keep them moist until they sprout and then remove the cover. Plants like lettuce or other greens would do better if sown for transplants than direct seeding. Just make sure to pick a shady and cool place, even your basement if need be. 🙂

  2. July 27, 2011 8:24 am

    a ripe tomato? JEAL-ous!

    i think i have two little green ones; i doubt this is going to be a good year for peppers and tomatoes in the valley.

    • July 27, 2011 10:14 am

      Chook, only because those beans and tomatoes are in a hoophouse, otherwise no dice. My corn is knee high to a grasshopper!

  3. July 27, 2011 9:36 am

    I didn’t know I could still plant carrots and beets…I was thinking I missed my window for those. Thanks for the tips…I will be working on our fall garden the next couple of days. 🙂

    • July 27, 2011 10:14 am

      Sure, short season varieties like Nelson, Napoli or Mokum carrots and Early Wonder beets should do OK if you get them to germinate. Some times it doesn’t work because we can’t really predict how the fall will be, but I can tell you for sure you won’t get any carrots if you don’t plant any. As for the weather 😦 can’t help much there!

      • July 28, 2011 4:26 am

        LOL…so true about the carrots. Maybe that is why I haven’t been able to harvest any. 😉

  4. July 27, 2011 9:47 am

    I love it! Congratulations, Matron. 🙂

  5. July 27, 2011 6:02 pm

    Hi there! I just found your blog and I love it. I live in Portland and try to eat locally grown food, with some hiccups here and there. Especially in March. 🙂 But, I am excited to follow you along and hope you can continue to inspire me!

    Now, back to canning my raspberry jam…

  6. July 28, 2011 4:09 am

    During the filming of “Oklahoma!” there were numerous weather problems. Arizona stood in for OK, and it was an even drier year than normal. In one memo from the location filming site back to the studio, the director wrote, “The corn is as low as a grasshopper’s toe” because they just couldn’t get enough water to it! The scene where Curly rides his horse through the cornfield was the last scene shot on the last possible day of shooting.

    Sorry, love that story.

    Your photo looks like Christmas all red and green! My tomatoes aren’t red here yet despite lots and lots and LOTS of heat units!

  7. Elizabeth permalink
    July 28, 2011 7:57 pm

    I HATE you! Well, not really. Our summer has been disastrous for gardens. We have bupkus for food and it’s already the end of July!!!! It’s a good thing we are not pioneers or we’d starve this winter.

    • July 28, 2011 8:00 pm

      Elizabeth, if it wasn’t for our greenhouse we wouldn’t getting much to eat either! Cool, cool, cool here too.

Leave a Reply

